We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel dell'Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel dell'Opera
Ranked #125 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this hotel and were really impressed with the quality, location, breakfast and comfort. At the end of a 5 week holiday it was really easy to get to with the instructions provided by the hotel staff. The staff helped with our every need and were more than accommodating for finalizing transfers and showing us what to see. The room was small for our family of 4 but consistemt with other hotels ams fittings/decor excellent with beds comfortable - a great place to rest whilst your taking in Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjencait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We decided on a whim to stay a couple of nights in Venice during our recent vacation. The options that we had in a reasonable price range were very limited, but we found the dell'Opera and couldn't have been happier with it. Our room was located with the window facing the canal and you can hear the gondoliers singing, which can be a neat experience or very annoying depending on your view. Every employee we encountered was very helpful and friendly.

It's very close to St. Marks. It's location is very central, so we didn't feel like we were very far from any place we wanted to go to.

Now, Venice is a labyrinth and I noticed that many of the reviews I read stated that this was a difficult place to find, and honestly they were right. It's not the hotel's fault, it's just how the city is, it also doesn't help that street names change very quickly and you think you're on one street but then you're on a different one. So, let me try to help you out with some directions:

If you are taking a water taxi or water shuttle in, once you get off, turn left, and walk over a small bridge, you will come to a wall that won't really allow you to continue to walk straight, turn right. Follow this alley all the way to the top until you reach a cross section (the Omega store will be right in front of you, the street is called "Soto portego e calle dei preti), turn left. Follow this over a large bridge and continue until you see a store on your right called "Franco Dell'Orto" (the street name on the wall is "Calle del sartor da veste) there is even a blue sign on the ground at the alley entrance that says "Martini Night Club" , turn right down the alley and follow this, you will go over a small bridge and see the restaurant "Vino Vino", take a quick left crossing in front of the restaurant. The entrance to the hotel will be about 15 feet down on your right (a canal is on your left). Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammerguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Venice! Have stayed in this hotel before in 2009 with my brother but also checked trip advisor!! We were very happy and surprised that we were given the same room that I had stayed at previously as it has a side balcony with table and chairs and looks directly onto canal were you can watch the gondolas go by!! The hotel is located very close to St marks square and it's easy to find ur way around with a bit of a help from the map! Hotel staff are really great and we were given a bottle of champagne.. Maybe because I had stayed there before. Bed was comfortable but maybe pillows could be renewed! The staff also helped us as my husbands bag was temporarily lost by airline.. So tip to always put some extra top etc in your carryon:) there are also plenty of places to eat around!! I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again! Gracie to the staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groove011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Very near St Marks square but away from the heavy tourist traffic.
Stayed one night and the room though on the small side was clean, well equipped and had a small terrace over looking the canal . Breakfast was excellent in choice and quality and liked the roof top terrace with honesty bar.
The highlight here is without doubt the SERVICE

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Came as one of a group of five with business at the Biennale. Large first-floor rooms with good modern facilities and canal-side view. Staff knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Very close to the Fenice opera. No restaurant but good wine bistro adjoins. Sometimes difficult to eat together at breakfast because of cramped space. Good choice of buffet items but would like either fried eggs or self-operated egg boiler (as in most hotels). Good value in a prime location. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our first visit to Venice and we carefully selected our hotel to fit our budget and give us the central Venice location we desired and wanted. A hotel on a small canal with a room overlooking the gondolas that pass by. This Property was perfect.

We arrived by water taxi straight to the door of the hotel which was fabulous. Checkin was painless and efficient.

We specifically booked a room with a view over the canal. When we made the booking the reservations clerk was very helpful and informed me the room with a balcony was booked but the room next door had large windows with a view. WOW and a great view it was. The room was very large a triple and was finished to a high standard. The bathroom was well fitted although a little on the small side. No Iron and Ironing board in the room due to fire regulations but pressing can be sent out.

All The receptionist were very friendly and knowlegable on Venice and answered all our questions and pointed us in the right direction of all the sights, restaurants, and shops we wanted to visit.

Breakfast was very pleasant and perfectly adequate to set us on our way for the day. The breakfast staff were also extremely polite and courteous.

Well done to everyone. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Canal are a must do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just checked out this morning, this Hotel has to be one of the nicest weve stayed in ever. Staff lovely, rooms lovely, right on a quiet canal, close to San Marco Square and lots of restaurants and shops, at the same time very quietly situated. Dont hesitate to stay here

Room Tip: Room 303 was great, only 3 rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#274 of 385 in Venice
151 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 385 in Venice
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#54 of 385 in Venice
965 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 385 in Venice
629 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#43 of 385 in Venice
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dell'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dell'Opera

Address: San Marco 2009, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#76 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £67 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dell'Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel dell'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dell Opera Hotel Venice
Hotel Dell Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing