We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid hotel consistent with the Crowne experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Padova
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A solid hotel consistent with the Crowne experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Crowne Plaza Padova is a solid hotel establishment. Yes, it has its downsides, but overall it was a good stay.

A lot of reviewers note the location. For walkers, admittedly it is not ideal as it is situated to the north of central Padua - a good distance away from Padua's downtown attractions and a good distance away from the train station. However, I have to point out two things: (1) if you are a walking or train-dependent traveler, you have the obligation to scout out the geography of your hotel accommodation before you make a selection. We did this and knew that it meant taxi reliance, but we made that educated decision. (2) You shouldn't be staying here if you want daily access to Venice anyways. There are plenty of hotels on the mainland that give you almost instant access to Venice as they are situated near the Venezia Mestre train station that can zip you to the St. Lucia train station on the island. This hotel offers you more distant access to Venice (about 30 minutes away) AND access to Padua, which is not a town to overlook. Two incredible attractions, particularly for historians, art lovers, and pilgrims, are (1) the Scrovegni Chapel, home to Giotto's fresco masterpieces, and (2) the Basilica of St. Anthony of Padua. Overlook these treasures, as well as the charm of Padua, at your own risk and disappointment.

Note: the reviewers below are also not telling you that the hotel offers daily, complimentary shuttle service to and from the train station. If you are staying here to beat the outrageous prices on the Venice islands, access to and from the train station should not be a complaint. Again, you factor these things in if you are using this hotel as a daily access point to Venice. I'll also add that the hotel needs to do a better job advertising this service, as it could be a potential boom for their business as cost-conscious travelers might like to have access to two great Italian cities: Padua and Venice.

The hotel itself offers spacious accommodations that are clean and well-kept. The bathrooms are very large (a plus to us), and the rooms offer modern conveniences and accommodations. Taxi cabs to and from the town center run around 10 euros, which is not bank-breaking. And if you're in Padua, you should venture to the Scrovegni Chapel and St. Anthony's for the experiences they offer.

As such, location does not factor into my average rating. This hotel suffers from comparison to our usual accommodations at its sister InterContinental hotel line. That's our issue and does not detract from what you will experience here. What really pulls our rating down are the beds. The beds and the pillows are flat, and our night's rest was poor at best. If you travel with your home pillow, you will be fine. We do not, and we suffered here because of it. We would encourage the hotel to revisit its chamber accommodations and make much-needed improvements in this area.

We actually chose to eat at the hotel restaurant one night, something we normally don't do. It was actually very good quality and very affordable.

Another plus is the affordability of the stay! INCREDIBLE! We spent four nights staying in the San Marco area of Venice before going mainland, and we were paying $350+ USD per night for that convenience. At the Crowne Plaza Padova we had a Jr. Suite for about $86 USD per night. You cannot beat that affordability! This is why I offer the comments above. If you want the quality of a Crowne with the affordability that this particular location offers, then you factor in the short travel time from the hotel to the train station as well as the short travel time from Padua to Venice. For budget-conscious travelers, coupling a stay at this hotel with the access it provides to Padua and to Venice make it an ideal hotel for you to consider. Just bring your own pillow. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIANandRONNIE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Padova, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear BRIANandRONNIE2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    431
    129
    20
    12
See reviews for
234
206
29
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alibaug, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Rooms are toooo big!! and bathrooms (better to call it bath area) very spacious with separate toilet shower and bath - good breakfast. Not very close to venice. they do have a shuttle to train station but I think its more suitable if you are driving a car. Free wifi - a bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandrashekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We are a family of 4 people and we had two connected spacious and very comfortable rooms with their own big luxury bathrooms!! The rooms had good quality furnishings and perfect beds!!!
All the staff was very friendly and the receptionists was extremely welcoming and helpful!! Free parking in front of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was very rich with great variety and everything was delicious!!! Great value for money!!
Possibly some more detailed directions might be helpful for those who arriving by car because we had difficulties to find the hotel at night…

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It is an excellent hotel, particularly if you own a car and you can stay away from the city centre on a weekend.
Rooms were excellent, breakfast was OK, we did not try the bar or the restaurant.

Only negative note: the staff did not make us aware that the in-room wifi was complimentary so, given the high costs displayed at the connection, we decided not to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supervacuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

With adequate own arrangement of transportation, this will be a good choice for stay in Venice for 3 days.
We enjoyed this Hotel of all the 8 hotels we stayed during the tour of 2 weeks. I woule recommend this hotel for all those who plan to visit Venice for 2 or more days stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We loved this place. As others have said the rooms are large and very clean. The staff we met were very helpful and pleasant and spoke good English. The restaurant is outstanding for a hotel chain, we ate there three times. (dinner for 2 people cost about 75 Euros for 3 courses and wine). Breakfast was excellent too. We were travelling by car and the location was easy to find with free parking; you can get the free shuttlebus to/from town or taxi for about 11 Euro.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Location: If you are here for Padova - not good without a car. If you are here for Venice - not good as well, because it's pretty far from the rail station.
Room: The room was absolutely standard. But with antz :)
Breakfast: Ouch! Very bad! Even for 2-stars hotel. It's better not to have a breakfast at all...
Internet: We were there for two nights and all this time internet was "temporary" out of order.
Parking: Free parking on site and cheap garage.
Lobby: Tiny, uncozy, with poor bar, expensive.
Check-in/out: Fast, no problems here.
Overall: If you have any choice, try to choose something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Padova, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Nikolay P,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
3.8 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
2.7 mi away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#6 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Padova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Padova

Property: Crowne Plaza Padova
Address: Via Po' 197, 35135, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Padua
#3 Business Hotel in Padua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Padova 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Padova hotel with its extensive Conference Center for up to 600 persons, is ideally located just 400m from the A4 motorway exit Padova West, and can be easily reached from Venice Marco Polo airport.Crowne Plaza Padova hotel is an excellent starting point to visit cultural cities like Venice and Verona not to forget Padova itself with its famous Scrovegni Chapel.All 179 spacious hotel bedrooms and suites are fully air conditioned and equipped with high speed internet access and flat screen TV. The hotel also offers Executive rooms, all with en-suite facilities, as well as Family and Accessible rooms. The state-of-the-art Conference centre boasts 15 meeting rooms which all have natural daylight and are equipped to cater for any need with the flexibility to hold business or social events from 6 to 750 persons. Secure wireless access is offered throughout all public areas.Campiello restaurant is an outstanding place to dine with a variety of tasty dishes freshly prepared with the finest ingredients served in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy also the famous Crowne Plaza breakfast. Unwind in our mini gym and relax in our bar with a specialty cocktail or just your favourite drink.Shuttle bus is available from/to Padova city centre on request.Our secure car park has space for up to 400 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Padova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Padova Hotel Padua
Crowne Plaza Padua
Holiday Inn Padua
Crowne Plaza Hotel Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing