We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh sea food, lovely service”
Review of La Folperia

La Folperia
Ranked #2 of 1,053 Restaurants in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$61
Cuisines: Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Traditional street food in Padua's ancient square, Piazza della Frutta. Like us on fb "La Folperia
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were walking around the city and found this place. As it was surrounded by locals, we gave it a try. Service is great, area around it too and the sea food is simple but really tasty. You may also have a glass of white wine. They seem used to deal with tourists, we're from Brazil and ordered our food and talked a bit in a mix of portuguese, spanish and italian. Definetly worth a visit. If we stayed there longer, i'd have spent the night eating their shrimps. Outstanding.

Thank Guilherme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafolperia, Proprietario at La Folperia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your appreciation. It was our pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

These guys have been here for years, and have consistently provided delicious seafood. It's not really a restaurant in that you probably wouldn't eat a meal there, but the octopus and other things they have are extremely tasty. My recommendation: a plate of octopus while you enjoy a 'spritz' at the bar next door.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidnwelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafolperia, Proprietario at La Folperia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Giufiu,
La ringraziamo per la Sua gradita sosta e per il Suo apprezzamento.
Cogliamo l'occasione per augurare ai nostri Clienti e agli Utenti Tripadvisor una felice Pasqua.
Max e Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I can’t understand the popularity of this fish stand. It is long time I knew this place. Once Padova had many different stands like this. I can say the food is good not because of the preparation, which is basic (oil. Garlic, pepper, salt and minced parsley) , but because of the nature of the food itself. On the other side the price of the food is out of market. I can tell to every tourist who reds the review on Tripadvisor that you are advised. You are paying regular octopus 35€/kg and baby octopus (moscardini) 40€/kg. This fish cost about 10-15€/kg t the fish market nearby. Is worth of 3 times profit margin ? Not to tell about fake fried crab lags 12€/kg or shrimp skillets 35€/kg, boiled shrimps 40€/kg, queen scallops (canestrelli - Aequipecten operculari) 50€/kg , squid eggs 40€/kg and filled peperoncini (friggitelli9 40€/kg !!!!
You are advised … than go as you want and make your decision.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank hoppy_poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafolperia, Proprietario at La Folperia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear hoppy_poppy, thank you for your comment.
Our fish is not only fresh and the best, but is cooked by us with care,passion and love.
Best wishes, Massimiliano and Barbara .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I always thought this little food stall was part of the bar d'osei ? ? ? My darling is a local and loves this place located right beside the tables of the bar next door. We often take food here and sit at the bars tables and drink our prosecco or spritz while snacking on this carts delights . Its a seafood cart of really fresh dishes you might not find anywhere else. Its kind of like an attraction in Padova appearing every afternoon in the piazza at about 5 pm to serve its fabulous fare. The octopus is a favourite of ours and can be had in a variety of ways. The people running the cart are very friendly people cheery and even speak a little English I have heard. This is a very local experience , so anyone seeking an authentic Padovanian food experience this is where it is at . Piazza della frutta . after 5 pm.....We like to take the seafood snacks from the cart and then the porchetta sandwich from the bar for seconds , while we order drinks from the bar as well .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Of you are in Padua you cannot miss this place. You news ti ne there at the aperitivo time, take something of everything take a beer or a glass of white Wine and enjoy the city center and the people walking all around! You will always remember that moment. Don't miss it if you will stay in
Padua

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Silviettavox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Folperia also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to La Folperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing