We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, but staffed by great people!”
Review of Hotel Al Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Santo
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Como, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre, but staffed by great people!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Yes, it is central, tho we found station access tough, especially getting back there eventually had to be by taxi, as trams were too full for our cases. The ride from the station is reasonably priced by Taxi, and there were plenty, but the ride back was trickier till a kind stall holder in the square saw i was getting distressed as our train time came and went and no taxi appeared in the square.
Hotel Staff were lovely and helpful, but the rooms were drab and box like. I found the hotel noisy from within, but i. Realize that was other guests, not the fault of the hotel. Just with wooden floors, every sound echoes, and there were continuous feet traipsing along corridors, and doors banging most of thenight. Shutters on windows helped with outside noise, and air conditioner was wonderful, even my bathroom was perfectly clean and nice. And breakfast in the courtyard was lovely. But overall, padova was a hot hole. Not for me again, there are more charming old cities in italy.

Room Tip: You can try asking for a quiet room, staff is only too happy to try to help, but the hotel itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiejen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    127
    47
    5
    1
See reviews for
62
93
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Padova is charming, of that there is no doubt; but this hotel is not in any way an advisable place to stay; outside of it's location, near the large nice public square and local church of note, it's the most depressing place I've ever stayed at. I've stayed at hostels that had more charm and love, for equal, and about that amount and this place was disappointing at any price.

When I arrived, I was in travel clothes (tshirt/shorts, from other hot destination), the desk person looked me up and down (I felt like I was being judged, like a backpacker who was about to wash my underwear in the sink), suffice it to say, she literally laughed at me, and made jokes about what I was wearing and carrying.

My room that I paid about $85 a night for a single, was literally about 8 feet wide, by 10' long with a single size dorm bed. There was an old dusty bedspread in a dark room, and minimal imitation (idea) wood fake furniture, nothing on the walls at all. The bathroom was recently remodeled in a modern style, but crazy small. I'm 6.0' 170lbs (read: thin) and could not get in to the shower without scraping past the awkward doors. Then the shower is roughly 24" x 24", so better hope you don't drop anything, because you have to get out to retrieve it. Anyhow, I immediately asked for another larger room, because I booked a non-refundable fare (mistake), and fortunately the male owner stepped in when i spoke up and gave a slightly larger (also non air conditioned room) to me, which was equally dorm like and charmless. Protip: keep your windows open so it's not 85 degrees in your room at. Ight, but don't forget your earplugs, because here is echoing street noise at all hours but 2am- 6:30 am.

Apparently to save electricity, they leave the lights off in all hallways, all the time. It's dark and nerve racking, and you'll need a cell phone to use your key in the utiliterian dorm style locking mechanism.

Breakfast is provided, and is adequate for the region and town (I've stayed in the city several times before), though largely prepackeged things (apple sauce, yogurt, etc. identical day to day) placed for consumption. Fresh fruit selection was pretty good, and the breakfast patio, to be fair, is quite charming.

If you want an overpriced charmless small dorm room, this may be your next Padova/Padua "hotel", but don't forget to bring som cash for the extra room tax that the charge on the way out (8€ for my 4 nights, not sure how this was calculated). It reminded me of the Simpsons leaving Springfield tax from the filmmaking episode, but I wasn't laughing, I was trying to catch my train out of town and the staff's refusal to take a card on the spot for less that 10€ surprise charge was also lame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artistfrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Location was absolutely perfect and the service superb. We could walk to every major attraction in the small town and were lucky to have adjoining rooms with a terrific view of the cathedral. Check-in and concierge services at this small family-run hotel were among the best I've ever encountered in similar properties and the value is hard to beat. Granted, the shower stalls are small, the decor spartan (but tasteful), and the parking lot is a few blocks away, but these are not unusual features in small hotels in small European towns, and they add charm for the well-heeled traveler. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel and Padova for an amazing taste of historic and contemporary small-town Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for second-floor rooms with a cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shivdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

It's a fantastic hotel if you're coming to Padova to see the Basilica.. Just 150 yards or so down the road.

We landed at Marco Polo and took the Sita bus to Padova. After the 45 minute trip we got dumped off at the Autostazione and not knowing where to go next. Finally we found a really helpful person who said they'd take us to the hotel (how lucky was that!). So we jumped on a few trams and finally made it to the hotel. Reason why I'm saying this is because it can be quite hard to find... Well I though it was!

Check in was easy and we were greeted by a really nice gentleman on the desk. He gave us our key and told us where to go.

The rooms are superb value for money. Spacious, comfortable and quiet. The air conditioning was very useful as it does get hot during the day here in Padova.

Overall the hotel is great value for money and well worth coming to especially if you're wanting to see the old town and the Basilica. The hotel staff are fantastic too! Especially the lovely gentlemen on the front desk... He was superb!! Just forgot to get his name :(

Oh, and there's free wifi too!! Just ask the front desk and they give you the code.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letthelordbewithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We only spent one night here on 5/6/13 and we were sorry we could not stay a bit longer. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to Basilica St Anthony and less than 10 minutes to Prato de Valle. The staff were extremely helpful from the minute we arrived to the time we left. The room was spotless, large and comfortable and even though it was facing the street when the shutters were closed it was quiet. The restaurant downstairs was very reasonable and the food was lovely and they gave us some lovely local pastries to try at the end of the meal. Padua is a beautiful city and we will definitely return and stay at Al santo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metfraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Clean, modern rooms and a welcoming atmosphere awaited us at the end of a day in the road. Antonio is a great host who greats you are a weary traveller but makes sure that you know your are "home". We stayed 2 nights during the week using as a base for our day in Venice. It is a short train ride to the Venice from Padua but the hotel is quite a way away from the station which is built more to the new town.

The Basilica just a few yards from the hotel is WELL WORTH going out of your way to stay here. Actually we found the church more elegant and interesting than the visit to St Marks the day before.

Sculptures and building is extensive you will be very surprised!

There is also a very large park area close by that is decorated with carved statues. Lovely for an evening stroll.

The restaurant at Al Santo was where we ate on two evenings. The pizza's are the best we have had anywhere. The food is very tasty and we sampled many things of the menu.

It is recommended by Rick Steve's and we would whole heatedly agree this was safe and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6009interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The hotel Al Santo is located near the Basilica of Saint Anthony. The quadruple room was clean and warm and comfortable. Breakfast is continental style with good coffee. The hotel staff are very friendly.. even letting us have a very early breakfast on checkout day due to early flight home. You can get the tram to the hotel from the train station easy peasy. Will recommend the hotel to family/friends and If I visit Padua again will be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.6 mi away
Albergo Verdi
Albergo Verdi
#16 of 46 in Padua
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#17 of 46 in Padua
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
0.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel Toscanelli
0.1 mi away
Al Fagiano
Al Fagiano
#18 of 46 in Padua
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Santo

Property: Hotel Al Santo
Address: Via del Santo 147, 35123, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Santo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely restored in 2007, our hotel is located in the historic center, next to Saint Anthony's Basilica, about 1 minute of walk from the central pedestrian zone and hospitals, with easy access to the train station and the fair trade. The comfortable and quiet rooms offer the following facilities: color TV, radio, telephones with direct outside lines, air-conditioning and internet wireless free. From the hotel there is direct access to the homonym Restaurant/Pizzeria Al Santo, acclaimed for its 10-year tradition of typical and international cuisine. The Reception Desk and the bar are open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Santo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing