We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed for train journeys around the Veneto region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Padua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Grand'Italia for one night on 26th July. We booked it mainly for its proximity to the main railway station which is literally across the road. We stayed there as we were seeing a concert at the Euganeo Stadium in Padova. As it turned out the free shuttle buses to the stadium were right outside the door in the bus station so we really couldn't have picked a better location! The hotel reception is all cool, elegant marble with a stunning staircase. Temperatures were in the high 30's that weekend and our room on the top floor (there are elevators) was beautifully air-conditioned. The room was modern, spacious (as was the bathroom) , clean, quiet and comfortable with a massive bed. There was a mini-bar with soft drinks, a flat-screen tv and even complimentary slippers! The building itself is very elegant, (even with a McDonald's underneath!) the surrounding area has grown up around it and is not so elegant, having said that, we arrived back from the concert at about 1am and although there were a lot men of all nationalities hanging around we did not feel intimidated at all. It is 10-15 minutes walk to the old centre of Padova which is worth seeing with many beautiful squares, cafes, markets, museums and churches. I would recommend the Grand'Italia as a comfortable, convenient base for anyone wanting to explore the Veneto region by train, with Venice, Verona and Lake Garda all being only about an hour away. We booked on a room-only basis but the breakfast room on the first floor looks lovely. The reception staff was friendly and very helpful and overall I think it was quite good value.

Room Tip: I think the room we chose for one night was quite a basic one but it was clean, bright, modern and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativeoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel was very good for our holidays in Padova/Venice. It takes only a couple of minutes from the Padova railway station and bus station to get to the hotel, which was convenient because we spent our holydays mainly in Venice and came back late in the evening to sleep in the hotel. The air conditioning worked well. Our room was cool, silent and spacious enough for 3 persons. It was kept clean perfectly.
The old city of Padova, where restaurants can be found, is easily reached by foot. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was great and gave brilliant start for a day in Venice. It was served in a light and cosy breakfastroom.Traveling to Venice by train is quite cheap.

Room Tip: Room 305 suited well for 3 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joukamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed in Hotel Grand'Italia for 6 nights in June and found my stay very enjoyable.
Great service: Staff were professional and friendly. Special thanks to Julio who was extremely helpful and helped me to change my room from one with an open-area shower to one with a cubicle. Enrico was also polite and efficient.
Spacious and well-equipped room: The room was large, so was the shower room inside. The air conditioning was cool and quiet. While the room was on the tram line just opposite the train station, it was quiet with the windows closed. English TV channels including BBC and CNN were available.
Good breakfast: there was an excellent range of choices including scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon and sausages, freshly-baked baguettes, yogurt, cereals, juices, and lots of fresh fruits such as watermelons, cherries, strawberries, prunes, pineapples, oranges, and etc. Coffee freshly made for customers was also available.
Safety: Some guests mentioned the safety issue. True, the neighbourhood was a bit run-down and there were seedy people around the area, but as a young single woman travelling alone I did not feel unsafe at all even when I went back late in the evening. The fact that it is just opposite the train station also makes its a very good base for having day trips to Venice, Verona, etc.
All in all, an excellent hotel with a classic European exterior design and modern decoration in the room.

Room Tip: Higher floors and those not facing the tram line may be less noisy, if staying in the winter. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Located just across from the large Piazza fronting the central Padova Train Station, 4-star Hotel Grand’Italia was the best location for this early-June train traveler. Why take a taxi or pull your bags along to someplace else when you have all the comforts, amenities and conveniences just a few minutes from the train you’ll be taking at the end of your Padua stay? My large single room located on the piazza facing side, had space to use the desk and sit at the coffee table, and still easily could fit a double bed. The large 9x9 foot bathroom had a shower, heated (winter) towel rack, bidet, toilet, good mirror lighting and a makeup mirror, an often missing hotel feature. Besides A/C, stocked refrigerator (at reasonable prices), bedside controls, full-length mirror, free wi-fi, the safe was large enough to hold my 12-inch netbook. Room access was by placing an electronic key up to a keypad. Even with a McDonalds next door and trams along the Corso del Popolo, the room was very quiet during my stay. Housekeeping was impeccable. My low “shoulder-season” rate included daily complimentary breakfast with meats, cheeses, fruits, an array of pastries, juices, yogurts and real coffees and cappuccinos made by the staff, not those machine ones. Since all of the main sites of Padua are within its historic center. I just walked outside the Hotel Grand’Italia’s front door and onto the trams and buses to use the Padova card I purchased before leaving the US to visit the City. I plan to return to Padua to see more of its sites and definitely will again choose Hotel Grand’Italia and its friendly staff.

Room Tip: Lower corner Rooms are larger & sunnier but may have some low street sounds.Daily newspapers ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sflindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is very good value. I had a very economical single room for a 4 night stay, and it worked out perfectly. My room was quirky, quiet, and had everything I wanted. The location is good - right across from the train station, and a quick walk into the heart of the city center. As a single woman, I always felt safe there, even returning late at night. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, and eggs, bacon, tomatoes, cheese, delicious yogurt, and too many different types of pastries to count.

Padova itself was charming - with lots of lovely shopping, good restaurants, nice museums. I also took the train into Venice for the day, there is good, regular service.

My only complaint was with the internet service - the connection kept dropping, and there was one full day entirely without service.

The people at the front desk were very helpful at all times, giving directions, ordering cabs, and providing me with a delicious (large!) glass of red wine from the bar at the end of the day.

I'd highly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring both Padova and Venice, particularly on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed 2days for Venezia visit and Scrovegni Chapel and old town of Padua. The hotel is located in the space across the piazza of the station. The appearance of hotel is oldstyle but room is cozy and enogh width. Especially breakfast is great. Many fresh vegetables, frutes, fresh-juces and cheeses, you can tast the superior veneto district ingredients. When you go to the old town ,go on foot by allmeans.A lot of splendid restaurants will be found to you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abuba1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Good hotel. Clean and spacious room. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Directly across the road from the railway station. Very short train trip to Venice.
No problems with the area as some reviews have mentioned.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,805 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#6 of 45 in Padua
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#7 of 45 in Padua
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Corso del Popolo 81, 35131, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Padua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style 4-story Hotel located on a corner in city's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Italia
Grand Italia Padua
Golden Tulip Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing