We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a break”
Review of Ca' del' Galletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' del' Galletto
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Treviso
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We ( 4 brit " young " seniors ) booked this hotel which is located in a residential area through booking.com for our 4 day Venice city break as we did not wish to stay in central Venice and had been told that Treviso was an interesting town.

The reception was extremely efficient and friendly, we were given bus/train timetables for visiting Venice and getting to and from Treviso centre with sound advice on using the transport and about nearby restaurants. The number 55 bus stops right by the Galletto, runs every half hour to Treviso centre / rail station BUT last one back is 8.33pm so be warned. There are no public cab ranks in Treviso but hotels/restaurants will call one for you.Hotel will sell you bus tickets ( 1.20 euro each trip ) which you need to have in advance of using the bus.

Rooms ( superior doubles ) were very spacious, well furnished and comfortable with TV ( only Italian stations ) hairdrier, safe, lots of storage, WiFi. Comfortable beds with nice linen. Bathrooms large and well equipped. Everything was spotlessly clean and efficiently serviced. The hotel was extremely quiet at night, no loud traffic noise or rowdy guests so a good nights sleep was easy. True that the decor is a little dated but it is well maintained. There are no scenic views to enjoy but the exterior space is pleasant enough with some seating. We did not use the sauna, gym or pool.

Breakfast was fine with a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghourts, breads, cold meats, pastries and scrambled eggs.

There is a franchise restaurant and bar attached but not open Sundays, neither are most eateries in Treviso!! Try Il Pina - a ten/fifteen minute walk - on Sundays but get there early. Hotel staff will give you directions or order a cab.

A few tips on staying at Treviso. The town is dead on Mondays, very few shops open. Restaurants are hard to find, I read there are over 150 in the area but we saw only a handful. When training into Venice get to the station in plenty of time as there are always slow queues at the ticket windows ( or use self service machines ). After 9.25am the next train is 11.02 am on weekdays but very frequent after that. Don't believe people who say the Galletto is only a ten minute walk into town - more like 20 minutes to the outer walls so make use of the regular and punctual bus service. Try Ristorante Roberto on Viale Cadorna in the center of Treviso, it is excellent.

Ask the Galletto reception staff if you need any help, they are very pleasant and keen to assist, our return cab to the Marco Polo airport was booked by them, turned up right on time and was 30 euros cheaper than our outward ride from the airport. Taxi trip takes about 30 minutes.

TRAVEL WARNINGS. We were told that the area gets a lot of fog between late October and March which can disrupt air and road travel. Mosquitos can be a problem in the Venice area so take repellent etc.

Overrall the hotel exceeded our expectations and we are quite fussy about quality etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior double which are very large and have spa bath.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobboSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Ca' del' Galletto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank franksstar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is located a couple of kilometers from the city centre, and there is not much to do nearby, but the 55 bus will take you downtown.

We got a superior room even though we only booked a standard, so that was good. The room was ok, and had a whirlpool bath.

There is a small pool in the backyard which was quite nice, and we spent some hours there. Just inside by the pool, there is a small vending machine, which had still water, coke, some local orange drink and beer. It was quite cheap in contrary to the bar which was ridiculously expensive.

As for food, the breakfast was merely ok from a Scandinavian point of view. There was scrambled eggs (which was made from eggs and luckily not powdered eggs) and some small sausages, some cheese and some ham. It all tasted good, but as expected in southern countries, there was mostly sweet stuff for breakfast. The coffee was very good.

Just beside the hotel there is a restaurant for which you get a 10% discount, but beware : the food is both awful and expensive. There are some stickers at front which has the "Michelin" name on them, but that must be the tire, not the famous guide. The meat was like rubbery tires and all else tasted of yesterday's leftovers.
If you walk 10 min. towards the city centre, you'll find a good and much cheaper restaurant at your right hand side. Take it from me and spend your money there instead. :-)

Ps! There was added some surplus on the bill which was not advertised on booking. It wasn't a huge amount, but considering that we chose this hotel for value, it was somewhat annoying. One should perhaps book straight from the hotel's own website.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast was decent, but the place desperately needs a refurbishment and worse of all the staff were really unfriendly and uncooperative. I suggest you try to avoid the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sv87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I think the reviews here do not quite give this place its due.

We stayed here a week and deem it is an excellent place to stay, particularly if you want not just see Venice, but also the Veneto-- Treviso, Padua, Vicenza and the like. It is a great respite after the hustle and bustle of Venice.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast are wonderful. Our room had a turbo bath that we really enjoyed.

There are several restaurants and a pizzeria within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. It is about a 20 minute walk to centre of Treviso. We paid 8-10 euro for a quick ride to the train station, and then half an hour train to the train station Santa Lucia in Venice. No problem.

The staff ordered us a some nice pizzas and a bottle of merlot when the restaurant was closed. One day we had breakfast in our room.

We will be back. Try-- you will like-- this is great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderingCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For a family like ours with two small children the lack of restaurant in a perimeter of 1 km. in a summer time with 37 degrees outside this is big problem.
The rooms are big and nice , the pool and Gym also.
You must go for drink or for eating in the historic centre of Treviso by Bus or by Taxi (20 EUR)
And the last bus is around 21 h.
So have in mind those facts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treviso hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
#2 of 15 in Treviso
666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rovere
Hotel Rovere
#1 of 15 in Treviso
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Locanda da Renzo
Locanda da Renzo
#5 of 15 in Treviso
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#13 of 15 in Treviso
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mezzaluna
Hotel Mezzaluna
#3 of 15 in Treviso
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 15 in Treviso
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del' Galletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del' Galletto

Address: Via Santa Bona Vecchia 30, 31100, Treviso, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Treviso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Treviso
#5 Business Hotel in Treviso
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' del' Galletto 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' del' Galletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Galletto Treviso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing