We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Al Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Santo
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to get to from the train station - it's basically a straight shot there. My room was very comfortable - I was traveling alone. It was very clean and decorated nicely. The walls do seem to be very thin, as I was privy to my next door neighbor's conversations, and it sounded like a few elephants were staying above me. The bathrooms are very nice: I don't know about other rooms, but my shower was very small, so a large person would have difficulty. I enjoyed the accordion serenade in the early evenings from the street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    127
    47
    5
    1
See reviews for
62
93
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My family and I stayed here in July. It is a very nice hotel that can accommodate a family of four. The hotel and rooms are very clean. Our room was very large and provided ample room to move around. There is no parking at the hotel, but there is a public parking area in Padua that is reasonably priced. Breakfast is provided in the morning and there was always a good selection. We were very fond of apples that came from close to the Dolomite.

Al Santo is close to the Basilica of Saint Anthony, and is in walking distance to most of the main sites of Padua, including the Scrovegni Chapel that has the work of Giotto.

A great place and a nice value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCulotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed it.
Location is excellent, it is close to all the sights. Padova itself is easy to walk around and quite safe even at night.
We really liked our room. It was very spacious and very clean. Bed was comfortable. Only critism would be the bathroom which needs a bit updating and the shower which doesn't have much pressure. Apart from that it was wonderful value. Everything was very clean which made us feel comfortable.
Hotel breakfast was fine. Italians are not big on breakfasts so it was more than what we expected. They had nice bread rolls and pastries which you don't get in many hotels.
Hotel staff was ever so helpful and nice. Especially the young lady who tried her best to help us.
We dined in the hotel restaurant only once but unfortunately didn't enjoy it. Food was ja bit below average. However it didn't effect our pleasant stay in this great hotel.
Definitely recommend it!!

Padova itself is a lovely town. Lots to see, enjoy and buy!! My tip would be make sure you exchanged enough currency before you get there because no bank exchanged any money and we couldn't find an exchange office!! Also don't try to dine out late like we did. There are not many restaurants around and they only serve until 09.00,10.00. Some days they are shut!! We went out to eat on a Monday night at 21.00 and ended up going to bed hungry because everywhere was shut!! They have their own rules here about shops and restaurants being closed in certain times which is very weird for us hardworking people :))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countmypearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne AU
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

To me, this has to be an ideal location from which to explore Padova. It's not ultra expensive (and noisy) and in the middle of the old quarter, neither is it in the new outer areas, soul less and a long walk from interesting places.
The people are friendly, the service excellent and the restaurant next door (run by the same people) is as good as you can expect from a local eatery - full of locals the night I went.
A few metres down Via Del Santo, away from the church, on the same side is a brilliant little enoteca - the proprietor has a small but carefully chosen selection of meats, cheese, breads and wine. I can recommend the mortadella with truffles. A great place to buy a take away meal. There's also a fruit shop further down for dessert. Everything you need. Better value than a restaurant.
The hotel? Comfortable, good water pressure and hot water, comfy bed (you might like to ask for an an extra pillow, but that's typical) quiet, older rooms.
My room faced the street which was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel has the best location for Padua visitors whose visit is mostly related to the religious experience at the Basilica of St. Anthony. It is basically a two minute walk from the impressive basilica housing the remains of St. Anthony, which brings to this small Italian city devotees from all over the world. My wife and I arrived early in the morning on the train from Bologna, took a city bus and arrived to a piazza close to the hotel. From there, a short walk and the hotel is located on Via del Santo, just in front of the basilica. The area surrounding the hotel has a few small restaurants, some religious souvenir stores and one pastry shop. It is not particularly a place to "hang-out" at night, for that you go to Piazza dei Signori, which has an excellent night ambiance. This piazza is located approximately 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel, following Via del Santo towards the center of Padua. Other places of interest in Padua are also easily accesible from the hotel, including the very attractive Prato della Valle, and the beautiful Scrovegni Chapel.

Going back to the hotel, this is a small and very, very basic hotel. You will get a clean bed and bathroom, quite small, but then again, the prices are low, so you get what you pay for. The view of the domes of St. Anthony's from the room that we got was INCREDIBLE. We will probably return in the near future to Padua, since my wife really enjoyed visiting St. Anthony's Basilica, and could certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of St. Anthony's domes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnaldoRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Chose to stay here whilst visiting Venice.
The location is good and Padua itself is a lovely pleace to visit.
It was easy to travel from Padua to see Venice. The trains are excellent.
Our room was fine. Sheets were changed every other day. Breakfast was adequate. Plenty of tea, coffee, Juice and croissants.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They helped us book a couple of events as we do not speak Italian.
The Pizzeria is very good. The rest of the menu is average.
Have to say we felt very safe here and did not encounter beggars at all.
One negative thing though. The shower cubicle is very small. a larger peron would struggle to get into to it.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with a bigger shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Pros: very nice staff, let us check in early and leave our bags late on departure, centrally located, good view of basilica roofs, clean, cheap.
Cons: area near basilica run down and lots of beggars, hotel itself looks dreary and inside upstairs is institutional. Room was small with tiny makeshift bathroom, old bed. Poor soundproofing, noisy until about 11pm so sleep ok.
Breakfast ok.
Don't know of other hotels in Padua but would not choose to stay here again. It's a budget hotel with no charm which despite the friendly staff feels budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.6 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#16 of 46 in Padua
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#17 of 46 in Padua
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
0.1 mi away
Al Fagiano
Al Fagiano
#18 of 46 in Padua
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Santo

Property: Hotel Al Santo
Address: Via del Santo 147, 35123, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Santo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely restored in 2007, our hotel is located in the historic center, next to Saint Anthony's Basilica, about 1 minute of walk from the central pedestrian zone and hospitals, with easy access to the train station and the fair trade. The comfortable and quiet rooms offer the following facilities: color TV, radio, telephones with direct outside lines, air-conditioning and internet wireless free. From the hotel there is direct access to the homonym Restaurant/Pizzeria Al Santo, acclaimed for its 10-year tradition of typical and international cuisine. The Reception Desk and the bar are open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Santo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing