We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Treviso
Cardiff
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We chose the Continental for our 3 night stay in early July 2010 for a visit to Venice. We had a late flight and as we were travelling with our 10 month old daughter we decided that Treviso was far easier to stay than Venice itself. We always review previous Tripadvisor comments whilst ignoring petty complaints.

We were very pleased with the hotel - great location, good sized, clean and comfortable room, with complimentary (if small) safe and a minibar in the room which we used to chill our daughters food. TV stations had very limited English channels. We had requested a kettle so that we could boil up water to sterilise our baby bottles etc, and this was provided by the friendly and efficient staff. We dont consider it to be 4 star, and didnt expect so - but it was in line with our expectations of being closer to three stars.

Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but that is its character and charm. The breakfast is a bit limited, but no different to any other independent Italian hotel that we have stayed in. Tye shower/bath is a bit awkward to use, but you just adapt by taking a shower sitting down!!
The Breakfast area is quite small given the overall size of the hotel, but to comensate they serve breakfast over some 4 hours until around 11.00am which is great. It was very busy on the Sunday, but they kept bringing out fresh supplies.

As we had a late return flight we enquired about a late check out. We paid €25 for the pleasure which was worth it for the 3 of us to get a bath/shower and be refreshed for our return. Note - if your travellling with Ryanair, then allow plenty of time for your return check-in, especially if you are checking in luggage. Treviso is one of the European hubs and multiple flights can operate at the same time resulting in long slow ques. Ensure that you get to the airport with at least a minimum of 2 hours to spare.

As a base to explore Treviso and Venice and the region it is great - just 5 mins from the town centre, railway and bus stations. Treviso itself is a little quiet, but is a lovely place to explore and walk both inside the old town and around the walls. The place comes alive in the evening with lots of people eating in the main square - Plazza Del Signiori, but we also found a great little place - Pizzeria Da Fausta which is just through the square in a little lane just off Via San Vito. Hige tasty pizzas, reasonable drinks and no hefty service charges.

This was a great stay, at a great price. We will certainly stay here again if/when we return to Treviso.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    166
    153
    88
    35
See reviews for
62
180
49
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

This is a really nice place, that still has character, a good bar, breakfast in your room if you wish - good sized room, nice atmosphere, very well located near the station and the centre of lovely Treviso AND great value - I recommend !!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Arrived here late one night (10:30pm), having just flown in from Liverpool, walked 300 metres from the Bus/Train station, and my hotel was there. The staff were great and very helpful. The room was lovely. Antique furniture, lovely wooden floors, and very clean. The bathroom - you couldn't swing a cat in it, but again it was clean. The breakfast was great - plenty of it and a variety. Good coffee too. Handy to explore Treviso (well worth a quick look before Venice), and great to travel on with the bus and train station so close

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here after being let down by another hotel at the last minute and was much better off. This hotel is walking distance to airport bus, railway station(day trip to Venice) and town centre. The rooms are relatively basis but clean, comfortable and with a decent en-suite. The staff are friendly and were happy to keep the bar open which can be a problem in some hotels. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Treviso is a half hour by train from Venice and I went there to tour the Prosecco wine region and visit WWI battlefields.
I found the Continental on Google Earth and picked it because of location (near train station and old town) and price (E90double/60single). The hotel is a classic old hotel with high ceilings and was very good for my purpose, and is a much more economical alternative than Venice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanamaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

This hotel was supposed to be 4 star yet provides no breakfast and was a much lower standard that the 4 other 3 star hotels I stayed in. Air con didn't work, room was ok but tired, no parking was available other than street parking. Would not recommend this hotel unless fo a quick overnight stay and early depart.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treviso hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

At around 50 euros for a double room, single occupancy, including breakfast, this hotel represented good value. Its location makes it ideal if you are using the train for onward travel to Venice or to Verona. It is definitely a hotel from days gone by but it has character e.g. marble, mirrors and parquet flooring. My room was clean and comfortable and only had a shower but the television was hopeless. If you want all the modern conveniences e.g. Wifi I wouldn't recommend it. Continental breakfast was simple but tasty. Its location also means that the city is within an easy stroll. Overall I enjoyed my brief stay as a single traveller and would take my family.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peoplelikeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treviso hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rovere
Hotel Rovere
#1 of 15 in Treviso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
Hotel Maggior Consiglio
#2 of 15 in Treviso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#13 of 15 in Treviso
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Focolare
Albergo Il Focolare
#6 of 15 in Treviso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Fogher
Hotel Al Fogher
#4 of 15 in Treviso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mezzaluna
Hotel Mezzaluna
#3 of 15 in Treviso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Via Roma 16, 31100, Treviso, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Treviso > Treviso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Treviso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Six-story Hotel in historical center, 300 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Treviso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing