We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Italian-style tapas (or cichetti)”
Review of Osteria al Portego

Osteria al Portego
Ranked #85 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian, Wine Bar, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Castello
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian-style tapas (or cichetti)”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a great recommendation from our hotel. A bit off the beaten track, but so easy to find once you get there! We loved the delicious Italian-style tapas (or cichetti) which gave us a chance to sample some traditional Venetian flavours - there were probably more locals than tourists when we stood around the counter eating our delicious morsels. Extremely good value for money as we had wine with ours. We will definitely go back next time we're in Venice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellesecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    405
    77
    30
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty snacks or full dinner”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went to this place twice. The first time we stumbled in for a pre-dinner drink and were so taken by the snacks on offer that we stayed for a few rounds of tapas (or cichetti as they are called in Venice). The food going to the small restaurant area looked great so we booked for dinner the next night. We had two excellent pasta dishes and shared a plate of fried seafood. The portions were large so this was more than enough for 2 people. The menu changes on a daily basis, which is always a great sign of a place that only serves fresh food. They seem to be full for dinner every night, so you'll need to call ahead if you want a table. If you want to wander in for a drink and a snack at the bar then there's no need to book. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garreth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were recommended this Osteria by a work colleague, and after using google maps and many twists and turns found ourselves at this bustling little eatery... And what a find! There were many people enjoying aperitivo, loud and good natured bantering all round.We were shown to a table on the proviso we had to be finished by 9, not a problem , as we weren't in the Italian mode of eating late..Our meals were delicious, I had to hold back from using all the bread to mop up the sauce from our mussels, otherwise I wouldn't have had room for my main, a simple yet tasty tagliatelle with truffle, my husband loved his squid ink pasta with cuttlefish This eatery is lively, vibrant with delicious food, whether to dine in or to enjoy small morsels with a drink. Definitely worth a visit when in Venice .
Tip: If you would like to dine later in the evening , bookings are essential as there are limited tables, we saw many people turned away.
.
.
!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank misscandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, Interesting and Delicious”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking to eat like a local this is the spot. Few tourists and no English translation, so you take your chances with your order. Our waitress offered to prepared an antipasti plate for the table and while we are not sure what we ate, it was delicious. The ravioli was delicate and delicious and the lasagna was like no other. The one disappointment was due to the language barrier which resulted in a plate of whole wheat pasta. Somehow that just doesn't seem right in Italy. Our waitress treated us to a plate of warm cookies and sweet wine for dunking to top off our meal. It was a memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLKDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent antipasti selection every day, great meals!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Been twice with my family over 3 days. Really enjoyed the food. Got to pick from wide ramge of antipasti at counter - squid, cuttlefish, mushrooms, fried veggies, etc. Excellent pastas, and very tasty grilled tuna on bed of fresh leaves. Huge serves!! Good value

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RCX993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria al Portego also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria al Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing