We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, good value but beware of the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Gioia
Ranked #5 of 78 Padua B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great B&B, good value but beware of the location”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

All other reviewers are right: a great accommodation, with good beds, modern bathrooms and a friendly host. But please make sure you understand its location.
This B&B is found north of Padua station, the city centre lies south of the station. This means that getting back from sightseeing or your late night dinner in town, you will have to walk either through the station tunnel and use the backside exit, or you will have to walk across the Arcella pedestrian overpass. Now, these two areas become at night the exclusive domain of a certain special type of street business. This trade I am speaking of requires that men wear at ten o'clock at night, hoods and shades and use macho body language defending their territory. Empty houses, closed shopfronts, shouting, people counting cash bills. (No stereotyping here, but viewers of the TV series The Wire will know what I am talking of.)
The atmosphere smells of imminent threat and is very intimidating.
Women solo travellers, families with children and people of limited mobility should think twice. And so should the Padua city council probably.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metroVeneto, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Gioia, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thanks for your feedback on me and my B&B.
Everytime the areas around each city stations are frequented by many kinds of person. So Padua isn’t different from those cities. For this reason and to increase the security it was created two police stations near the train station. One is located 50 meters from the B&B and the continuous incoming and outcoming by the cynophilist police agents is just a good reason in order to feel more safe, and the other one is in front of the backside exit of the train station, at Via Jacopo d’Avanzo.
The whole area around the station is highly monitored by the cameras and always patrolled by the police and carabinieri cars.
Choose an accommodation nearby the train station of each city represents the convenience to be, once you get off from your train, at the place in a few minutes and by feet without having to take a taxi or a bus.
My B&B Gioia is 250 meters from the train station therefore it takes 3 minutes by feet. It’s 350 meters from the bus station where the shuttle (there’s one that leaves every hour) leave and arrive to the Marco Polo airport (Venice). It’s 150 meters from the metro that runs through Padua from north to south, passing in front of the most important monuments of the city.
You can go by feet to the Scrovegni Chapel and arrive at the city center in 15 minutes by feet. The Basilica of Saint Anthony is 8 minutes by metro.
More comfortable than this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
58
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Most definitely the best B&B I have stayed at on all points.The rooms and the bathroom were great and for me it looked like a home and the breakfast was really nice.Our host Lorenzo and his assistant pooya were kind very friendly, warm and helpful. The location of B&B was great and I had a great time in padova.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shabnam_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Before we arrived we had to change our booking a number of times, and the owner, Lorenzo dealt with us very courteously, patiently and generously.

Throughout our stay he could not have been more helpful, thoughtful, kind and generous, nor a more congenial host. He loves his hometown of Padua with a passion, and is full of suggestions, advice and practical information about places one might visit, what to pay attention to, and how to get to them. If you want to be peaceful and quiet, he will discreetly leave you in peace. But if you want to chat with him, he makes every effort in English, and has good French, as well, of course, as his own Italian. He speaks carefully and clearly in his own language — very useful if, like us, you want to develop your Italian. He is a man of wide-ranging interests and knowledge, and full of enthusiasm for and appreciation of other countries and cultures — especially his visitors’ home areas. He is full of fun — very quickly it becomes like spending time with an old friend, rather than being a paying guest in a B&B.

Lorenzo runs an excellent B&B, with very spacious rooms furnished in a modern Italian style, sparkling and stylish, with plenty of storage, and big comfortable beds. Our bathroom was splendid — roomy, opulent and fun. There's access to wifi and tv in one's own room and in the spacious reception and kitchen/dining areas. Breakfasts are generous, and served in a lovely spacious and stylish kitchen/dining room.

When you arrive, look out for number 10, not 8, in Via Pietro Liberi — the entrance to the B&B is on the side of the building numbered 10, and is, indeed, number 8. If you are disabled — as my partner is — and have an official badge entitling you to special parking facilities within Europe, there is a special parking place a few metres away from the front door. Aside from this, generally, parking seemed to be quite easy.

At this B&B you will find yourselves very close to the major attraction of Padua for many tourists — the wonderful Scrovegni Chapel. And around the corner, just a few minutes' walk away, is an excellent, largely-vegetarian, firmly organic, restaurant — the Osteria del Porta Fuori — for delicious evening meals.

Although on this occasion we did not try to see everywhere around Padua that we might have, because we had to move on, it became clear to us that this B&B is an excellent base for exploring Verona, Vicenza and Venice. We prefer not to have to keep moving from place to place, packing and unpacking, so we can see that this is a B&B in which to base oneselves for a longer period, to benefit from a splendid host, a lovely ambience, excellent location for transport all around, and extremely reasonable prices. We intend to be back at B&B Gioia very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at B&B Gioia for three nights in mid-October 2012. We were arriving by train and had no problem walking from the train station with our wheeled luggage to the B&B. If the host is not at the property, you do need to call, so make sure you have a cell phone with you. The host does not live on the property, but it has a spacious kitchen/dining room and living room for the use of the guests, as well as a computer.

Our bedroom was the Luna and it was terrific--very large and clean and comfortable and stylish. The bathroom was incredible; it had double sinks and a jacuzzi tub and all the finishes and fixtures were high end. The whole space looked like it was from an expensive resort.

Our host, Lorenzo, and his assistant, Puya, were both very warm, personable, and charming. Our one regret is that we had so much to do in the area, we did not have as much time as we would have liked just to visit with them. We found a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room, and on our last night, a beautiful red rose.

We had read on Trip Advisor that the neighborhood looks a little "dicey" but that it was actually quite safe--we had the same experience. We walked the streets both day and night and had no problem at all. A police station is only 2 or 3 doors down the street. The location is close to both the bus, the tram, and the train station, so we had no problem getting around.

If you have a chance, do reserve tickets to see the Scrovegni Chapel and do it in the evening--the day visits are only 15 minutes in the chapel and the evening visits are 20. Spend the extra few dollars to have a "double"--an extra 20 minutes. We were the only ones in our group that had those extra 20 minutes and we were all alone in that gorgeous chapel--a definite highlight of our trip.

We took the train one day to Verona with a stop along the way to see Vicenza. If you have a regional train ticket, you can use the same ticket and save money. We had a great time in those two cities as well as in Padua itself.

We loved our stay and highly recommend this terrific B&B. It is such an easy train trip to so many places, including Venice, and the value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at this wonderful B&B. The room was stylish and comfortable. The private bath was large, modern, and well-equipped. The breakfast each morning was generous and delicious. The location of the Gioia B&B is also good. It is around the corner from a tram stop. Just jump on the tram and you're minutes away from anything you'd like to see in Padova. In addition to all these fine comments about the facility, I would like to add that the owner, Lorenzo, and the young gentleman who works for him on the weekend, Pooya, are among the nicest and most helpful hosts we have ever encountered in all our travels. When we return to Padova, we will return to the Gioia B&B!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortraveler42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

An outstanding B&B well located within minutes of train station. Lorenzo an amazing host who was helpful with suggestions for dining and touring as well as the best gelato we had in Italy.
The rooms and common rooms were spacious and modern and clean. The breakfasts had fresh rolls picked up from the local bakery.

Room Tip: One room has bathroom attached, the other has bathroom right outside door which is not a big inconve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbiava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was a beautiful, clean, spacious, modern B&B.
Lorenzo was an outstanding host. He welcomed us, gave us great touring information.
He very accommodating including and exceptionally helpful when a mild medical situation arose.
He was fun to talk to with his collaborator ( I phone translation app). It was a great location, a few blocks from the train station. It was easily accessible to Venice by a quick train ride.
It was easy to walk to all of Padua including restaurants, university and famous sites.
The three bedrooms were very spacious as was the common area. Two of the bathrooms were in the hallway and one was connected to a room. This was not a problem for us.
We highly recommend this and will return on our next visit to Padua/Venice.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurersVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
1.3 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 46 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Al Cason
Hotel Al Cason
#12 of 46 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#17 of 46 in Padua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
InChiostro
InChiostro
#7 of 78 in Padua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gioia

Property: Bed and Breakfast Gioia
Address: Via Pietro Liberi 10, 35132, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B GIOIA, is one of the best and highest-rated B & B in Padua, the elegance of the environment, the comfort of its 3 bedrooms all with private bathroom and an accessory wellnes, the proximity to the Padua railway station is 250m, to the Bus Station Shuttle for Marco Polo(Venice)is 400m, to Stop(Borgomagno)tram is 200m, making it the best location to enjoy the beauties of Padua and trip to Venice by train as a subway,cause in 30" you'll be in front of the Canal Grande! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Bed And Breakfast
Gioia Hotel Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing