We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee at Stendhal’s hangout”
Review of Caffe Pedrocchi

Caffe Pedrocchi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.22*
and up
Small-Group Padua Walking Tour Including Giotto Frescoes
Ranked #1 of 56 Nightlife in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Coffee at Stendhal’s hangout”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were in Padua to soak up history, and our guidebooks all mentioned this elegant cafe and meeting place built in 1831. So, when it was time for elevenses, we chose a seat near the open doors in the Red room where we could watch the local scene. And, being right in the heart of the university district, there is plenty of entertainment: this day we watched the graduation antics of some laurel-wreathed but otherwise scantily-clad grads undergoing their ritual public roasting.

Considering its history and prime location, we found Pedrocchi’s prices reasonable. My panino for 10 € was far superior to one for 9 € at the rail station, and here I was comfortably seated in an upscale venue. I also ordered their signature Caffè Pedrocchi: a shot of espresso topped with a thick mint cream and sprinkled with chocolate. The contrasting hot and cold flavours created a singular experience. On a future visit, we will also make time to explore the upstairs rooms and museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knightspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    760
    283
    110
    85
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Must try their signature espresso! Whipping cream on the bottom espresso and a amazing cocoa on top that you don't stir together. Molto buono

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stop by, order a cap at the bar, sit in the green room”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Cafe Pedrochhi is the must see in Padova that can go either of 2 ways. Either you will stop by and enjoy the history, the gorgeous receiving rooms and restaurant, and have a very expensive cap at with very iffy table service, OR, get a cap at the bar and take it into the green room where you are allowed to just sit, enjoy the surroundings and relax. Read your guide book, read up on the fantastic Pedrocchi cafe history and enjoy the sublime surroundings, but don" get sucked in by the great looking restaurant and table service. You can do much better in Padova.
Pedrochhi Isi in the enviable position of being between 2 of the nicest and most interesting squares in Padova, and these and Pedrocchi should not be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank redcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historical caffe in the centre of Padova”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We visited the museum at the Caffe Pedrocchi and learned so much about 19th century Padovan history. The caffe was where the Italian revolutionaries met to plan an unsuccessful attempt to overthrow their Austrian occupiers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Staveley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caffe Pedrocchi is a must!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Must try coffee: caffe Pedrocchi, which is espresso with mint. Don't put sugar on it, the staff would forbid you to do so, since it's already sweet. Heavenly GOOD!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flavenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Pedrocchi also viewed

 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to Caffe Pedrocchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing