We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some quality features, but a nasty surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel SB Padua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB Padua
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Padua
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some quality features, but a nasty surprise”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked this hotel as a first night in Italy, having flown to Venice and ultimately heading for Lake Garda by car. An ideal location for this: very close to the Autostrata and reasonably easy to find at night.

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant, washed down with a very classy local beer. Top marks for this.

The room was huge and the bed comfortable, and the bathroom at first sight luxurious. However, late at night, we discovered serious problems with the shower. It looked very posh, and offered the choice between water flowing from above, and a hand-held shower on the wall.
In reality it was awful, because:
- the ceiling fixture could produce no more than a trickle
- the water came out of the wall fixture at considerable pressure, but the temperature was more difficult to control than any shower I have ever come across
- the default temperature setting of this contraption was unbelievably, unbearably hot, almost certainly dangerous to children and the elderly, and probably illegal.

It took ten minutes to get the shower to settle on a temperature which was slightly less than scalding. In the morning we had another try, and this time managed to get a more acceptable temperature - though any movement from this produced either extreme heat or cold.

At checkout, we told staff about this (exactly as above) and were told 'We know there are problems with the showers', and offered us sympathy. I have no idea whether they meant all showers, or just the one in our room (Room 517). I have not seen any other similar comments on Trip Advisor, so maybe it's not a general problem, but if it was just our room, and they knew about it, then why did they put us in it?

The appearance of luxury is all very well, but I would have preferred something simpler which actually worked.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numero60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    226
    115
    57
    42
See reviews for
55
157
22
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This is a nice hotel. Rooms are extremely clean, nice showers, nice blow dryer, and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included pastries, eggs, bacon, and fruit. The dining area was nice. The location was inconvenient however. It is a bus ride outside of Padova and the buses are not late night. Free wifi in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel completely if it were more convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The rooms are comfortable - that's it. The service is poor to non-existant. The facilities highly inadequate - for example there is no area set aside for relaxed seating. The breakfast in particular is awful. So, if all you want is a decent night's sleep, fine - otherwise look elsewhere. Poor value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The building is almost breathe taking and is imposing in the neighbourhood. The rooms are nice but not cozy. Breakfast was just okay. The location isn't great for public transportation. We waited for up to 30 minutes to catch the bus to the station. There is free wifi though not accessible in the rooms. Overall it was an okay experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A new hotel with professionalism written all over. A very impressive modern building with new age decor and furniture. Very easily navigable by car; you can see it from the motorway. Rooms spotlessly clean. Free wifi. Lot of common sense with the very courteous administrative staff. I have the horrible experience with MANY European Hotels of paying for 3 adults and landing up with a (small) double bed room with another cot squeezed in; too dificult to protest when you are on a short trip with your family. Here, the hotel was full and they gave us two double bed rooms. A spacious lawn with two swimming pools and lovely array of trees. Excellent view from the windows. My only complaint is the very limited opening hours of the swimming pool (and the health centre). The hotel gives you a feel of perfection, a distinct feel good factor will embrace you. Very convenient for those with their own vehicle. For others, there is a shuttle between the hotel and the city centre.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdebasisbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed three nights to look around Padua - the best kept secret in Italy, in our opinion - and from the very first we were impressed. The building itself is incredible to look at, the atrium amazing, the staff helpful from the check in to check out, via sorting out my mobile phone charger. Breakfast was disappointing, but there is no need to have it when Padua is absolutely full of incredibly cheap coffee shops doing pastries and breakfasts at great prices. The room was far and away the best we have ever stayed in and so what if the tv only has Italian channels - after sightseeing all we wanted to do was collapse anyway! The bed was really comfy and big - important as I have recently dislocated my elbow and like to know I won't get accidentally lain on in the night. All told, brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortbreaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was here for 3 nights for business, the hotel, the staff and the service was excellent. I think their prices which were below a 100 eur per night are also very good. The rooms are clean and spacious (I was given a junior suite on the 8th floor so no complaints there!). The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the train station or a 5 minute bus or car drive on the other hand it is in a quiet area with great views of the city lights. Plus you will love the bathroom :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Padova
AC Hotel Padova
#13 of 50 in Padua
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Padova
B&B Hotel Padova
#15 of 50 in Padua
489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Padova
Ibis Padova
#14 of 50 in Padua
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Padova
Tulip Inn Padova
#23 of 50 in Padua
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Galileo Padova
1.3 mi away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#3 of 50 in Padua
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Padua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Padua

Property: Hotel SB Padua
Address: Via San Marco 11/ A, 35129, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Padua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Padua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4-star hotel located within Padua's prestigious North East Tower. The hotel has been designed to satisfy the needs of all its new guests, with elegant, minimalist surroundings that are at the same time hospitable and comfortable. The brightness and the large spaces in both the lobby and the rooms reflect the hotels essential form. Its 135 rooms consist of: Classic, Superior and Deluxe rooms and Junior and Presidential suites. It has: a bar; the Cristallino Restaurant; a gym; ample external parking; a private covered garage; 7 meeting rooms and free Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Padua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Padova Padua
b4 Padova Hotel Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing