We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a lovely green part of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #60 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in a lovely green part of Venice”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We staid in the hotel for 4 nights. The room was very nice and clean. Friendly staff and a good (continental breakfast). Ideally located just 3 stops with the Vaporette (just 2 minutes walk from the hotel) from San Marco square. Had a lovely time here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    550
    94
    25
    8
See reviews for
304
841
36
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel which is a two minute walk from the vaporetto stop. This is a good hotel which is very quietly situated far away from the crowds of down town Venice. We booked a junior suite which was small in our opion, but okay. We had a little French balcony but It was difficult to close our floor to ceiling curtains so I was awake by the light in the morning. No problem, we were on holiday!! The bathroom was quite smallish but clean. The cleaning ladies twice forgot to put plastic bag in the litterbin. The buffet breakfast was for Italian standards quite extensive and good. A special compliment for the kind and informTive staff of the reception. We will come back when we return to Venice because of the quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed for four nights over Easter.

There are two great things here. The location and the rooms.

The location on Sant Elena gives you lots of opportunities for nice walks to the center, but it is not too far. It also works as a nice retreat if you want some distance once in a while to the bustle of the touristic center. It is very close to a vaporetto station and getting in there always gave us nice seats for the vaporetto tour through the grand canal.

The room was also very nice. Not too small with a nice modern design that seems hard to find in Venice.

The hotel restaurant was ok as a fallback but there are many better ones if you walk a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel was wonderful- it was away from the crazy San Marco Square and very easily accessible by vaporetto in a quiet friendly neighborhood. We loved the location and the room, although on the smaller side was newly renovated, clean, and well stocked with toiletries. The service at the hotel was phenomenal and everyone was very helpful. The price was very reasonable expecially considering the fact that they had the most amazing breakfast included in the rate!! The breakfast was a full on spread of every breakfast and brunch food you can imagine including desserts, cold cuts, juices, cereals, cheeses, drinks and many others. Great hotel- highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1bug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Very helpful desk staff, good quiet room and easy access to central Venice. Able to open windows at night to provide ventilated room. Delicious breakfast with good coffee on order. When we had problems accessing local bridge to pick up taxi the receptionist accompanied me to pick up point and ensured we met the taxi in alternative place, extremely helpful. Overall, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0cky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suluu
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel was modern and really nice in this ancient city of Venice. It might look off far in Venice when looking at the map, but is a 15-20 min vaporetto ride away (the station is like less than 5 mins walk). Its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Venice. The hotel recommended a nice family restaurant with in walking distance that had amazing lasagna. There was a lush American-style breakfast buffet included in our price every morning, which was delicious and great. They serve delicious fruit, lattes and espressos - your choice!

The only negative is as some other reviewers mentioned, the front desk staff is not friendly - so just expect that and the experience will be fine. We used free wifi in public areas.

It was our 2nd trip to Venice, and you can do a really nice walk to St. Marco's Square from the hotel - very enjoyable. Last time we stayed in Lido, and I would recommend staying at Sant' Elena instead!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We really enjoyed the location of our hotel near the Sant' Elena vaporetto stop. It was away from the manic crowds, located in a peaceful tree lined residential area of Venice in very easy 10 minute reach by vaporetto to San Marco or Lido island. 
On arrival at the hotel we were pleasantly greeted, staff spoke reasonable English, they checked us in, gave us a map and explained local area. There are only a couple of cafes in the neighbourhood which are not really restaurants but ideal quick eats or coffee stop.
Our bags were taken to our room and we were allocated an Executive room facing the street near the hotel entrance. Not much to see but colourful residential terraces. We perhaps would of preferred a room facing the internal hotel garden but either way we loved the fact the hotel seemed calm and quite. 
Our room was modern, fabulous marble twin sinked bathroom (didn't even get this at the Hilton), fairly spacious living area with glass sliding wardrobe and sofa bed which was useful but not comfy (it had a couple of holes which would be nice if they attended to this matter!!)

I thought the hotel was reasonable value for money for Venice but two gripes were very hard pillows (I never got the chance to ask if the had softer ones) and insufficient AC!! We cranked it up and set it to lowest temperature 17 degrees but the room never really got cool, I think partly to the fact that it shut down when we left the room due to their energy saving room key system (we couldn't even leave equipment charging while out) It was 30 degrees outside during our stay and we missed coming back to a chilled room. At night it was fairly sticky and we partly slept without covers!

Overall the hotel was immaculately clean and we always came back to a fresh smelling room, sure they pumped some scent into the air.
Breakfast is their highlight, decent continental buffet selection including tasty hot scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. They love their cakes here for breakfast, not usefully what I eat first thing but delicious. Big mixed fruit bowl was topped up and espresso coffees were on request. Orange juice from concentrate and hot tea water on a hot plate was not the best.
When on holiday we like to get out early and explore but it was nice to know they serve breakfast till 11am as we did sleep late one morning. 
We were pleased with our stay at Sant' Elena, tidy building, staff were smiley and helpful when needed (not always experienced this with Italian staff). I think the location is a bonus as its straight forward getting here from the airport. Just take the blue alilugunna to Lido then one stop on the vaporetto to Sant' Elena.
During the stay we occasionally liked walking the tree and park lined waterfront towards San Marco (takes 30 mins on foot) but alternatively the vaporetto just takes 10-15mins. It's so easy to get around on this slick waterbus system. Also don't miss a trip to Lido island for reasonable lunch or dinner. This island appears to be more for locals therefore cafes are more friendly, quieter and food reasonable. The free beach is great to top up on the tan, refresh and relax but it mearly serves a purpose, not beach paradise but nice way to spend a late afternoon. The sunbeds are a rip off at almost 35 euros for a pair so I object to giving them this money so we survived sharing the grey sand on towels with locals.... aways intriguing people watching!! 
Venice always pulls us back and the more little back canal gems you can discover, the more enjoyable the holiday! Sant' Elena Hotel is worth a visit, we booked direct on their website and thought prices were reasonable for this standard. I just may need to take my feather down pillow next time :-)

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetboys360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 386 in Venice
2,085 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 386 in Venice
2,309 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 386 in Venice
1,555 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#42 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Family Hotel in Venice
#73 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing