We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fit for a tour-of-Italy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Gioia
Ranked #5 of 75 Padua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Ours and friends´ family stayed here for two days (hopefully we come back for a week sometime) and must say this B+B was truly worth. We appreciated the standard of rooms and bathrooms and the attention of the housemaster. Good location for the city sight-seers

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploreauthentic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast Gioia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We found this wonderful B&B while we were searching an accomodation for the night of Roger Waters' concert in Padoa. We were looking for a B&B near the station, the stadium and the city center; so B&B Gioia was the best solution for us considering its position. I would make a consideration in response to a previous review that was about the safety of the area. After the show I went on foot from the station to the B&B, after midnight, and I didn't have any problem, there weren't dangerous people and everything was normal. I think that the problem that Padoa had Some months ago in terms of security and criminality around the station area is completely solved, the authorities have worked very well and now the entire area is very safe. So I definitly recommend this B&B for the position and for proximity to the station. It's a great solution also for tourists that want to visit Venice, thanks to the station near the B&B where it's possibile to take a train and reach Venice in few time. I stayed in a lot of B&B around the world but I have never found such a kind and helpful host, I'll never forget his help to reach the stadium for the concert, considering the traffic jam I found in the highway.. Without him we couldn't have seen The wall show.. So Thank you again Lorenzo!
Everything in the B&B was perfect. We really appreciated the building, the room, that was really spacious and comfortable, the bathroom, very big, clean and with a wonderful idromassage shower and the tasty breakfast, served in a big and modern kitchen. At B&B Gioia you will find a great attention and care to the details, a great sense of hospitality and a great help to make your stay unforgettable...So Have a nice holiday in Padoa!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here. We had a large group, so we had the whole B & B to ourselves. Lorenzo was a wonderful host and also worked as a "doctor" to my mother on a foot injury. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. So thankful to have stayed here. Best place we stayed on our trip around Europe. Also, was very convenient to the train station.. Another plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monical1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

All other reviewers are right: a great accommodation, with good beds, modern bathrooms and a friendly host. But please make sure you understand its location.
This B&B is found north of Padua station, the city centre lies south of the station. This means that getting back from sightseeing or your late night dinner in town, you will have to walk either through the station tunnel and use the backside exit, or you will have to walk across the Arcella pedestrian overpass. Now, these two areas become at night the exclusive domain of a certain special type of street business. This trade I am speaking of requires that men wear at ten o'clock at night, hoods and shades and use macho body language defending their territory. Empty houses, closed shopfronts, shouting, people counting cash bills. (No stereotyping here, but viewers of the TV series The Wire will know what I am talking of.)
The atmosphere smells of imminent threat and is very intimidating.
Women solo travellers, families with children and people of limited mobility should think twice. And so should the Padua city council probably.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metroVeneto, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Gioia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thanks for your feedback on me and my B&B.
Everytime the areas around each city stations are frequented by many kinds of person. So Padua isn’t different from those cities. For this reason and to increase the security it was created two police stations near the train station. One is located 50 meters from the B&B and the continuous incoming and outcoming by the cynophilist police agents is just a good reason in order to feel more safe, and the other one is in front of the backside exit of the train station, at Via Jacopo d’Avanzo.
The whole area around the station is highly monitored by the cameras and always patrolled by the police and carabinieri cars.
Choose an accommodation nearby the train station of each city represents the convenience to be, once you get off from your train, at the place in a few minutes and by feet without having to take a taxi or a bus.
My B&B Gioia is 250 meters from the train station therefore it takes 3 minutes by feet. It’s 350 meters from the bus station where the shuttle (there’s one that leaves every hour) leave and arrive to the Marco Polo airport (Venice). It’s 150 meters from the metro that runs through Padua from north to south, passing in front of the most important monuments of the city.
You can go by feet to the Scrovegni Chapel and arrive at the city center in 15 minutes by feet. The Basilica of Saint Anthony is 8 minutes by metro.
More comfortable than this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Most definitely the best B&B I have stayed at on all points.The rooms and the bathroom were great and for me it looked like a home and the breakfast was really nice.Our host Lorenzo and his assistant pooya were kind very friendly, warm and helpful. The location of B&B was great and I had a great time in padova.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shabnam_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

Before we arrived we had to change our booking a number of times, and the owner, Lorenzo dealt with us very courteously, patiently and generously.

Throughout our stay he could not have been more helpful, thoughtful, kind and generous, nor a more congenial host. He loves his hometown of Padua with a passion, and is full of suggestions, advice and practical information about places one might visit, what to pay attention to, and how to get to them. If you want to be peaceful and quiet, he will discreetly leave you in peace. But if you want to chat with him, he makes every effort in English, and has good French, as well, of course, as his own Italian. He speaks carefully and clearly in his own language — very useful if, like us, you want to develop your Italian. He is a man of wide-ranging interests and knowledge, and full of enthusiasm for and appreciation of other countries and cultures — especially his visitors’ home areas. He is full of fun — very quickly it becomes like spending time with an old friend, rather than being a paying guest in a B&B.

Lorenzo runs an excellent B&B, with very spacious rooms furnished in a modern Italian style, sparkling and stylish, with plenty of storage, and big comfortable beds. Our bathroom was splendid — roomy, opulent and fun. There's access to wifi and tv in one's own room and in the spacious reception and kitchen/dining areas. Breakfasts are generous, and served in a lovely spacious and stylish kitchen/dining room.

When you arrive, look out for number 10, not 8, in Via Pietro Liberi — the entrance to the B&B is on the side of the building numbered 10, and is, indeed, number 8. If you are disabled — as my partner is — and have an official badge entitling you to special parking facilities within Europe, there is a special parking place a few metres away from the front door. Aside from this, generally, parking seemed to be quite easy.

At this B&B you will find yourselves very close to the major attraction of Padua for many tourists — the wonderful Scrovegni Chapel. And around the corner, just a few minutes' walk away, is an excellent, largely-vegetarian, firmly organic, restaurant — the Osteria del Porta Fuori — for delicious evening meals.

Although on this occasion we did not try to see everywhere around Padua that we might have, because we had to move on, it became clear to us that this B&B is an excellent base for exploring Verona, Vicenza and Venice. We prefer not to have to keep moving from place to place, packing and unpacking, so we can see that this is a B&B in which to base oneselves for a longer period, to benefit from a splendid host, a lovely ambience, excellent location for transport all around, and extremely reasonable prices. We intend to be back at B&B Gioia very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at B&B Gioia for three nights in mid-October 2012. We were arriving by train and had no problem walking from the train station with our wheeled luggage to the B&B. If the host is not at the property, you do need to call, so make sure you have a cell phone with you. The host does not live on the property, but it has a spacious kitchen/dining room and living room for the use of the guests, as well as a computer.

Our bedroom was the Luna and it was terrific--very large and clean and comfortable and stylish. The bathroom was incredible; it had double sinks and a jacuzzi tub and all the finishes and fixtures were high end. The whole space looked like it was from an expensive resort.

Our host, Lorenzo, and his assistant, Puya, were both very warm, personable, and charming. Our one regret is that we had so much to do in the area, we did not have as much time as we would have liked just to visit with them. We found a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room, and on our last night, a beautiful red rose.

We had read on Trip Advisor that the neighborhood looks a little "dicey" but that it was actually quite safe--we had the same experience. We walked the streets both day and night and had no problem at all. A police station is only 2 or 3 doors down the street. The location is close to both the bus, the tram, and the train station, so we had no problem getting around.

If you have a chance, do reserve tickets to see the Scrovegni Chapel and do it in the evening--the day visits are only 15 minutes in the chapel and the evening visits are 20. Spend the extra few dollars to have a "double"--an extra 20 minutes. We were the only ones in our group that had those extra 20 minutes and we were all alone in that gorgeous chapel--a definite highlight of our trip.

We took the train one day to Verona with a stop along the way to see Vicenza. If you have a regional train ticket, you can use the same ticket and save money. We had a great time in those two cities as well as in Padua itself.

We loved our stay and highly recommend this terrific B&B. It is such an easy train trip to so many places, including Venice, and the value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Al Cason
Hotel Al Cason
#13 of 45 in Padua
723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
1.3 mi away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 45 in Padua
996 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#11 of 45 in Padua
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gioia

Address: Via Pietro Liberi 10, 35132, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Padua
Price Range: £66 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B GIOIA, is one of the best and highest-rated B & B in Padua, the elegance of the environment, the comfort of its 3 bedrooms all with private bathroom and an accessory wellnes, the proximity to the Padua railway station is 250m, to the Bus Station Shuttle for Marco Polo(Venice)is 400m, to Stop(Borgomagno)tram is 200m, making it the best location to enjoy the beauties of Padua and trip to Venice by train as a subway,cause in 30" you'll be in front of the Canal Grande! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Padua
Gioia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing