We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The location of this hotel is great, everything is just steps away. The rooms were large with spacious bathrooms. The staff was professional and friendly. You are a couple blocks away from the tram, which can take you to the train, you can be in Venice in about an hour. It was fantastic to wake to a delicious cappuccino and a array of pastries and fruits. Overall a great place to stay while in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arp790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    134
    61
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
96
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were led here through Rick Steves' guidebook, and Rick owes us an apology. The positives: it's appointed in a lovely manner, it's in a great location, and the staff were friendly. That's about it. The rooms are cramped even by European standards. Don't even think of turning your body in the shower. The cost is very expensive. The breakfast buffet is 10 euro, you're better off grabbing food elsewhere. The restaurant/bar connected to the hotel was dead - we did not see a single living soul in the place the 3 days we were there. There is an incredibly popular bar right across the way, so it will be very loud in your room. I would not recommend this place or return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A bit difficult to find driving through the maze of narrow winding roads to find the hotel, but the hotel was elegant, spacious with well appointed rooms. Our room, the Tosca had an interesing partial bricked wall & luxuruious carpets. Blue mosaic tile, very spacious toilet/washroom by European standards. Unique and elegant decor throughout. The quality of furnishings, decor was very good. The bed was very comfortable. And they had Free wifi. They are also very centrally located, within walking distance of everything.
Where they scored low was breakfast. We had breakfast on our first night @ the hotel, which we found adequate but a bit pricey for what we got. If they are going to charge the extra, they could include more hot foods, meat, fruits & have someone always attending the food. When we wanted to go back for more eggs, no one was around to heat them up...they keep them already cooked in the back. For those only wanting a very small breakfast such as brioche, coffee, juice, you can pick that up at one of the local cafes, bakeries which are very close by. The second morning we had breakfast in town which worked out better.
This hotel is a great location for touring the city, helpful concierge. Would go back.

Room Tip: Tosca room was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cana1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is so very well located, you can see all the sights on foot.
The room was large, especially by European standards. What we liked was the fact that the rooms were not the " cookie cutter" style as found in the major chains.
The staff were most pleasant and especially helpful in tracking down lost luggage for us. In addition, they made transfer reservations for us while we were still in the US, so when we landed in Venice, transportation to Padua was waiting for us.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room at the back...noisy out in front. We had 312, a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illini572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley NJ
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Padova is a great city and this hotel was well situated in the old part of town, close to several squares, plenty of shopping and restaurants. HOWEVER, room 110, while both clean and roomy, was extraordinarily noisy until midnight. There are several bars in the area, one or two directly across the narrow street and there was nothing we could to do block out the music and loud chatter. The room was also next to the elevator and people seemed to forget that others may be sleeping at 1 a.m. There was a lot of loud talk and running up and down the hallway late into the night. Add to that, two of the women at the front desk had a most disturbing arrogant and condescending attitude when asked for even the simplest of information. I had to hold my tongue to not create a raw atmosphere during our stay, but really, if they hate their jobs that much, perhaps they need to find another line of work that doesn't involve being pleasant to guests.
The car park was impossible to find on one's own so a lovely gentleman employed by the hotel directed us through the winding, confusing, often one-way streets. It would have been nearly impossible to find the garage without his assistance.
I do highly recommend staying in Padova and taking the 1 hour train ride to Venice rather than staying in Venice as it is a tourist-packed nightmare. Going back to Padova at the end of a day in Venice was a nice way to unwind. However, beware. You must watch for your station because no announcements are made on the train and the computer screens in the cars don't always work.
Sounds like a lot of complaining but I just want others to be aware of the pitfalls we found. All in all, Padova is a great old city to explore and we were very happy with our choice of city if not hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyvagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

No serious complaints but found the reception very distant. We complained about the light in our bathroom that kept constantly turning on and off. We were only there for two nights but though we were told something would be done the light remained the same. Staff for breakfast very friendly and helpful. Very noisy the first night as students celebrating in café opposite our bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, PA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Unfortunately, our two-night stay at Hotel Majestic Toscanelli was disappointing. Each problem we encountered was small, and each time was greeted with “Oh no, not another one!” – but when combined they made our stay unpleasant. If I had to identify one overriding problem it would be lack of customer service. I say this after coming from two very customer-oriented hotels in Milan and Verona, and renting two apartments in Venice and Rome. In each place, the managers made the guest feel welcome. I didn’t get that feeling at the Majestic Toscanelli. I don’t know if there are other four-star hotels in Padua, but I do not recommend the Hotel Majestic Toscanelli.
PROs: The lobby was very nice and there was a nice sitting area; the breakfast was good and plentiful, although you had to pay for it, which was not indicated (see Cons below); the room was clean and provided a lot of natural light, although my wife thought the sheets and furniture were worn; very good location and easy to walk to all the sites; our room overlooked a piazza (however, there were two bars outside which were noisy—you may not mind that), I believe you can request an interior room.
CONs: There was no friendly greeting upon arrival; the lights in the room are controlled by a smart card, about which we were not told (I thought we had no power when I entered the room); the directions for the safe were in Italian only making it very difficult to operate; the WiFi did not work and no effort was made to accommodate our computer needs; because there was no WiFi, I could not make reservations for the Scrovegni Chapel—the front desk clerk did no offer to help until I begged her to make a call for me; the water took forever to get hot; when I asked where the breakfast room was the front-desk clerk told me, but failed to mention that there was a 10 Euro charge per person per night, when I questioned the charge at checkout she said that was the way it was—a letter of inquiry after the trip was not answered.
My wife and I loved our visit to Padua; the sites are incredible and the city is enjoyable. If these inconveniences are corrected, the Hotel Majestic Toscanelli could be a nice hotel, but until then I would not recommend it. Your priorities may be different.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.4 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#16 of 46 in Padua
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Padova
Hotel Europa Padova
#29 of 46 in Padua
325 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 46 in Padua
1,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel Toscanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel Toscanelli

Property: Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
Address: Via Dell'Arco 2, 35122, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Padua
#10 Business Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Hotel Toscanelli 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel Toscanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing