We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and kind owners”
Review of Hotel Al Cason

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Cason
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Padova and Venezia. It is clean, comfortable with a great breakfast included in the price. The owners of the hotel did everything they could to help us.
Our triple room was extermely large and had a hotel safe provided.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilarySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to see you again in Padova !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

I can confirm what others have written recently: This hotel's strong suit is its great friendliness. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel like old friends by the entire staff. As others have noted, the location--on a somewhat industrial road just beyond the city walls--is drab and a little dispiriting at first. But Padua doesn't have many hotels for a city of its size and importance, and we found the savings of staying here--just 15 minutes' walk from the city's historic center and also within walking distance from the train station--to be worth the unlovely location. Rooms are somewhat spartan but clean and comfortable, and there's a good breakfast, with a wide variety of pastries and baked goods, yogurt, etc. Rooms face either the road or the railroad, but double-pane windows rendered ours virtually silent. Staff members speak reasonably good English; one of the desk clerks gave us detailed directions to all of the major sights in town, and another effortlessly booked us a shared van to the Venice airport at the end of our stay ($58 for two passengers). The hotel provides free 'net access; simply ask for a password.

It's pleasant to be treated with such friendliness when one is 6000 miles from home. I'm happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The only thing that could be said to be lacking about this place is the immediate location. The road it's on is a little industrial, but considering it's a 5 minute walk to the train station and the edge of town it's totally forgivable.

Staff here were extremely helpful, best I have personally experience in Italy. Our room was fine, good TV choice and good free WiFi in the room. Breakfast also good by comparison to other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant 2 night stay at this hotel which as others have mentioned is located very close to the train station. This latter is both a positive & a negative for this hotel. The negative is because the station area is heavily populated with large numbers of very unpleasant looking individuals. We weren't bothered by any of these people when walking to the hotel, but were aggresively & unpleasantly pestered for money on the train returning from Venice by an individual who got off at Padua & joined this group.

The hotel itself though was run by very pleasant, efficient & helpful staff & we felt very safe in their care. The room, & indeed the entire hotel, was comfortable, cean & well appointed, and the room was serviced daily. The laundry service was efficient & reasonably priced.

Breakfast was generous & had a nice selection of foods and service was attentive & prompt. Overall the hotel experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalmationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The walk from the train station involves turning right going under an underpass and then past a bar where people hang around outside and then right onto a road with a random assortment of buidings. It was safe and a 5 min walk, although not the most beautiful walk you will take in Padova.Its 15 mins walking distance to see Giotto's frescos and I found a good breakfast, friendly staff and a comfortable room for £52. The station location makes it, as the italian trains are very good and reasonably priced and i'd recommend using them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We returned on Monday Sept 3 from a five night stay at this surprisingly good hotel. Chosen because of its proximity to the station (I have 74 year old legs!) and its good reviews on TA, we, like many others, found our first impressions from the outside were not, shall we say, great but matters improved after entering the lobby to a warm welcome. Our room (315) was slightly on the small side and, initially, the minimalist interior was not to our taste but within hours we became accustomed to the style and found it more that adequate to our needs. The bathroom was roomy and towels etc changed each day, as were the beds. The proximity of the busy railway line did not prove any hindrance to a good night's sleep!The staff throughout our stay could not have been more helpful, providing pots of tea and other drinks immediately on request. The breakfast choices were superb and plentiful, largely resulting in our not bothering with lunches! Even for the writer, the walk into town was accomplished with ease and, although the area in which the hotel is situated is possibly not the most salubrious, my wife and I had no qualms about walking back to it even at 1100pm. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed for the staff's summer holidays so we cannot pass judgment on it but we were more than happy to eat each night at the Rosso Pomodoro (see separate review), just 10 minutes walk away. Our sincere thanks go the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and we heartilly recommend this very reasonably priced hotel to other visitors to Padua. PS. The fruit stall referred to in earlier reviews is closed from the end of August until the following Spring.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel exactly what your requirements are when booking and they will do their very best to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The outside looked a little shady, but the inside was amazing. The rooms were spacious and clean, the front desk clerks were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had in a hotel. They even came by to ask if you wanted a fresh cappuccino or coffee! As other reviewers mentioned, the neighborhood is a little run down, but you're a 7 minute walk from the train station where you can easily hop a train to Venice or wherever else, and a short walk into the heart of Padova leads to many cute restaurants and things to do and see. The free wifi was also a great plus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
1.4 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 45 in Padua
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#10 of 45 in Padua
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 45 in Padua
970 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,762 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Padova
Ibis Padova
#17 of 45 in Padua
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Cason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Cason

Address: Via Fra' Paolo Sarpi 40, 35138, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Padua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Padua
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Cason 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable three-star hotel a short walk from the train station and the historic center of Padua. Ample parking FREE FOR DIRECT RESERVATIONS ON OUR OFFICIAL SITE. Restaurant (closed on Sundays), rich buffet breakfast, free wi-fi inetrnet access, Mediaset Premium pay-TV channels. From Hotel Al Cason is very easy to reach Venice in only 30 minutes with trains, leaving every 15/20 minutes. The Scrovegni Chapel and the historic center are within walking distance in less than 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Al Cason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cason Hotel
Al Cason Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing