We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for budget travellers”
Review of Casa di Sara B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa di Sara B&B
Ranked #226 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for budget travellers”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great rooms at a pretty good location, very quiet, good value for the money. Venice is expensive so do not expect luxury accommodation, but the place has its charm - it's decoration is subtle but very precise, every second you feel that you are in sunny Italy and in a beautiful Venice.
The hostess was very helpful and accommodating and do not hesitate to make an extra step to help their guests: the day of our departure we had to surrender our room by noon, so we packed early and left for a day wandering into the Venice only to get completely soaked and frozen by sudden downpour. Not just the lady let us occupy a temporary available room where we could warm up and change but provided us with hot tea and snacks which completely overturned our misery. Awesome place, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: First-floor room with an entrance through the garden is just a marvel - sitting at a small table by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaboremusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Overall, overpriced, and overrated. We had a double room on the top floor. The bed was pushed against the wall, as the room was so small. The only pieces of furniture was a small chair and tiny table. We booked an ensuite room, but this facility was very poor too, with a sliding door into the toilet half way up the wall, accessible by 2 giant steps that were about 50 cm high. The shower was the accessible by climbing around 60 cm high, and sat at the toilet seat height. The sink sat in the bedroom itself, and encourages mosquitoes . We have around 100 bites. You could hear other residents in their rooms, and the noise of doors opening and closing was enough to wake everyone up. The breakfast was poor, by usual standards, and was boring. There was no facility to obtain a drink other than the one cup of coffee offered with breakfast. The host was absent most of the time, it was not like a usual b&b's. can not fault the cleanliness or the location. But at over 100 euros a night I did expect a better service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigeldavidlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This place was perfect for my wife and I on our honeymoon. It is only one street from a very busy road which we liked because we were off the beaten path a bit but still close to one of the main drags. They served us an adequate breakfast, the same breakfast that is served at every B and B in Italy, and the hotel staff were very friendly. We would certainly stay here again and were satisfied with what we got for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This small B&B has 4 rooms. We got the one on the ground floor. this room was not decorated as nicely as the others, but was definitely the largest. The breakfast was so-so which I didn't care about anyway. The rooms were away from the street past a little garden area. and the price was reasonable.

We were very late in booking a place in Venice and this place is quite adequate for our needs. it was close to the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The place is behind a building so it faces a court yard. The room is big and clean. We had a separate private bathroom but right outside our door. It was ok though may have been more convenient if we had one en suite. We didn't specify though so I'm happy with the place all the same. The breakfast was enough and pleasantly brought to your room if you wish. Earliest possible breakfast time is 9am. The place is near a port and pretty easy to find. The owners were nice to deal with. I'd stay here again and would recommend it in a heartbeat. Thank you Casa Sara!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey/New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at this B&B for Carnivale 2010 and paid 70 euros/night for a single room. The B&B has four rooms: a triple on the first floor, two doubles on the second floor, and a single on the top floor with a double bed. One of doubles on the second floor has a bath attached to the bedroom, while the other room has a bath accessible outside of the room in the hall. When I arrived in Venice, the cheapest single room available with a bath was 229 euros via the hotel clearing agency at the train station. The B&B itself is located in a very quiet location and has a very nice patio on the third floor. Breakfast is served in your room and consists of coffee, juice, a roll and a croissant. The earliest breakfast can be served is 8:30am. While the owner of the B&B prefers cash payment, credit card can be used. The B&B is located on an extremely quiet walk, four minutes from the Zatere vaporetto stop or eight minutes from the Academia stop. The rooms are very clean and well maintained with air conditioning. There is no phone or TV in any of the rooms. The nearest pub/restaurant is a four minute walk. San Marco can be easily reached within a 15 minute walk. Some guests complained that the B&B is difficult to find. This is not the case as the B&B is very close to the San Trovasco church.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJGolfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This b&b stay was one of the highlights of a 40 day excursion through Italy. We spent the better part of a week in Venice, in a flat recommended by Casa di Sara.

The owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome...Sara's a very sweet lady and easy to work with. We showed up about half of our mornings for the breakfast that came with the room, and shared stories with other travelers.

Our flat was perfect and very private, with an amazing view...just after we arrived and settled in, which was on a Sunday, bells began to ring from a distant church tower as if to signal our arrival...a peek out one of the windows revealed them a quarter mile away in plain view...it felt like we were literally on top of Venice overlooking the city below.

The place was very clean, and Sara's main house was immaculate with a main room adorned with antiques that must have been from her travels. We checked out some of the other rooms in the main house, and there's an interesting variety...there's also a rooftop hang with an incredible view, and if you look down you're right on top of one of the main collector channels as boats go by.

Even being adjacent to a semi-busy channel, Sara's is in a quiet neighborhood outside of the bustle of the main Venetian causeways, but situated perfectly between access to the St. Marks /Accademia area and where you catch the boat for the outer islands. It's truly a magical place. When we return someday, we're definitely coming back to stay at Sara's! Highly recommended...one of the highlights and most vivid memories of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JediSushiChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#149 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#224 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#179 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' San Trovaso
Ca' San Trovaso
#56 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Rezzonico
Casa Rezzonico
#103 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Antica Locanda Montin
Antica Locanda Montin
#107 of 469 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Sara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Sara B&B

Property: Casa di Sara B&B
Address: Dorsoduro 1330, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa di Sara B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Sara Hotel Venice
Casa Di Sara Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing