We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Walser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Walser
Ranked #6 of 21 Courmayeur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

just returned from Xmas week at the Walser. the room we had was 101 this room could sleep 6 we went with our son so there was plenty of room. The bathroom was huge and had a bath with a shower also. Food was good but limited choices and the desets were to die for, the staff were very friendly and helpfull even giving us breakfast at 5:30am on our departure. Only 1 gripe and that is there is no English TV, this is shame as the hotel has Crystal and Inghams ski guests staying there for the winter season and some Tv would keep the kids happy at night we took a DVD player and plugged that into he Tv to watch movies. The hot tub is now fully working after Alfie got it sorted out but we didnt know about the 7euros each to use the sauna which came as a shock when paying our bill. Would we stay there again? yes we would

Room Tip: room 101 is large has 2 balconeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 235kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

This hotel will not disappoint-it is amazing value for money! This is now my 2nd visit (2 week stay) at The Walser. Its in a great location for all ski lifts, shops, bars & restaurants. Its small & cozy and you are guaranteed a warm, friendly welcome. All the staff are fantastic-so polite, helpful, and really do go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is great & plentiful, the presentation & service is excellent. I have traveled extensively and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, It really is great value for money. 5* food & service. I look forward to returning soon, Courmayeur is simply a stunning destination.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garymontford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Excellent place to stay with a good local atmosphere. Traditional looking but relatively new hotel so it looks good and has all the comforts. Food was very good although limited choices. Handy for the ski bus stop in the Piazza Monte Bianco, only about 3 minutes walk away. Limited number of buses per day so get a timetable. Comfortable beds so we slept soundly every night. Service and friendliness of staff was impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We, a family of 5, stayed here for three nights during our TMB; we used Courmayeur for a rest day, some R&R before we continue to climb. The hotel is centrally located, close to the buses, center and restaurants.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the service is very good.
The owner Maurizio, made us feel right at home, went out of his way to help in a number of occasions. We travel frequently and I can honestly say that never did we encounter such willingness and effort to help us and make our arrival, stay and departure so welcoming and enjoyable! Thank you Maurizio from the whole family.
The only downside is the elevated road in front of the hotel that disrupts the tranquility.
we forgot our Buffort cheese in their Fridge, so you can ask for it and enjoy...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A real little gem of a hotel, 3 star but with a lot of charm. Restaurant, good quality typical italian cooking. Plenty of hot water with good pressure. We went late in the season - 17th March for a week and it was very quiet. Only problem was Sauna and jacuzzi not really hot enough to persevere with! Very good position, 5 mins from cable car and a short walk to the town centre. Really recommend this lovely little family run hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a bath - most rooms only have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a fantastic holiday in Courmayeur thank you.
The accommodation was lovely, people friendly, food delicious !
Maurizio ,Gianni,Giuseppe Moina and Isa are the best and friendly hotel staff we ever met!
Definately will be back next year
Patrizia and Saverio

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Enjoyed our week staying at the hotel in late January, early February 2012. Family run hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful. Evening meals really nice and then relaxing in the comfortable lounge with a few Morretti beers is a good way to wind down at the end of the day. The vin brulee is excellent and was particularly welcome as the outside temperatures were well below freezing all week.
Room comfortable with good facilities. Only minor issue is traffic noise could be heard early morning from main road. Other sides of hotel away from road will be less affected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Novecento Romantic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#5 of 42 in Courmayeur
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#19 of 42 in Courmayeur
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
Grand Hotel Royal e Golf
#12 of 42 in Courmayeur
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walser

Address: Strada della Margherita 8/A, 11013 Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Courmayeur
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walser 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Walser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing