We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for access to public transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Padua
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Directly across the street from the main station, this hotel makes it easy to catch the train, buses and trams. The breakfast is a hot and cold buffet, and the staff will make you a cappuccino or espresso lungo if you ask. Very helpful staff all around. The large child paintings in the lobby are the only weird thing about this place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank PaulWW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
Having had a 4 day nightmare in Venice, in terms of accommodation we weren't expecting a lot in Padua. How wrong we were. The hotel is literally across the road from the train station. There is a Spar in the station, which sells everything you could want at good prices. There are a few 'odd bods' about, but nothing that worried us and is typical for a station area.
The reception is beautiful and very grand, the check in was functional and informative. The room was small, but typical of a city hotel. There was a fridge, large bathroom which was very clean. TV was large. There was a safe, and extra pillows in the room. Also free slippers, which was a surprise.
20 mins steady walk into Padua, which was a surprise. There were lots of picturesque buildings, squares and things to see. It felt like a friendly little place but we were exhausted, having just walked Venice for 4 days.
We aren't food snobs and so decided to have a Maccy Ds for tea, as you know what you are going to get.
The soundproofing in the hotel was good, as we had a room facing the road and trams and buses - and we slept okay.
Bath towels soft and large enough. Toiletries nice. Bed comfy.
Would definitely recommend and would return.
Cost for one night £ 70E 3E city tax without breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed two nights at the Grand'Italia Hotel in double-room on upper floor in May 2013. This hotel is a lovely XIXth/XXth century building, which must have been something else in its era, that kept its most representative artefacts of the period and renovated it in a very contemporary style, with high quality materials, furniture and equipment. Room and bathroom (with bathtub) were huge and offered every amenity one could imagine. Breakfast/Dining room is just gorgeous and offers a buffet-style, hot and cold, breakfast, with whatever you fancy eating from eggs, cold cuts, cut or whole fruit, breads, croissants, cereal, cakes, pastry, etc. Coffee is regular type. Various beverages also offered. Rates were surprisingly low having benefited from a discount for early-booking. Located next to the train station, was convenient as were arriving from a tiring trip and needed to leave early for pursuing journey. Centre of city may be accessed by short trip on tramway with stop right next to hotel. Staff was discreet and helpful; some more friendly than others. Was a lovely stay and would certainly book a room at this hotel again.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for best rate or specials and best room available in category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The breakfast was very good indeed. Single room not large, but fine, clean. Location for train travellers could not be beaten. A receptionist recommended a very good restaurant. We were gutted when it was closed the following evening.

The Wifi was absolutely terrible. I even went to the lobby to see if it would work better but it didn't. The hotel needs to seriously address this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the side alley way where a lot of odd bods hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a great room, a triple. It was spacious, all the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was a good size too. We chose the breakfast pan, and it was well worth it as it had something for everyone. It was convenient to the train station, the bus depot (which is the best way to get to venice airport- don't do the train as that will be too crowded to deal with luggage), and the cities tram. The only down side was interest access: you need one code per device, that code only lasted for 20 hour increments, and were difficult to access or you would get kicked off after only a couple minutes.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Grand Italia is very conveniently located both for exploring Padova and for trips to Venezia and Verona. The hotel is clean, rooms are comfortable and all personnel is very kind and professional. The train station is 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed there on a cycling trip from the Dolomites to Venice. The bikes were delivered to the hotels as we cycled the trip.
We were concerned about locking up the bikes and would have preferred to keep them in the room (they are clean bikes and pretty expensive). The staff were not happy with us doing this but eventually one member of staff understood our concerns and helped us out and eventually found a place to lock them to a pipe in the storage area.
Breakfast was pretty good as we were cycling to Mestre the next day.
The bar serves a pretty good Aperol too.
The location is not too bad as it is near the train station and the tram.
I think that Padova is underrated - it's a lovely place with great dining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,803 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#3 of 45 in Padua
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#7 of 45 in Padua
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#6 of 45 in Padua
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Corso del Popolo 81, 35131, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Padua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style 4-story Hotel located on a corner in city's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Italia
Grand Italia Padua
Golden Tulip Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing