We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little things let the hotal down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Hotel had so much potential, but overall we felt let down. Our room was nice, the staff were friendly, and the in house restaurant served good food. The down side was the 24 hours it took to fix a blinking light in the room which meant we could not clearly see clothes in the wardrobe or the safe buttons. Its a non-smoking hotel but guests can smoke on their balconies and seem to use the fire stairs. As a result our room smelt of smoke all the time and it got worse whenever some one was smoking nearby. Finally, if you are looking for a hotel within easy walking distance of the old town, then this is not the hotel for you. We tried walking back from St Antonios and it took more than half an hour.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor with out a balcony if you want to lessen the smell of smoke in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

It is a very good hotel but there are some oddities. On the plus side, reception is welcoming and helpful, the rooms are modern,clean, good sized with a large and comfortable bed. There is plenty of parking and free wifi. Breakfast is substantial and the adjacent restaurant is very good. However, you have ask for tea/coffee making facilities and, also, any further supplies from the bar. Even more strange, there is a €5 charge for the use of the pool and a further €5 for a towel! With these two oddities cleared up, it would be an excellent hotel instead of just very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The room was spacious and had abnormally many wardrobes and shelves. I believe that if someone stayed there for a week or for a months with corresponding amount of clothes, it would be enough place for all the things.
As for the restaurant, we liked it, but I was a bit surprised that they make carpaccio from prosciutto.
The room is equipped with a kitchen with a frig, a microwave, a dishwasher, but it seemed me very strange that there were no plates, no caps, no pans, no spoons-forks - completely nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in April 2013. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are nice, clean, spacious. Our bathroom was great. The only two things that could be improved are that the rooms were too warm for us at night. The ac could not be turned on yet. The breakfast is the same every day and it got boring after 4 mornings. But all in all a good place to stay. it would be nice if you didn't have to pay for the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisablowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed in early July with friends. We had only two nights. Book a family room which was a very good price, and found two rooms with a door between them. Not far from the center. With good equipment of the rooms and everything you need for a pleasant stay. Free parking. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vezirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Staff is nice (other than the fact that they don't have a shuttle service, and they gave me the street address as "Via Venice" when it was really "Via Venezia" and I got very confused when I had to stop and ask passersby -- I walked from the train station -- for directions). There is no coffee maker in the room, but they can provide one if you ask (for no charge). I asked for a German translator (Bwah ha haaa -- long story) and they actually said, "We will have one tomorrow." The room service menu is VERY authentic regional specialties like Octopus carpaccio (14 euros), Puree of dried cod with toasted bread (12 euros) and tortellini with asparagus on a shrimp bisque (14.5 euros) -- honestly, I'm getting hungry just typing this, and as I'm actually IN the hotel at this very moment, I am sorely tempted to order, but there is an added room service fee of 6 euros, so the carpaccio, for example, would end up costing 20 euros, which is something like $30. The room was hot so I asked for help turning on the airconditioner, and they said the airconditioner was only available in the warm months. Which is to say, starting in May. I know this will sound like a whole list of complaints, but the hotel IS really very clean and the staff is very nice and polite and professional.

Room Tip: We had to keep the windows open because the room was so warm; there is a lot of traffic noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed at here in September ,loveley Hotel staff very helpful,rooms spacious and clean ,bathrooms excellent,bar area excellent ,nothing to much trouble for the staff.
Although I only ate breakfast in the hotel this was very good.
10 minutes walk to the train station easy for Venice.
20 minutes walk to the main part of Padua which is worth spending at least two days exploring all the Piazza's and the old Roman ruins,in fact if you are thinking of visiting Venice my suggestion is stay in Padua catch the Train into Venice its quieter and the main town is wonderful,excellent resturants,daytime real markets ,Wednesday is a special night in Padua when all the students come out into the Town for a drink and a party,great fun and no trouble.
easy drive form Traviso Airport takes about 35-40 mins.
mind you keep the Windows closed at night or curtains closed as its close to the canals you will get the odd mosquito paying a visit.
All in all a lovely Hotel ,lovely city and wonderful people I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Padova
0.3 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 45 in Padua
1,846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#4 of 45 in Padua
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,072 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova

Address: Via Venezia 30, 35131, Padua, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Galileo Padova)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range: £63 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Padova Hotel
Galileo Padova Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing