We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden dining almost ideal”

Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino
Reserve with
Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely garden dining almost ideal”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We happened upon this place for dinner and were attracted to the lovely outdoor garden courtyard dining area. It feels very romantic and special. Our waiter was a bit gruff and terse but I would not let that stop you (after all, you don't need to ask him to sit and eat with you). The lasagna was piping hot and delicious and the clams were outstanding. They skimped on the scallops with the gnocchi but the food was otherwise excellent and the tiramisu was terrific.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KDA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    344
    130
    65
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Very nice garden, good food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at Al Giardinetto the day we arrived in Venice - it was recommended by our hotel and we enjoyed it. I had a pasta with crab sauce and kids shared a good carbonara. My husband had a gnocchi that he liked as well. The wine was also very good. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. I think the highlight was a very pretty and peaceful garden away from the hustle and bustle. Very respectable restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivingInWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pasta done right”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant while we were getting lost through Venice and well, we got lucky. Unlike the many restaurants, that are trying to lure you in this place was just the opposite and the only reason why we settled on this place is because someone walking out told us the food was great.

We sat outside which is always nice. The waiter was hard and work and did his best to stay on top of things since he was the only manning the outdoor area.

We had the spaghetti busara and it was perfectly cooked and flavored; delicious! We also had the polenta with cuttlefish entree (secondi) and that too had amazing flavor.

It was a great first meal to have in Venice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLEE0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Delightful place and dishes”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect place set in a quiet garden.
Traditional plates are well prepared, with art, and staff is very friendly. Wine list is nice and fairly priced, my lady pregnant could not deink therefore i had half a bottle of pinot gresio which was simple and very nice. I recommend this place (tiramisu is excellent)

Helpful?
Thank Owidram
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and nice garden atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had a Sunday lunch and enjoyed ourselves. The ambiance in the garden is very nice, although when we first arrived we were seated near a drain that smelled of sewage. Once we changed tables, the smell was less noticeable. We had mussels, a mixed fried seafood dish and caprese salad as starters and enjoyed them all. The macaroni (penne) alla arrabiata was delicious as was the fillet mignon. We found the service to be friendly but were surprised by the cover charge - only 2.50euro per person, but we weren't expecting it. Overall, we enjoyed our meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oesrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Al Giardinetto da Severino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing