We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on the Lido de Venice!”
Review of Vime Byron

Vime Byron
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vime Byron
Ranked #354 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Venice. We liked it because the price was very reasonable and it's located on the Lido which is much quieter than the city of Venice. We took a water bus to the Lido which worked out fine for us. The Vime Byron doesn't have air conditioning, so it got pretty warm at night -- but we had a fan so it was okay. They have hotel wifi -- but you have to pay for it. Not expensive and worth having in the room. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Vime Byron.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Vime Byron
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I booked Vime Byron Hotel online as it was reasonably priced and the pictures online looked BEAUTIFUL. Unfortunately upon arriving there in person, it was evident that the photos we saw online had been taken about 20 years earlier!

There was no lift so hubby had to lug our heavy suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. The door to our room looked really old and ricketty and required a skeleton key (not a swipe card like most hotels provide). It looked as though the door would crumble if you used to much force.

When we got into our room... the carpet felt like we were walking on a concrete floor as the carpet was very old and worn out. The window was open with no security screen or anything and opposite our window was someone's house (so leaving our valuables in the room was worrying).

The bathroom.... the worst part of all...... it was a shower/bathtub combo but to make matters worse there was only a shower head on one of those extendable shower hose things BUT you were unable to attach the shower head/hose thing on the wall above your head as there was nothing to attach it to??? So me and my husband literally had to stand in the bathhtub with the attachable shower head/hose thing and hold it up and spray ourselves trying to not splash water throughout the bathroom.

Also - the bed was really old and uncomfortable. They did not have anything in English on tv except for some cartoon that looked more like a triple x rated cartoon.

The man at reception was rude and when i phone reception from our hotel room to ask if they had internet wi-fi, the man simply said 'NO' in a really rude and arrogant tone and hung up on me!

not to mention the staff talking about you in Italian right infront of your face and you know what they're saying is offensive.

Worst stay ever... breakfast was horrible.... definately do no recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Vime Byron is the sort of hotel that you dream about. A wonderful 1920's building with a large lounge, huge rooms, immaculate bathrooms, marvellous staff. Opening the shutters to our balcony that overlooks the small front courtyard garden we were overwhelmed with joy at how lovely the place is.

Staying on the Lido itself is a great idea during the summer as it is less crowded and doesn't get as claustrophobic as Venice itself.

Each member of staff at the Byron was helpful, friendly, efficient and charming. A bulb went when I turned on my bedside light. I mentioned it to the desk manager and it was repaired before we got back from supper.
We asked if we could leave our bags on the last day. Off course you can the desk clerk replied, and unlike some hotels there was no charge.

Our room was well equipped with a small fridge ( a thoughtful extra ), hairdryer, bidet, fan, television, electric mosquito killer etc.

And most amazingly breakfast in the wonderful marble floored dining room was included in the very reasonable price. You could pay more than double in Venice itself and get much much less. The journey to Venice itself takes 10 minutes on the waterbus, and waterbuses arrive every five minutes or so.

If you want to journey back in time to a more pleasant, more civil age, you could do a lot worse than spend time at the Byron. The only downside is that one has to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheridan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Let's put it this way...you need a cheap hotel because Venice sights are more important. So you want a clean room with decent facilities, comfy bed and a filling breakfast.

Byron has a comfy bed and little else. The shower is a joke, water is lukewarm at best there are no shower curtains, you mess the whole bathroom up and since the pressure is pathetic, it may take you 30 mins to feel clean. On the whole, although we woke up everyday at 7 AM with the aim to get out quickly, not one day were we able to make it to the star attractions before 10:30. Which means, crowds have built up already and we were wasting too much time standing in queues. And the breakfast spread is pretty basic too...croissants that are not replenished, no fruit, and bread that wasn't fresh.

Not ideal then...

Also, in our 2 week long trip in Europe, we spent roughly similar amount of money in 5-6 places and had great hotels everywhere. So, it wasn't like Byron was an exception price wise.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pobodys_Nerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Although this hotel is on the vaporetti line, it is on an island out in the lagoon, and a 15 minute walk from the vaporetti stop. This takes you away from the charm of Venice and was a disappointment to us. The staff wasn't that friendly and it cost more than any other hotel we stayed in in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Following advises found on the internet I chose a hotel on Lido island, rather than staying on the main Venice island. And I was very happy with my choice. Since connections to the main Venice island are very good, you do not feel secluded in the least, but you pay a lot less for hotel and reataurant meals. I knew I chose a 3star hotel, and as I only stayed for 2 nights, I was not setting high expectations. The hotel was some 5-7 mins walk from vaporetto (waterbus) station, and as the island is not large, we found it without any difficulties - just followed the map. Hotel is some 200m from the beach, at the other side of Lido island. We were given a room on the top floor (I think it was 4 storey building). I was impressed with the view from the room - sea, pinetrees, a couple of Italian style residential houses. The island was very quiet, had a pleasant relaxing slow-pace feeling, compared to the touristy buzz on the main island of Venice. As it was end of march, the weather was still chilly, so we missed the heating in the room fearing it may be cold to sleep at night. However no sooner than we mentioned it to the receptionist, the big electric heater was already radiating warmth in our room!!! Next morning we overslept inclusive breakfast because of the clocks being forwarded 1 hour for summer time, manager understood and offered us to have not only breakfast, but also to keep the room for until we get ready to check out. Amazing staff service! Rooms and bathroom were very clean. What was not entirely for my taste was that furniture looked a little oldish, although I think the hotel was trying to give that antique atmosphere, so my opinion is probably subjective. What other people might moan about are beds – our double bed was not very comfortable to sleep on, it felt not only very hard, but also short. However as we were dead tired after a day’s of exploring, it really had no impact whatsoever on us getting asleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who do not mind having a short walk from the water-bus station (although taxis are always there), and to those who can survive sleeping on a bit hard mattresses.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZivileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
0.0 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#29 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quattro Fontane Hotel
Quattro Fontane Hotel
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vime Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vime Byron

Address: Via Marcantonio Bragadin Lido 30 | Lido di Venezia, 30126 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £69 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing