We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful base to explore venice. Romantic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ranked #40 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Ruzzini Palace was where we kicked off our honeymoon, and we had a wonderful stay. We took a private water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel entrance (recommended, although pricey). We had booked a deluxe room, but were very kindly upgraded to a junior suite which was wonderful (on the 1st floor, overlooking the piazza), plus a complimentary bottle of bubbles to kick off the honeymoon in style! This was very much appreciated as it made us feel really special.
The hotel is a wonderful mix of historic old features (high ceilings, exposed beams, silk wallpaper, marble floors) and modern touches (great bathroom). The staff were always very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for exploring Venice...close enough to all the major sites but not too close.
The only slightly annoying thing was that there was no iron to borrow, but I think this may be a fire regulation as we had the same issue in Rome.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the piazza rather than the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mr. Josiejo,
Thanking you for your kind article, we are glad that you enjoyed so much your honeymoon with us while in Venice, as far the free room upgrade, the bottle of prosecco etc….As you said and we probably explained you, ironing can be done in our outside lundery at extra cost (as well for wash & dry), but not in the rooms (safety rules). Wishing you’ll be back once more…for another unforgettable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night after flying from Atlanta to Venice (I had that point of perspective because it is a 9+ hour flight). We arranged through the hotel to be met at the airport. The driver took us to a water taxi, them directly to the hotel. Beautiful. They even brought us coffee and orange juice when we arrived. They also happily held our luggage until our room was ready. The hotel is quiet while centrally located--it is easy to walk anywhere from here. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms, and it is quiet and beautiful. Our room overlooked the plaza, which I wasn't too sure about. But, I loves it! I took a nap an awoke to the sounds of some boys playing soccer (Think: "luigi...luigi...." Followed by what I am guessing was "pass the ball to me".) I loved it! Although there is a restaurant and bar in the hotel (I think it is pretty pricey) we are going to pass and go find breakfast in one of the million little shops in Venice. Although I can't hear any noise, I can look out this morning and see the city coming alive--they are setting up a vegetable stand below in the plaza, and men are sweeping. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KansasOnTheLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Kansas,
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy that you appreciated all our efforts, in particular the transfer from the airport to the Hotel (half by car & half by boat). Just a little point out on the Hotel amenities, just to avoid any confusion, we don’t have a restaurant but only a “bar”…and as per many other comments, rather affordable.
We are happy that you liked a lot the special atmosphere of our House. Wishing you’ll be back…Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed two nights in a standard room at Ruzzini Palace which is an old private palace redone to a beautiful quaint hotel. Staff is outstanding. Location is perfect to be just out of the way yet 5-10 min to St Marks and Risk to bridge. Highly recommend this spot. Room rate included a breakfast down in restaurant which was better than we expected with eggs and bacon, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, Danish pastries, amazing coffee. Loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the square are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunForFunLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SunForFun,
We wish to thank you for your time to leave your experience with us while in Venice, we are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast so much. If you’ll be back to Venice….don’t forget us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel in Venice. Im a travel agent and have travelled to many nice hotels in the world. This hotel has a lovely location in a campo in central Venice, a great respite from the busy San Marco and Rialto areas. The hotel itself is lovely, set in an ancient palace with quality rooms. The staff were fantastic and always willing to give expert advice to make the most of the city and in recommending some great local resturants. They arranged a private boat trip around Venice for us, which was fantastic, an amazing way to see this beautiful city from the water. Would thoroughly recommend. Prices in the hotel bar for Venice are very reasonable with great Prosecco for only 3 Euros. Overall an excellent experience, Good central location without being noisy, Very attractive rooms and very friendly welcoming staff. Will certainly be recommending to any of my clients who wish to visit Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr. worldtrav,
We wish to thank you for your kind and professional words for our Hotel and staff. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have been wanting to visit Venice for years and after a great deal of investigating reviews chose the Ruzzini Palace and so pleased we did. The hotel arranged a private transfer from the airport which was 140 euros for the four of is. We exited the airport our names were on a board. We were driven to a waterway where we had a private water taxi take us directly to the hotel reception. I had read horror stories of people wandering round pulling their suitcases and struggling to find their hotel. Venice is a maze. Beautiful and the best bit is getting lost but not when carrying your suitcase up and down the stairs of the numerous bridges. Back to the hotel, we just booked a standard room and had a room in the loft. With beautiful oak beams and a very comfortable bed. The room was small but adequate. The bath has a jacuzzi but sadly this was out of order and if you are 6ft you would not be able to stand under the shower. But a beautiful bathroom and well equipped. The staff were all very helpful and their restaurant recommendations were all very nice. They also kindly arranged a 1 hour private boat tour of Venice and I would thoroughly recommend this. However book this in advance as there are certain times that part of the grand canal is closed. We booked a walking your that included a gondala ride but there are six to a gondola which I felt was a bit crowded so if something you wanted to do as a romantic ride best to book your own. The tour was about an hour and a half and did not cover the main parts of Venice but some interesting areas off the beaten track so look up the details which I did not! I can recommend the Island tours that visits 3 Islands. Murano, berano and torcello. However there are water buses that go to all of these. Murano glass is cheaper in the shops away from the factories. Berano is famous for lace and before my visit only went as it was part of the trip but somewhere I would like to visit again. All the houses are painted different colours and would have liked more than 50 mins to explore. There is not much on torcello and I personally could have missed the visit to the monastery but it depends on your personal taste. We also got off the tour on the way back on the island of lido. About a 15 minute water taxi from Venice. If you are visiting Venice on a budget or want somewhere quieter I would recommend staying on Lido. Food and drink was very reasonable and it has a lovely beach. You can purchase a water taxi pass for 3 to 4 days for about 35 euros and visit Venice as often as you like. Venice is beautiful and the Ruzzini palace is approx 10 minutes from the Rialto bridge and st marks square so if you want to stay in Venice itself it is a perfect location for exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear KaronA,
Thank you very much for your kind and very detailed review. We are glad that our assistance helped you a lot and that you appreciated in particular the transfer on arrival and the boat ride, both arranged from our concierge@ruzzinipalace.com
Hoping to welcome you once in our Palace, we thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week and loved it. We had reserved a Jr. Suite and and they upgraded us (without us even asking) to the "Suite del Paradiso" at no charge. The room was huge and had a great view over the small canal behind the hotel.

Location is only a 5 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and 10 minutes to St. Mark's Square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr. MikeC,
As we already said, “if possible” (depending on the season and upon room availability) we arrance for room upgrades…for our Guests…and, when possible, it’s always well accepted. Wishing you’ll be back…Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful rooms with great views. Central but still hidden from the Tourist trail. Breakfast had a good choice, but extra costs for having fried eggs... Highly recommed the Hotel and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRuzzini, Direttore at Ruzzini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear R24_10,
We thank you for your nice review and happy that you appreciated our position (compared to the city center) so much! As far as extras (apart from the buffet, please consider that included you have scrambled eggs and boiled) they’re charged apart because made expressly…Wishing you’ll join us back! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#71 of 385 in Venice
1,032 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,474 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 385 in Venice
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruzzini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruzzini Palace Hotel

Address: Castello 5866, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Business Hotel in Venice
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £87 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruzzini Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ruzzini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruzzini Palace Venice
Hotel Ruzzini Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing