We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The famous mozzarella in a carriage with anchovy”

Osteria dalla Gigia
Ranked #3 of 465 Restaurants in Treviso
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Finger food and sandwiches.
Caserta, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The famous mozzarella in a carriage with anchovy”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The tavern from Gigia doesn't have a retro air of an Inn lived but calls for its famous mozzarella in a carriage with anchovy or with ham. Talk about mozzarella for a casertano is officiate a ritual of buffalo milk mozzarella, the callosities of the fiber, the hint of fresh fodder for months, then a mozzarella in a carriage is giving nobility to a product that tends to dry out, but the Marvel was for combination with anchovy. The salty and gamey marino anchovy gives a hint to this ancient food, unexpected! Less interesting is the version with ham, because frying is not enthused. Instead I was surprised the cedrata, gentle flavour and good accompaniment to bread and bread and bitters, in addition to the usual ombreta and wine goblets Treviso.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    431
    84
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Treviso classic! Mozzarella in carrozza & prosecco!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

When in Treviso, there are three places you need to go to have a early evening aperitivo or a snack / brunch on Saturday morning. Gigia is one of those 3 places. Mozzarella in carrozza and a slice of crunchy freshly baked pizza will make your days they're the best in town (if you stick for half an hour, you'll see at least one pizza and two portions of mozzarella come directly from the kitchen!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GourmandRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place to pop in for a snack and prosecco!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was in Treviso today - I read the reviews. Loved popping in here. Easy and fast. Very reasonably priced. Friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBeeVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The restaurant that everybody should visit”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a very lovely meal. We found it difficult to order from the menu because there were a lot of items to choose from. We chose meat, it was served to our satisfaction.The staff were very polite and they were always ready to help. The most important thing was that they even spoke in english. The price of the meal was very resonable. I recomend this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alf09Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria dalla Gigia also viewed

Treviso, Province of Treviso
Treviso, Province of Treviso
 
Treviso, Province of Treviso
Treviso, Province of Treviso
 

Been to Osteria dalla Gigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing