We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track but perfect location - beautiful hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Ranked #55 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Truro
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but perfect location - beautiful hotel and staff”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having researched many hotels in Venice through various websites, I always cross check with tripadvisor because on the whole trip advisor travellers are, in my experience always right! This hotel/reviews from fellow travellers did not dissapoint. This was a special trip for my boyfriends 30th birthday so decided against any budget accomodation. The Domina Home is beautiful inside, very boutiquey with lovely rooms and we felt very safe here and walking back in the evening.

If arriving from the airport by waterbus - use the orange line and get off at stop called San Stae.

This was the one part of the trip I hadn't thought about and our map didnt have all the street names - make sure in advance you know on your map where this is. However after buying a new map it was easy to find.

Venice is beautiful however I think on arrival if you don't have a map you could be walking through the streets and over bridges and get totally lost.

The walk from San Stae stop to Domina was about 5 minutes so those travelling with luggage will not walk far. You can buy your ticket for the waterbus at the airport after you have collected your bags. A return ticket we got was 27 euros each. San Stae was the 2nd stop and it took about 40 minutes - Amazing way to enter Venice by boat! You could get private water taxis but these were well over 100 euros!!

The location was perfect being in Santa Croce - I wanted to avoid being in the hub near Rialto as it was beginning of the season and it was swarming with tourists.

This location is perfect because you can either walk pretty much everywhere or at the end of the street to Domina Home - is the vaporetto stop called "Riva De Biasio" which you can hop on and travel down the Grand Canal - there is no ticket office thought at this stop so either buy your tickets before from a shop or walk to a stop where this is ticket office. We were told you could buy on board but there was nowhere doing this. Fines if you havent got a ticket are apparently pretty steep.

Overall lovely, friendly, helpful staff and we had bed and breakfast which lovely - an assortment of breads, cereals, eggs etc - was from 8-10am which meant you didnt need to get up early to catch it!!

A beautiful hotel off the beaten track but yet very central. :) Happy Travels!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    296
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
85
570
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As Venice is pretty small (there are only 60,000 inhabitants in the historic city centre) you are never far from the action! This hotel is tucked away just far enough away from the crowds, but you are only a few minutes from the key attractions, restaurants etc.

Location: Close to the train station / drop off point if you get the bus from the airport - the hotel are kind enough to send directions which you will find hard to understand; but until you know Venice it really is hard to describe the journey - but it is quick! Don't give up hope.

Nearby: we found some great bars / restaurants nearby - but in reality getting to the other districts across the bridges is pretty straightforwards and you are close to the less touristy district of Cannaregio and the local Bacari (bars).

Rooms: The suites are big (certainly for Venice) and modern; you'll be spending most of your time outside anyway. Our room was directly off the breakfast area, which was a bit strange in the morning to emerge to somebody sipping their coffee directly outside your bedroom door. Didn't bother us, but worth checking if you are concerned about this.

Breakfast: Usual buffet affair, pastries etc. nothing special, but nothing offensive.

Wifi: As per other reviews, it really does only work in the reception / breakfast area, but there is plenty of comfortable seating there to use.

Staff: Very friendly and knowledgeable and willing to help with bookings, directions, suggestions etc . the sort of service you would get from a concierge service at a 5 star.

Travel: You can walk pretty much everywhere, but there is a water bus stop about 100 metres away if you are travelling further.

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but all appear to be directly off the breakfast room, so check if you are conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel exceeded all my expectations. It is very centrally located. The main train station is a 5 minutes walk. The main bus stop is also at the same distance. The nearest water bus stop is just 100 meters away.

Service is excellent. The staff is very friendly and the being in a residential area, the surrounding is very quiet at night. Just round the corner (100 to 150 meters away) there are quite a few good restaurants and cafes that are open till late in the night. There is a small store in the same area for other daily needs. There is a public water fountain right in front of the hotel, so one does not have to buy water.

The wifi is excellent. The breakfast is healthy, though has the same menu everyday. The staff gives you very good guidance to tour the city and most of the major attractions are at the most 20 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

I will recommend this to all solo travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamimAkhter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a nice little friendly helpful hotel.

We stayed there fro 3 nights and can say that if we did go back to Venice, we would choose this hotel.

We are a couple in our early 30's and so this review is based on that knowledge.

On arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded to a room on the 2nd floor. This was great as it meant that we were in a bigger room and also away from quite a lot of noise in the morning (the first floor is where they have breakfast)

We were put strangely though in a disabled room. No idea why but it was fine. our windows faced inwards as opposed to into the street and so it was a little dark, but hey, you are in Venice and so don't want to spend much time in the room.

The shower was a little annoying as it had a curtain that went to about 6 inches off the floor, and so water did literally go everywhere, and we had to use the towels to dry it up afterwards.

The room had a small wardrobe and also a safe.

If booking this hotel, I would definitely ask for a room on the 2nd floor or the top floor.

There are no carpets in this hotel and so when people walk on the hard floor you can hear it. We heard the people above us, and also could hear people walking up the stairs. Only a minor things really.

Secondly, as mentioned previously, the first floor is where they turn the 'lounge' into the breakfast room and there were 6 rooms that opened right into this area Quite literally, right into it). Now, there are a couple reasons why this can be annoying.

Firstly, without wanting to be too crude, if you are on a romantic getaway, and are enjoying some 'intimate time' it would be heard and would be quite embarrassing for both parties.

Secondly, unless you are Victoria Beckham, you probably don't leave your room looking perfect, and would take a few seconds to get 'that look'. If you are on this floor though, you don't get that luxury.

Finally, although the clientèle of the hotel are not a bunch of clubbers, in the absence of anything to absorb any sound, I can image that if you wanted a lie in, it would be tough as breakfast could be noisy even with people just generally catting to one another and eating their cereal.

There is internet on this floor, and again, can attract a few people to maybe make a bit of noise.

One thing we found strange was that the hotel hadn't yet turned the A/c on. It was quite warm when we were there, and they just told us that it gets turned on in a couple of weeks time. We were really hot at night, and the one night we did open the windows, we both got eaten alive by mosquitoes and so just slept on the bed as opposed to in it.

The staff were very helpful in suggesting restaurants and places to go.

I don;t necaessarily think that this place is suitable for families (with young kids) or older people mainly due to the distance it is for the 'Main' attractions in Venice. We are both very fit and so didn't mind the walking, but for some, there is a lot and so maybe would want to choose somewhere closer.

The positive of this is that the restaurants near the hotel are a lot cheaper and less busy.

We would definitely go back to this hotel, and on departure, we were told that if we do book with them again then we would receive a 25% discount.

My advise would be to get a decent and detailed map of the area though. We did find ourselves walking around aimlessly one night trying to find the hotel only to later realise that we walked past it thrice!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a young couple we had a terrific stay in this hotel. The staff is really friendly and always ready to help. The location made it ideal for us: quite close to the station and just far enough from the "center" to have a quieter place to stay !

The room was cosy and well decorated with all the ammenities you could ask for your stay. You should be careful when booking though cause the size might be a bit small if you're used to big spaces but this is all detailed carefully in the description for you not to have any bad surprise upon arrival. Anyway, the fun is outside!

The breakfast is outstanding, the choice is not as big as you can sometimes find in other hotels of the same standing but the food is fresh and delicious which is really all that matters! The cappucini are among the top of all the ones we ever tasted in Italy (which is our little game) and the waitress is a real pearl.

We had an amazing stay and would recommend this Hotel to anybody !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ho75tuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful small hotel located in a quiet area and still closed to main attractions. We got upgraded, which is very appreciable (thanks!!!) and our room located on the third floor was lovely. Bed a bit hard though. Staff was very frendly and helpfull. I definltly would stay again, therefore strongly recommend, and i'm picky!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Since hotels are notoriously expensive in Venice, I was surprised to see this little place on my search. It is an old nunnery which has been recently converted into a small hotel. The rooms are spacious - for Europe anyway - with modern plumbing and fixtures. No breakfast facility but really not a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
858 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#43 of 385 in Venice
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#56 of 385 in Venice
2,187 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia

Property: Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Address: Campo Rielo - Santa Croce 1358, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#50 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#64 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ca Zusto Venice is an ancient patrician palace of the fourteenth century in a noble and sophisticated style just a few steps from the Grand Canal. Thanks to the skilful conservative renovation, the building has been restored to its former glory, when Venice was a crossroads between East and West. The result is a boutique hotel, unique and innovative from all points of view: from the comfort of which it disposes to the design of the interiors which reaches its highest expression in the only 22 rooms of the hotel. Each one of them is exclusive and unique. High tech equipments integrate themselves within ancient and aristocratic spaces, creating strong contrasts, the true expressive sign of the whole building. Curtains and brocades, precious bedspreads and the ceilings with ancient beams stand out of different tones of color. Everyone clearly feels the inspiration from Byzantine atmospheres. The service is 4 stars, with great attention to each detail and thought to satisfy every desire, in the name of the Italian hospitality. The Hotel Ca Zusto Venice is a little jewel to be lived and discovered in the historic heart of Vernice. From the "Basilica della Salute" on the Grand Canal to the small canals all around the "Teatro La Fenice" or between Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge, a traditional gondola tour is ideal to appreciate some of the most beautiful settings of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Ca` Zusto Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing