We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Couple of nights”
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights spending a day in nearby Venice (we went there by train - an easy day trip from here) before heading further south. The place is clean and fairly modern, all in all adequate though not inspiring.

We did stay a few years ago before all the world (well at least we) had sat-nav and I can confirm that it was extremely difficult to find. It is on a one way road that merges, a few metres away, with a motorway on-ramp. But with modern sat-nav perhaps that's no longer an issue. Others have said that it is noisy due to the main road and it does front a busy road however it is a rectangular hotel, it's length being about three or four times it's width. The short side fronts the main road, the long sides have other properties adjacent while behind is the large car park. So, most rooms are well isolated from the road and traffic noise can only be a problem in a few rooms at the front of the hotel - avoid these.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper (traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank androo235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for convenience due to having to drop off a hire car in Mestre very early next morning.price is great at E50 PR ,likewise the room and facilities also free internet.

It is terribly difficult to find due to the complex junctions ,one ways and intersections ,being 500m just off the toll road exit of Milan-Venice motorway and near IKEA. Took nearly 40 minutes to locate and then by accident and am now very familiar with the busy involved road system nearby!
Parking extensive and free also few minute ride by bus downtown yet not much else.A couple of good restaurants, one in particular with a glass floor with fish swimming beneath your feet as you eat.Clientele italian food great value and choice situated just on the roundabout 5 minutes walk towards town on the right.
Check in simple as place not busy. Bedroom nearly contemporary and bed was large and comfortable really quiet sleep,lots of towels,FS TV ,lots of storage and really good bathroom, lift also as is quite large property.Breakfast ok,but not a great choice, ask for cappucino to be made as machines are erratic.Waiting staff looked disinterested ,probably due to the amount of people passing through on one nighters en route or travelling from Venice.
So if you want convenience and great price this will do fine, if you are looking for atmospheric italian experience....drive on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odysseus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If it wasn't for the few problems we experienced, I would say this is a great hotel. But in the end if I need to go to Padua again, I would consider other options first. Practically all the problems are not in the hotel facilities or quality, but in the service. First of all, I had booked a double room and we were given a twin room instead. Of course, I complained at the front desk and they suggested we go to dinner, and meanwhile they will make the room double by bringing the two beds together. I didn't agree, so we were given another room immediately. However, this real double room had a very distinct tobacco smell, and I need not say, I had booked a non-smoking room. After 10-15 minutes wait for the boss to go and smell for a really non-smoking room, we were given a third one - in which the tobacco smell was mixed with a cheap room fragrance. I decided it wouldn't get much better, and we stayed in this room. It was warm and nice there, and in just over one day the smells were almost gone.

The second problem was the free wi-fi. Okay, it was there, which was nice (except at the lobby and restaurant, where the router needed a restart, which was not done for the next 3 days, even though I suggested them to do it and the device was on the front desk. But to use it, you needed to enter a ridiculously long and difficult to type on a smartphone user name and password, which needed to be re-entered after even 15 minutes of inactivity. And one user/password pair was valid for one device. There are definitely drastically better ways to restrict the internet use from non-guests! And of course, the wi-fi connection provided only html - no pop3 and imap, no vnc, no ftp, no nothing else the internet has to offer.

The third problem, which is not the hotel's responsibility, of course, is that the public transportation, coming to the hotel (there is a bus stop right outside, which is great) has a terrible schedule after 21:00 and on Sundays - there are buses from downtown just every 60-70 minutes. This is not too convenient if you intend to only sleep at the hotel.

Apart from that, the hotel is a good value for money, clean and spacious, and the buffet breakfast is included. And even though it's not as rich as you always get in Germany, Austria or many other countries, it still leaves a positive impression.

Room Tip: Like in most cities, the public transportation connections are not well described, so it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thomasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the hotel is right next to a bus stop for no. 18 which will take you directly to downtown Padova (Padua). Breakfast is OK, the rooms are clean and spacious. Wireless is located in a few spots in the hotel, but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddsoffida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is a hotel that meets your basic needs esp when u r on a budget. Very clean, nice owners n the rooms are not modern but not too small. Loved their coffee but their breakfast needs more options. Has free wifi which is great

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the first n second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

great parkingplace at the hotel
close to the city and busstop in the front of the hotel
nice simple hotel, good value for the money
very slow internet , most of the time not working
breakfast is fair but ........there was a coffe machine making
maybe the worst cappucino I ever had in Italy (maybe in the world)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The hotel was a bit difficult to find but once we found it, we were very pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel was an exceptional value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sagittario
Hotel Sagittario
#5 of 45 in Padua
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Padova
Ibis Padova
#18 of 45 in Padua
1,129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Padova
Tulip Inn Padova
#23 of 45 in Padua
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#11 of 45 in Padua
546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Small Hotel Royal
Small Hotel Royal
#19 of 45 in Padua
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: San Marco, 63, 35100, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born a few years ago, 'our hotel is on the market as a modern tourist hotel in a strategic position so that fits both the tourist and the business clientele. Easily accessible from the 'A4 (400 meters east exit PD) offers to those who stay cozy rooms with all comforts (air conditioning - minibar - hairdryer - LCD TV) and a large garden with private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing