We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch in a snow chalet with friends”
Review of Chateau Branlant

Chateau Branlant
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 March 2018

loved the food. would go back just for that. however I haven't started on the location. just a little way off from the piste sitting high, high up the mountains. lounge out front in deckchairs on the snow in the warm sun before heading into the ambience of chateau branlant. open fireplace, tables tucked in little nooks & busy, bustling italian service. s'wonderful.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank myvanwy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Great place and very happy I read the reviews. I would add the following:

- the reviews and photos are a lot about the wine list, incredible food etc and worried me that it would be a bit 'high end'. It is great food, but it doesn't stray too far from being comfortable mountain cooking. You could have omlette, pasta, steak etc. All delicious and well presented, but nothing fussy.
- it's really an indoor restaurant. The sun had gone in by the time we arrived, but there isn't a massive dining terrace outside (just a couple of trestle tables). The cosiness and atmospheres is indoors.
- the pasta dishes are very much primi piatti. Not huge and not exactly a skiing main course. Oddly the starter and salads were huge, the pasta and main courses less so.

Really delicious and atmospheric place.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We had late lunch after skiing. The food was excellent - everybody from our group of roughly 15 persons was Happy.

We all had carpacho -type meat asiat starter! Very nice!

Out of the main courses we really have to mention the Fiorentina - this was fantastic! Someone even said, best meat ever!

Finally, there is a huge dog at the restaurant. It was lovely!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Tuoppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

One of best dining experiences I have had. Very friendly staff. Amazing food with great selection of wines. The kids loved it too.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Gramian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Despite being regulars in Courmayeur last weekend was our first visit to Chateau Branlant. The restaurant is traditionally decorated and full of atmosphere. The service was very good indeed and the food absolutely first class.
We look forward to returning next season.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Branlant also viewed

 
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
Courmayeur, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Chateau Branlant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing