We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star at most”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Biri
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A 3 star at most”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a business single room, has a balcony, facing the main road, but with double glazed door, hardly hear the noisy outside, but one can hear people on the corridors . The room is on the small side , quite bare and cheaply furnished, and bathroom has minimum toiletries. It is clean but very basic. single bed, not very comfortable. small flat screen TV hangs high above the wardrobe. There is a bus stop just around corner so it is quite convenient to go to the town centre and train station . There is not much around the area, has a small shop about 2 minuets walk away, one can purchase bus tickets there. The hotel is modern, but the services it provides are too basic to be a four star hotel, won't use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    186
    110
    24
    19
See reviews for
52
86
33
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed here twice and think this hotel is great. Breakfast included on the rooftop, great accommodations and excellent proximity to train station to get to Venice. Parking available, so that's a big bonus!!!! Staff is very helpful. Great town to visit on its own too....great restaurants and lovely to wander the streets....highly recommended. Ciao

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicoandRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlpin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We ended up here out of desperation, everything else in town being fully booked but, we thought, it's 4 stars so it should be good. Where to start. There were no towels, no amenities in the bathroom, no kleenex, no English TV channels, no internet until 3 am, no carpet on the floor and no sound proofing between floors, no comfortable chair, no alcohol in the fridge, no thought to decorating unless you include a lime green wall and no hot breakfast unless you're a very early riser. It did have a guest in the lobby who had propped his bare feet up on the coffee table and a couple of day labourers lugging their groceries up to their room.
To be fair, there is parking, the towels arrived promptly when I called and the front desk sent us to a great restaurant, even making the reservation for us.
My problem with this place is that they claim to be a 4 star hotel and charge as if they were. It's a good two star, nothing more

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Padua hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Ok so where do I start?? I booked this hotel for a long weekend via Thomas Cook holidays. It was to be a "short" distance from Venice...this worked out to be 40 minute drive from the airport...this is either £100 taxi or £35 shuttle bus ride per person. We used shuttle bus and to be fair wasn't too bad except we had to wait for others from separate flights to share our shuttle bus with...30 minutes late, we set off for our hotel..first to be dropped off - which was nice!!!

Upon first arrival this "4 star" hotel looks nice, new and clean... We arrived at around 10:30 desperate for something got to eat...we asked at the hotel bar only to be shown the sandwich counter...our hearts sank a little until the helpful bar man pulled out his "specials" board...ahh excellent our first experience of some honest decent Italian cuisine....we both picked carbonara and sat in the bar...to our horror, the microwave went on and 2 x frozen meals came out of the freezer! Couldn't actually believe it at first, but we were so hungry and it actually was quite nice! 5 euros each too - bargain! Although the waiter did apologise and say it's not the way you're supposed to cook pasta! He tried though bless him! It was 10:30 at night so 10/10 for effort! Onwards to our bedroom....

First impression was a little hot, couldn't get air conditioning working, it's been a long day we'll sort it tomorrow! Had a good night sleep!

Morning one, woke up determined to have a great day. Breakfast buffet was perfect and a nice view over the pretty historic Padova.

Quick shower them off to the train station. Hotel is 10euro taxi to train station...this is NOT a walking distance!

The train station is very nice and kept fairly clean and appears to run like clockwork...my wife needed the toilet which we had no change for being 80 cents...

Got our train tickets quickly and got on the train...only for our ticket inspector to tick us off for not "validating" or train ticket...whoops - we weren't told this by the grumpy old woman behind the counter...

Any way venice done back to our hotel!!

So, we get back to our "nearby" hotel being 40 mins train ride from Venice.

We had decided to eat dinner at our hotel first evening (Saturday) only to find it is £££...oh and open only Monday to Thursday! Helpful !! I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that closes it's restaurant at the weekend! This is also something that Thomas cook failed to mention during booking!!

So, I decided to take this opportunity to introduce myself to the "friendly" front desk staff...Daniele...I waiting for 5 mins whilst he finished his telephone call ( probably his mate or something) then I ask what time the hotel restaurant opens tonight. His response was "no closed tonight" no suggestion as to what to do next or recommendation....oh ok then so we can go into the town and eat? "Yes town is fine"..."do not walk at night as it is unsafe"....thanks for that Daniele!!!

Back into the hotel bar - susy was so much more help! She recommended two lovely traditional Italian restaurants 12 euro taxi ride away!! zairo restaurant. Restaurant was lovely food - pretty rubbish at speaking English but can't complain too much.

Any way - the hotel! Before we left for dinner I had to yet again wait for our friendly Daniele to finish his conversation on the telephone, to tell him that our air conditioning in our room wasn't working! His reaction days it all...he mumbles something to his bellboy mate, only to look back at me and shrug his shoulders and say "no not working" my first reaction was oh well never mind as it's the whole hotel we'll be ok! How wrong I was....

Back to the hotel room or our personalised sauna!

Are you kidding me?? After a full day in the sun this room is BOILING! As for the bathroom twice as hot for some reason!!

We decide to open the window for a little air...

Now, this hotel is based along a very busy and noisy road with homeless people asking people to buy flowers in cars that stop...and we have to have our window open?? Sweet thanks!! Feeling safe NOT!!

Having been woke every 5 minutes by car horns / music / people shouting / dogs barking...this overheated sweat box is becoming a nightmare! I can say it feels like 100c in this room right now!

As for our "romantic gettaway" if the room was cool enough for us to get near each other - the above may have been less of a problem...

Anyway it's now 5:45 am.,,I am angry, tired and grumpy!

Check out this morning where we will be glad to leave this hell...

We will now be checking out only to have to carry our bags with us through Venice for the day...again another reason to recommend you stay in Venice and not 40 mins away!

This hotel is not a 4 star hotel! I travel for business all the time and have NEVER experience this level of service in a hotel. Also Thomas cook should not be recommending it as a Venice hotel! It's way too far out to enjoy the experience for us! I am really surprised this is a Best Western also....

I am still married at point of writing this...let's hope I still am when you are reading this having booked this "dream romantic holiday"

My advice? DO NOT STAY HERE! Find a cheaper hotel in Venice and pay the extra for location....this hotel has next to no customer service skills....a new hotel which has a broken air conditioning and way to far out! I am disgusted by the hotels lack of customer care and unapologetic attitude towards the fact that the hotel is run so poorly for any foreign travellers..I am told by the bar staff that they have British people all the time...yeah right!!!!!

I have seen on here that the hotel manager responds to any criticism to reviews...honestly, I am not in the slightest interested in what he has to say...DO NOT STAY HERE if you are visiting Venice! Pay the extra and stay in a much better place!!

One last thing to add - upon checking out I realised that the reception area WAS in fact air conditioned....thank you very much and goodbye forever!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Chubbs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaMengardo, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Biri, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Chubbs80, thank you for taking your time to describe your adventures in Padua. The Best Western Hotel Biri is located in Padua, not in Venice and the distances and travel times are clearly visible on all websites. The Best Western brand require quality standards that all hotels should have, including our own Hause in order to be considered a Best Western. We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and did not appreciate all the services offered in our area. Politeness is crucial for us, our daily commitment. It 'a pleasure for us to thank those who leave a comment, positive or negative, as it is always a help to improve our service. Best regards, Silvia Mengardo - BW Hotel Biri, Leading in Superior Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel Biri is in a great location for seeing the historic sites of Padua (Padova). A plus is they honor triple A. Breakfast assortment is above average with an excellent assortment of cereals, yogurt, and fruit. Cappuccino but you have to ask. If departing from Italy, this is a great local , a left out of the parking a left at the light then straight on to the highway. 30 minute drive and there is a gas stop just before the airport if you need to top off your rental. To see the old City again left but go thru the intersection to the end of the street then make a right straight into the historic district with some of the most beautiful church's in Europe. Great restaurants surround the square

Room Tip: Face the main street for a great night view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Submariner246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaMengardo, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Biri, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Submarine, Thank you for your wonderful review! It was our pleasure to host you at Hotel Biri. Come back soon to visit us, a warm greeting. Silvia Mengardo, BW Hotel Biri, Leading in Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a very large modern hotel. Its only real drawback, I think, is its location: at a rather unnerving multiple road junction (which reminded me of L’Etoile in Paris). At least it is very convenient for the bus to and from Venice airport.
The room was quite large and well lit, with a good view from the balcony and ample storage space. Again, just one drawback: the TV set was very high up, so not easy to look at when seated (or even perhaps when standing).
One unusual feature is that the breakfast room is on the top (7th) floor. It’s called the Sala Panorama and the view across Padua is truly panoramic. There is free internet access on the ground floor.
Sleep quality was OK, except on the third night. At 4.15 a.m. a family (not Italian) preparing to leave the hotel made a dreadful racket. I had to approach them and ask them to quieten down.
Padua struck me as a delightful city. The historic centre is obviously its biggest attraction but, once you get away from the road junction, the area around the hotel is surprisingly pleasant thanks to parkland and one of the local rivers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaMengardo, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Biri, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Ed_Paul how are you? It 'been our pleasure to have you as our guest at the Hotel Biri. Padua is a wonderful city and our hotel is in a good location, even if with many roads around, both for the visit to the historical center as a base for the nearby cities. The breakfast room on the 7th floor is our jewel! Come back soon and visit us! Best wishes, Silvia Mengardo -BW Hotel Biri, Leading in Superior Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We expected more of a four star hotel and have indeed stayed at Best Western Hotels in the past which we thought well of. On the plus side the building and our room were quiet, clean and reasonably appointed.Sadly during our stay the main dining room was out of commission and the bar was at best intermittently staffed. Thus it was usually difficult to get any kind of snack or drink (cold, hot or alcoholic) and when we and other members of our group did finally manage this we found that we could not pay at the bar but had instead to do so in another and usually distant part of the hotel. The staff that we encountered were usually polite and tried to be helpful, however for a hotel of this size and standing there seemed to be surprisingly few of them. Finally, the hotel is some distance from the center of Padua. But there is a quite good and inexpensive bus service close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.5 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 46 in Padua
1,686 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Padova
AC Hotel Padova
#15 of 46 in Padua
432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
985 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 46 in Padua
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Biri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Biri

Property: Best Western Hotel Biri
Address: Via Antonio Grassi # 2, 35129, Padua, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Biri Padova)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Biri 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 good reasons for choosing The BEST WESTERN Hotel Biri:•In the heart of the business area of Padua and close to the fairground,the famous basilica of Sant’Antonio and Scrovegni Chapel. •The restaurant "Le Terrazze", with typical cuisine, offers a charming view over the cupolas of the basilica and the striking landscape of Colli Euganei. •Fitness centre, massage and solarium. •Ideal starting point to enjoy a visit to the Venetian villas, Venice, Vicenza and Verona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Biri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Padua
Padua Best Western
Best Western Biri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing