We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Barababao B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barababao B&B
Ranked #68 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

In spite of half an hour wait to check in (no one answered the door bell :), it was perfect!!! Rialto Bridge is less than 5 minutes away, San Marco square is about 15 min. Across the bridge there were nice restaurants with the view. Though the food was ok and quite expensive, nothing can beat the view! And personnel - charming Italian boys, professional Casanovas :)
Breakfast was very basic: coffee and croissant, but tasty. Plus, you shouldn't be overeating on vacation anyway :)
Downstairs from the room there was Barababao restaurant. Menu looked decent, though we didn't have a chance to dine there, it was open only for dinner. Dinners we preferred somewhere else - with a glass of Chianti and handsome Italians :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetainvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in Sept 2011. The room was spotless and bathroom was equally clean. Beds were not the most comfy and breakfast was nothing to shout about really. But the highlight of this hotel was definitely it's location, which is less than 5 minutes walk from Rialto, so it was convenient to everywhere in Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miniGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were told about Barababao in Australia, well the report was right. Great service great food, Luca who owns the gem, was a great host, and the other staff just as good. Every time we had dinner there, it was just as good as the other times. Don't worry about other places, just go and do yourself a favour. and enjoy a meal at Barabao

Room Tip: Walking distance from any Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trotter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Barababao is a family run B&B, with brothers Luca, Simone and their dad running the place. We recently stayed there for 2 nights and found the place to be very homely and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were both very clean with new amenities. The BF downstairs was very convenient, with the Caffe Lattes the highlight of it. We also spent some time chatting with both Luca and Simone and enjoyed the conversation very much. Luca is world traveled and appreciates different cultures very much. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smahadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I couldn't recommend Barababao highly enough. The rooms (just 4, I think) are centrally located and scrupulously clean, and quite inexpensive by Venetian standards. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. I believe the rooms and the adjoining restaurant score so highly because they're run as a genuine family business, by a father and two sons. Next time I come to Venice I'll check the availability of this place before any others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDW_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at this great place for three nights. We loved it. Spotlessly clean rooms and toilets- never seen cleaner ! Staff- non intrusive, friendly and really helpful. The guest house is located in the heart of Cannaregio and is a stone's throw away from the Rialto. Breakfast is basic.
Great value for money.
We would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Great location, breakfast sufficient (ask for yogurt etc as they may not always serve but aim to please). Room is small but squeaky clean and who is in their room all day anyways !!! We only used to the room to sleep after long days out and about sightseeing. Bathroom large compared to other places we stayed throughout Italy...large shower stall enclosure!! Staff are very friendly and accomodating. Location is very close to Rialto Bridge, St Marks etc. yet away from the crowds and noise. We easily walked everywhere. And above all the price is right !! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#140 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 385 in Venice
414 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Lanterna di Marco Polo
Lanterna di Marco Polo
#87 of 476 in Venice
172 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#93 of 476 in Venice
316 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#108 of 476 in Venice
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barababao B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barababao B&B

Address: Cannaregio 5835, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £71 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barababao B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barababao B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barababao Bed And Breakfast
Barababao Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing