We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel in Quiet Part of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #52 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel was modern and really nice in this ancient city of Venice. It might look off far in Venice when looking at the map, but is a 15-20 min vaporetto ride away (the station is like less than 5 mins walk). Its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Venice. The hotel recommended a nice family restaurant with in walking distance that had amazing lasagna. There was a lush American-style breakfast buffet included in our price every morning, which was delicious and great. They serve delicious fruit, lattes and espressos - your choice!

The only negative is as some other reviewers mentioned, the front desk staff is not friendly - so just expect that and the experience will be fine. We used free wifi in public areas.

It was our 2nd trip to Venice, and you can do a really nice walk to St. Marco's Square from the hotel - very enjoyable. Last time we stayed in Lido, and I would recommend staying at Sant' Elena instead!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We really enjoyed the location of our hotel near the Sant' Elena vaporetto stop. It was away from the manic crowds, located in a peaceful tree lined residential area of Venice in very easy 10 minute reach by vaporetto to San Marco or Lido island. 
On arrival at the hotel we were pleasantly greeted, staff spoke reasonable English, they checked us in, gave us a map and explained local area. There are only a couple of cafes in the neighbourhood which are not really restaurants but ideal quick eats or coffee stop.
Our bags were taken to our room and we were allocated an Executive room facing the street near the hotel entrance. Not much to see but colourful residential terraces. We perhaps would of preferred a room facing the internal hotel garden but either way we loved the fact the hotel seemed calm and quite. 
Our room was modern, fabulous marble twin sinked bathroom (didn't even get this at the Hilton), fairly spacious living area with glass sliding wardrobe and sofa bed which was useful but not comfy (it had a couple of holes which would be nice if they attended to this matter!!)

I thought the hotel was reasonable value for money for Venice but two gripes were very hard pillows (I never got the chance to ask if the had softer ones) and insufficient AC!! We cranked it up and set it to lowest temperature 17 degrees but the room never really got cool, I think partly to the fact that it shut down when we left the room due to their energy saving room key system (we couldn't even leave equipment charging while out) It was 30 degrees outside during our stay and we missed coming back to a chilled room. At night it was fairly sticky and we partly slept without covers!

Overall the hotel was immaculately clean and we always came back to a fresh smelling room, sure they pumped some scent into the air.
Breakfast is their highlight, decent continental buffet selection including tasty hot scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. They love their cakes here for breakfast, not usefully what I eat first thing but delicious. Big mixed fruit bowl was topped up and espresso coffees were on request. Orange juice from concentrate and hot tea water on a hot plate was not the best.
When on holiday we like to get out early and explore but it was nice to know they serve breakfast till 11am as we did sleep late one morning. 
We were pleased with our stay at Sant' Elena, tidy building, staff were smiley and helpful when needed (not always experienced this with Italian staff). I think the location is a bonus as its straight forward getting here from the airport. Just take the blue alilugunna to Lido then one stop on the vaporetto to Sant' Elena.
During the stay we occasionally liked walking the tree and park lined waterfront towards San Marco (takes 30 mins on foot) but alternatively the vaporetto just takes 10-15mins. It's so easy to get around on this slick waterbus system. Also don't miss a trip to Lido island for reasonable lunch or dinner. This island appears to be more for locals therefore cafes are more friendly, quieter and food reasonable. The free beach is great to top up on the tan, refresh and relax but it mearly serves a purpose, not beach paradise but nice way to spend a late afternoon. The sunbeds are a rip off at almost 35 euros for a pair so I object to giving them this money so we survived sharing the grey sand on towels with locals.... aways intriguing people watching!! 
Venice always pulls us back and the more little back canal gems you can discover, the more enjoyable the holiday! Sant' Elena Hotel is worth a visit, we booked direct on their website and thought prices were reasonable for this standard. I just may need to take my feather down pillow next time :-)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jetboys360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I recommend their own website - www.hotelsantelena.com because they have very good offers there. The hotel is lovely, in a very quiet neighborhood just 8-10 min walk on the promenade to San Marco. They also have a free boat every morning to Murano. Very good breakfast, nice rooms, very well equipped, helpful staff. One night we found champagne waiting in our room. :) I'm very glad a good friend of mine recommended me this hotel. I'll definitely stay there next time I'll be visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ionut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel is a very good choice, located in beautiful side of Venice , very quiet location just few minutes from crowded San marco! Very good breakfast and very helpful place! Yes, I will visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatzi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel.

Positives: good price for the quality offered; very fast internet in the room; nice bathroom, big mirrors, good sized beds. 3 min walk from the pier, friendly staff, ok choice of drinks in minibar.
Negatives: far from the city centre, breakfast is quite average.

Would recommend for a short stay or as a last minute choice, if struggling founding accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaElyasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescoLaPietra, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Ann from London

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us on TripAdvisor website your experience at our hotel. We are sure that any comments, either positive or negative, from our clients are important to improve the quality of our hotel.

It is very strange that you did not appreciate our breakfast service: as you can read from the other reviews on TripAdvisor website, breakfast service is one of our strengths and lots of guests from United Kingdom really appreciate it.

Anyway we will take your comment into great consideration in order to improve it and to better serve our guests’ lodging needs.

Yours sincerely

Francesco La Pietra
Customer Care Supervisor
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Sant’Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

If you don't want to be in the middle of the bustling tourist area of Venice with its late night revellers, then this is the place. The hotel is in a quiet area, nothing really going on close by but that's alright. You can either stroll over to St Mark's square or take the vaporetto boat. The stop is very close by. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The staff are helpful and when we left an adaptor behind they sent it on for us. After one walk we went over to the water bus, which is convenient and fast. Venice is a fascinating city, history, music, shopping of all kinds. One thing we noticed too late - there is a free 10 am boat to the Murano island with all the glassware shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We only stayed one night at the Hotel Sant'Elena but we wish we had stayed longer. It was a very nice hotel, with really friendly staff and a great breakfast. The hotel is in a residential area of Venice and next to the Biennial Gardens so it's really quiet. Its just a short water taxi ride (Vaporetto) to St Marks Square or the Lido beaches. It was always easy to get a vaporetto whereas if you stayed near St Marks Square the lines were extremely long. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
2,300 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#72 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £72 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic boutique hotel owes its secluded ambiance to the former convent in which it is housed and of which it still retains much of the original structure: the high walls and the imposing façade conceal unexpected gems such as the impressive spiral staircase and the amazing garden furnished with comfortable chaise-lounges. Venice, with its historic center and beautiful architecture, can be reached with a pleasant stroll along Riva degli Schiavoni, or in just a few minutes by waterbus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing