We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and unpleasant surprise in the bill”

Pizzeria Ristorante La Lanterna Di Ruggiero M
Ranked #655 of 1,022 Restaurants in Padua
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average food and unpleasant surprise in the bill”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a little dinner at the Piazza del Signori. The food was neither perfect, not bad, just average. But I wouldn't advise to eat Tiramisu there, as it is worse than we eat in other places. We were in the street for about 15 minutes, than the rain started and we moved inside. After eating and receiving a bill, we found there some thing in Italian we didn't ordered in quantity of three and priced 5.40 euro. Waitress told us that it is the price of outdoors service. It was in addition to 10% payment for service included in the price. It was a bit unpleasant. When you pay 40 euro for two dishes, from which 10 euro is payment for service and for outdoor service, it is really disappointing. At least they should aware people about additional payments...
So, be aware...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergii1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    70
    76
    39
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pizza”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As a tourist, any table in the Piazza dei Signori is a good place to have dinner. This restaurant is good enough, at least the pizzas are a good choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noelgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Useful to know”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The central squares in Padua have a lot of tourist oriented restaurants. This seems a bit better than those. We didn't put its cuisine to a serious test, just a quick lunch and an escape to air conditioning from the midday heat. But the food - pizzas, gnocchi, grilled scampi - was fine, and the service, apart from a small glitch in the bill, perfectly friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Service-Delicious Food”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I had the best homemade gnocchi in a light cream sauce with baby shrimp....delicious. The gnocchi were incredible light and the perfect texture. My husband had an equally delicious shrimp fettuccine dish with a blush sauce. We started the meal with a small antipasto plate of meats and cheeses. We finished the meal with a yummy tiramisu and panna cotta.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LUVTOTRAVL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average service and food”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was one of our first meals in Padova. Our waiter had a bit of attitude. Appetizers were good-battered and deep fried olives and Proscuito Meloni(cured ham and melon). Were able to split a pizza(which was cooked in a genuine wood fired oven) no problem. Great location outside on the Piazza Signori(with the clock tower in the background). Credit card machine was down the first night(this happened a LOT in Italy???). No problems with change, but our neighbour at the next table was shortchanged, but it got sorted fairly quickly and easily. This also happened a lot in Italy. Around 40 euros for two with wine. The second time we went there, we got the wrong appetizers, but ended up eating them anyways(we had been in Italy a few weeks and were getting more laid back or the two glasses of wine on an empty stomach...). Also, my wife ordered a Pasta Dish and I a fish dish. When it came, the Pasta and vegetables were stone cold. We got a waiter's attention and it was fixed quite quickly. They sent a fresh plate of pasta out and did not merely reheat the other dish. They did not apologize(this also happened a lot in Italy).

Would go back just for the location and view.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Ristorante La Lanterna Di Ruggiero M also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Pizzeria Ristorante La Lanterna Di Ruggiero M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing