We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel M14

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel M14
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just 2 minutes walk away from the main square. Stayed for 2 nights arriving on the 7th July. Parking spaces round the hotel are limited and if arriving by car a particular parking space will be allocated. We had room no 400 which was on the 4th floor, very spacious and very nicely furnished with modern furniture. Plenty of white fluffy towels in the bathroom. Basic breakfast which is 5 euro has very bad orange squash.
Staff manning reception were incredibly impersonal and amazingly unhelpful. Seeing us rifling through info about the area on the counter top, they never even offered a map of the town which they had within arms reach just below the counter!
On the other hand the man who takes care of breakfast was continuously going round seeing that all guests were satisfied with their choices.
Level of cleanliness of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    322
    208
    83
    72
See reviews for
148
295
89
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived at hotel around 3pm. Night staff not quite as friendly as day, but okay. Needed some papers printed and then emailed back to me and the guys on day shift were excellent. Got to our room on the fourth floor and was surprised at the large size. We had booked a triple room. All furnishings were from Ikea, not a bad thing, just no drawers or doors. Desk, couch, side table, night stands, and open wardrobe. Bathroom was large by european standards. Mechanical shutters covered the windows and were operated by switches. Made the room really dark, which was awesome. A/C worked well, made noise on low speed, so we cranked it up. Location is awesome. 30 minute walk to train station in the north of town and about 15 minutes to get into the thick of everything.
Now the not so good. Beds were uncomfortable. The one that folded out from the couch was like sleeping on metal springs and made loud noises every time you moved. Main bed was two twins pushed together, which is pretty normal and hard as a rock. Seems hard beds are normal too so far on our european vacation. Dust was to be found everywhere. The bathroom had a booger smeared on the wall and two spots where someone with a cold had left deposits. Used a wet towel to dispatch all that. Breakfast was below average, but that was okay for 5 euro. Coffee and a little something was all we needed in the morning. Slamming doors and hall noise was a norm. Elevator stopped working to our floor the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While the location of this property is great, it may be the best thing going for it. The room we had was so small! We only had 2 suitcases, but had to stack them on top of each other on the floor. The shower in the bathroom had a "wrap around" shower door - once it wrapped- around, you couldn't move! Water also gets all over the bathroom floor and can be very slick! At check in the clerk said they needed to keep our passports for about 20 minutes and then we could come back and get them. I'm not leaving my passport anywhere! Once we said no, the clerk made copies and handed them back. If you don't NEED to keep my passport, WHY did you TRY?? We were told there was WI-FI - if there was, we were never able to find or use it. The air in the room didn't work - we were overly warm all night. When we checked out and let the front desk know how unhappy we were, we basically got a blank stare. Very disappointed in this hotel - the pictures and the write ups we looked at were very misleading. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allender65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALESSANDRO S, Direttore at Hotel M14, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

I am very sorry if your stay in our Hotel was not good. We always try to make our best to give a good service to our customer.

About the size of the room I want only to inform you that you chose the ECONOMY DOUBLE ROOM (our smallest room with our smallest price).

Best regards,

Alessandro Schiavon M14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Padua hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a room in this hotel after seeing the nice pictures on internet. The hotel is actually badly refurbished. We booked the soundproof room (more expensive than the others) and it turned out to be a nightmare of noise, the walls are very thin and we heard everything from the rooms around, plus there's a very noisy gate at the entrance and we could hear it as if it was in our room! Not to mention the electric blinders, very very noisy as well.
When we complained with the guy at the reception he didn't even know what soundproof means and suggested to turn the air conditioning on ( ??!)
Really bad experience, I wouldn't recommend this place at all.
Car parking is not included and expensive (10€ per day) especially considering that outside the hotel it's possible to park for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Situated very close to Prato della Valle (the much-photographed pretty 'round' square with statues) and its tram stop, the M14 is a modern hotel, much-frequented by 'pilgrimage groups' (to the nearby Basilica of St Anthony), so there is much 'coming and going'.

The staff were very pleasant, helping us with an online check-in, and a very genial Indian breakfast server kept us well-entertained in the mornings! He was hoping to get a job in Brighton, so he may not be there much longer!

The hotel backs on to a convent - or at least we thought it was, as a nun was cutting the grass - in leafy surroundings, so it was quiet and the view from our small balcony was pretty. The room was comfortable, although the layout in quite a narrow room meant there wasn't much space to move around the bed. The bathroom was small and had a strange shower screen arrangement - difficult to manoeuvre around the bidet and often resulting in a very wet floor!

Breakfast was very good, but quite a 'high-speed' affair, especially when the coach parties are there! However, it's worth checking when they are due to have breakfast, so you can avoid the rush. There was plenty of choice and good coffee from the machines.

The hotel is 2-mins walk from the nearest tram stop, which in turn is about 4 stops from central Padua and the Scrovegni Chapel. The trams are frequent, but can get busy, and were a bit erratic in the evenings - we ended up walking one night, as it's not too far to the student-y areas, which have several good, but inexpensive, eateries. It's a further short walk from the hotel/tram stop to St Anthony's Basilica, which, despite being surrounded by religious 'tat' stalls, is worth a look for the bedecked shrines and quiet cloisters. (NB. The big church across the Prato from the tram stop, is NOT the basilica (we made this mistake!), even though it's HUGE - it's St Justinian's Benedictine church - but it's also worth a look, for its sheer size and cold-ness, if it's hot outside! The Basilica is up to the (2nd) left from the tram-stop if approaching from the hotel.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back probably have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would never regret even for a second for my decision to escape Venice to this nice town. I read the review about this hotel.

Location, service was great. Breakfast was standard but good value for 5 EUR, seriously. And this is in the centre of Padova but guaranteed you can sleep so well in the quiet neighbourhood.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Though the 10.30 check out time in the morning could be a drag. Asked for an extension but not given citing full booking but I checked online there were still 9 rooms available at least.

It's easy to get around Padova's main places. You'll find good restaurants around the hotel (book to avoid disappointment) within minutes of walking distance. Also tram and bus.

The bicycle rental is the icing of the cake.

The negative part is not all room gets the wifi. I didn't read this warning on booking.com (so it was somehow my bad). But if you indicate during booking, they can try to give you rooms that are covered by wifi.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are covered by Wifi. If this is a must, please indicate during booking that you need i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Bathroom is not comfortable at all. When you take a shower, all the floor is wet, and if you're not alone, it's a problem for the next person not to slide and fall down on the wet floor. Wi-fi doesn't work in the room. But they have free bicycles, that's plus

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
0.7 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Al Cason
Hotel Al Cason
#12 of 46 in Padua
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Giotto
Hotel Giotto
#8 of 46 in Padua
595 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#14 of 46 in Padua
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Igea
Hotel Igea
#32 of 46 in Padua
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M14

Property: Hotel M14
Address: Via Acquette 9, 35122, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M14 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prato della Valle, one of Europe's largest squares, Hotel M14 is set in Padua's most historic neighbourhood. Completely refurbished in 2011, it offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi.Your room at M14 Hotel is modern and stylish with wood floors and a balcony. Each room has a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.M14 is just 350 metres from Padua's famous Basilica di Sant Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel M14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing