We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Courmayeur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Courmayeur
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel with great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This small hotel is very typical for the village. Room is ok, with good bed and bath room. Ours had nice balcony as well. Littele room for all our hiking stuff, but that was not a big problem. Breakfast some what simple and ordinary, did not try any other meals. Staff at the reception friendly and helpful. The small private parking was great as we were travelling by car. Only bigger minus was the WiFi, which only worked around the reception area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    77
    38
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile


A rather ordinary hotel, reception generally good, courteous and helpful, services very standard. Found it hard to believe there was no WiFi in the rooms or even in the breakfast room, the price they charge this SHOULD be available. Breakfast rather dull, dry croissant and 'all out of the fridge food'. Management should give the place a bit of a shake up!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Good points. The most friendly waiting staff in the dining room that you could wish for led by Gerado. The food is good, the rooms pleasantly furnished. Close to bars and restaurants.

Bad points. The manager (Juliano?) seems to resent the guests. The only time I saw him smile was when he was asked to add wood to the one smouldering log on the fire. He just blew on the one log and returned to his position behind the desk smirking.

I returned to my room one day to find the door had been left open by the cleaning staff.

At the week end the bar on the corner is noisey enough to wake many guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson valley, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel Courmayeur was very cozy. It's in a great location to town and ski slopes. The rooms were of average size and overall the whole hotel was decorated with an alpine theme. Breakfast was buffet of cereal, meats, cheeses, fruits and breads. Dinner was good each night, with choice of 3 entrees each night. The staff was great, especially in the dining room. Gianardo always made sure everyone was comfortable! Really enjoyed our visit here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyk957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston pk., New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is a 3 star. The beds are more for children than an adult,narrow and very close to the floor.the bathtub was very narrow (about 16 inches),the shower head came up to hop. The tub had no shower curtain,so endless to say the bathroom was soaked after I tried to take a make shift shower.
The breakfast was passable, but the dinners were very good, just very late.
The location was not convenient to the cable car, when carrying skis and bot pack.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMurphy_136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our long weekend at the hotel was excellent value for money.

The owners and their team could be a lot warmer to guest - the dining room staff in particular really need to unbend a bit. We saw them lecturine one large extended family group at breakfast for not sitting each person in the exact seats they had used at dinner the night before - even though they were at the same tables.

Our room was a triple (the extra single was in a very small ante-room to our main bedroom, so lots of space for my husband and I. Decor was very tired and dark with awful blown up photos on room and corridor walls that were reminiscent of Hilda Ogden's mural. Bed was rather hard, but it was quiet which was a big plus for me. (room 11 - had small balcony too)

Food was simple but very well done and our half baord deal was very good value.

Chic little town, we enjoyed exploring it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ServalontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed 5 nights March 2013. Place was nice enough, clean, modern bathrooms, free outdoor parking (but a small lot, leave key at reception). Bed slightly uncomfortable, breakfast meh. By far the best feature is that it's walking distance to the cable car, which is key in Courmayeur. The second best feature was the night receptionist, very nice little old Italian guy who always smiled and went the extra mile, props to him. Overall an allright basic place to knock your boots off and crash after shredding all day. I'd say this all jives with the 100 euro a night price point. One disappointment stands out: we booked there (instead of a place with in-house spa facilities) because of a special that said they were offering a free entry to the Pre-Saint-Didier thermal baths with "a stay of three weeknights". In the end the owner told us that his offer was meant to attract weekday traffic and since we ALSO stayed the weekend it was not valid for us. So a guest pays 3 nights and gets the certificates, but pays 5 nights and doesn't. This wasn't even clear to the staff. I guess they tried to accommodate us by trying to dig up a "2-for-1" coupon anyways (which was never found) but I was a bit annoyed. Last comment, Courmayeur is dead by the end of March, you'll have the slopes to yourself but there's nothing going on in town. Chamonix and Verbier still seemed to have a good scene though.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FarineFiveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#35 of 42 in Courmayeur
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Viale
Hotel del Viale
#34 of 42 in Courmayeur
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dolonne
Hotel Dolonne
#36 of 42 in Courmayeur
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Croux
Hotel Croux
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#13 of 42 in Courmayeur
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courmayeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courmayeur

Property: Hotel Courmayeur
Address: Via Roma 158, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Courmayeur 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Courmayeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing