We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Padua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and found it was the right decision we had made. Hotels in venice are atrociously priced, whereas this one was excellent value for money. It is just outside the Padua ( Padova ) main train station, hence very convenient to get to venice which is a mere 25 minutes away by a RV train ( regolare veloce ) , or 40 - 45 minutes by a regolare train. I mention the trains because normal tickets costing about 3.50 euros one way to venice santa lucia station can be used only on these trains and not on express trains which take about 15 minutes to twenty minutes.

The plus points of this hotel : excellent rooms - spacious, with a writing table and chair, another small chair, minibar, bathroom slippers, good supply of toiletries, thick curtains, excellent bathroom with plenty of towels and a bidet, extra pillows and rugs in the large cupboard, nice beds and user controlled AC. We asked for a room on the upper floors - the hotel has only four floors and we did get one on the third floor, on the rear side of the hotel , hence the room was very very quiet at night . I wonder whether rooms facing the piazza in front would have been just as quiet - the rooms do appear to be well sound proofed. The hotwater is excellent, immediate and perpetual.

The airconditioning was adequate though I would have prefered it to be a couple of degrees cooler, but no complaints. The lights in the room are plentiful. There are no coffee or tea making facilities or an iron in the room though I suspect if I had asked I would have been provided with an iron.

The buffet breakfast was excellent ( considering it was included in the very attractive hotel room tariff ) . There are scrambled eggs, various kinds of breads and pastries / tarts , fruit juice, coffee, tea, some meats, cereals, yoghurts and fruits . They are not exotic varieties, probably keeping cost in mind, but perfectly good.

There is no swimming pool, though one tourist website claimed there was an outdoor pool. There is also no restaurant in the hotel , so you do need to eat out every time. ( except the breakfast of course ).

There did not appear to be any english TV channels, The wi fi is free but tends to be slow , and the lift is small and slow. There is no complimentary drinking water in the room . We did not use the mini bar. The safe was useful

I must say the door lock was very easy to open as it is based on scanning it at the door and not having to swipe it. The swipe often does not open the door first time, so this was easier.

The staff are to the point, and do their job , but in general, as in the rest of venice, there is not much warmth. The check in and check out were very efficient.


My only complaint is that the outside of the hotel is full of shady characters trying to sell all kinds of things - not very reassuring. And the hotel does not look great from outside. Overall I would rate it as three star and not four as is claimed .

Room Tip: I suggest ask for rooms at the back of the hotel - the views are not great but what the hell !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamjiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel was very easy to stay in, clean towels n sheets everyday, breakfast was great, location just across from the rail station, some reviews of this area weren't the best but we found it fine, there wasn't anything to worry about with going out at nite, there was certainly a mix of races hanging around doing nothing but no one bothered us n we went out every nite, I would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baxter250152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I are independent travelers, pushing 70 pretty hard, and just returned from six weeks in Europe. We stayed at this hotel in Padua for four nights in early March. We chose this hotel for its location -- just across the street from the Trenitalia train station and also the local tram line (which took us into the historic district in five minutes). The hotel is also a quick ten minute walk from the famous Gotto chapel, the main reason most people visit Padua. The location made connections to our next stop in Verona very easy, and we were also able to do day trips to nearby Venice (20 minutes away) as we wished. The hotel itself offered a very large room, professional staff, thorough cleaning each day, and the best breakfasts we encountered in three weeks in Italy. True, the area around the train station had idle men hanging about, but we were never bothered and we enjoyed our stay in Padua and at this hotel. A solid hotel in an excellent location for the independent traveler.

Room Tip: A room on the back, which we had, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

the hotel in itself is good, rooms are large, very clean, staff really friendly, breackfast is decent. Location is good and bad. It is perfect because it is in front of the railway station, with very easy access to trains to Venice, etc. The surroundings look a bit colourful, but people are not disturbing you. We were five ladies on a trip, and nobody gave us a hard time there. So overall, the hotel worth being visited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satya_Sat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed for two days at this hotel. The staff is incredibly polite and nice. The rooms are very good. Breakfast is also good. The problem is the area. It is EXTREMELY dangerous. At night it is also very noisy due to the people who walk around, begging for money and disturbing the tourists. A friend from Padova had told me not to stay there but I thought he was overreacting. He was not, believe me!! Besides, it is not possible to arrive in front of the hotel by car, so you have to walk to the parking lot. My legs were trembling every time I had to go out. I do not recommend it to anyone. Go to the downtown area. This is a miserable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mariacomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Perfect for transportwith easy access to Venice and verona as well as padua staff pleasant and efficient, breakfast excellent. quality beds and fresh linens daily. A grand old hotel with modern touches

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

It's still a mystery to me where the hotel has gotten it's 4 star categorization from. The building is very dark and depressing and the opposite of fresh, it's deteriorated and shabby. The reception reminds of a ticket hall in a train station. Room was large but same there, even if it had just been cleaned it felt so so shabby and unfresh. Nothing can have changed much there for the past decades. And of course there was a spider living in the bathroom so I didnt manage to take a shower in there. How old was that shower curtain and the stool next to the tub? Yuck! Only thing 4 star we found was the city tax level... No problem there to match 4 star level...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STHLM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,072 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
0.7 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#7 of 45 in Padua
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Al Cason
Hotel Al Cason
#13 of 45 in Padua
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Corso del Popolo 81, 35131, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Padua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style 4-story Hotel located on a corner in city's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Italia
Grand Italia Padua
Golden Tulip Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing