We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Nearby Hotels
US$866
US$497
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,203
US$938
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$340
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$333
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
US$1,191
US$1,095
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$950
US$646
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$365
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveller rating
960
584
100
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
584
100
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssant elenavaporetto stopminute walkwater busconverted conventresidential areaquiet locationjunior suiteday passcentral venicehotel is locatedsan marcost markslovely hotelpastriesst mark's squarethe hustle and bustle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have stayed already 9 times in the Sant Elena hotel and we highly recommend it. It really starts to feel as our second home, as we don't even have to mention our names anymore at the check in ;-). The staff is very helpful (also at your first stay) and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast has a lot of variety (fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cheese, lots of cakes, ...). There now also seems to be - free - wifi in the rooms (although I'm not sure if that's in all the rooms or if we were lucky that we were close to the router). We usually have dinner in the city center or in one of the 2 restaurants closeby (mainly locals, no tourists), but have now finally tried the hotel restaurant and we liked it a lot. The pasta was excellent and the main dishes were also very good. We'll certainly eat there again in the future.

The hotel is in a quiet area of Venice, so you are away of all the crowds of tourists. We always walk everywhere in Venice and almost never take a vaporetto, so the walk to the hotel from the center doesn't bother us (it's approx 20-30 minutes next to canal grande). However, if you're tired or don't like to walk too much, you can easily take the vaporetto. It is only a few stops from the hotel to San Marco. If you plan to go to the Bienale, than the hotel is perfectly located as it is next to Giardini.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Once again - Five Stars for this Four Star Hotel.

Our SEVENTH year at the Hotel Sant’Elena was just as enjoyable as our previous six consecutive years there. Once again, we upgraded to a Junior Suite at very reasonable cost and enjoyed our 7-night stay even more. Exceptionally good value and service as always.

We enjoyed all of the same things we enjoyed during our previous 6 trips - the food is fine and plentiful, the rooms very comfortable and beautifully air conditioned, the beds and bed linen are superb, the cleanliness is impeccable, and, being in the only green area of the island, it's fresh, clean and very peaceful. A former convent, the hotel has a large enclosed lawned garden which is ideal for peaceful relaxation, sunbathing and breakfast.

The hotel is literally only 200 metres from the vaporetto (waterbus) stop on the edge of the Venice lagoon – absolutely ideal when arriving and departing. You’ll see plenty of distressed travellers during your visit trying to cope with lugging their heavy baggage around for an hour or two on foot at the start and end of their holiday in the heat of the mid-day sun....

The vaporetto runs every ten minutes, and will take you to St. Mark's Square in just 10 minutes (*don't forget to buy your multi-day pass for the vaporetto at the airport on arrival - unlimited walk on / walk off trips. A great way to end the day is to go to the vaporetto terminal and enjoy a 40-minute vaporetto trip the whole length of the Grand Canal*). Or, if you feel like stretching your legs, St. Mark's is only a 20 minute leisurely stroll away along the lagoon edge, passing the Bienniale Gardens and the Arsenale / Maritime Museum (both extremely worthwhile attractions) – a beautiful stroll at sunset. In the opposite direction, the vaporetto will take you from Sant’Elena to the Lido in just one stop for a day lounging on the beach.

We are seasoned travellers (I'm an artist / photographer) and we’re quite demanding when it comes to service and value for money. We also believe that good service should be rewarded by recommendation, and a number of our friends have taken our advice and stayed at the Sant'Elena. All have been delighted that the hotel was as good as we said it would be. Great hotel, great location, great service and very good value.

We saw a mosquito there in 2007 – the only bad thing we can say about this hotel.

We’ll be there again in 2013 for our 8th. stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had seven young adults stay here in early January. We had three different rooms. They let us check in before 10:00 AM in the morning at no extra charge. All were clean and comfy. The concierge was very helpful with all aspects of our stay. The FULL European breakfast was outstanding. Highly recommended. Please note, I gave this hotel an "Excellent" because it is far away from the tourist scene - which gets old very quickly in Venice.

If you're arriving by airport with a group, I would highly recommend getting a water taxi at the airport. You should be able to negotiate the price down. Tell them the hotel and they'll drop you off so that you only have a one minute walk to the front door. On the way back to the airport, we had the concierge schedule a pick up for us and paid €120 for the seven of us. If you use the train station, you have about a 1 hour 25 minute walk through crowded streets and over bridges. This might be fine for a young couple, but not for a medium to large group.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed at different Best Western in Rome, Florence, Mestre,Venice within a 2 week period and the best stay was at Sant Elena, Venice.
A modern and luxurious hotel.
In a quiet location and a nice 3mins walk across a small park to the Vaporetto station. After walking around in Venice for the day, its is nice to be back in a quiet location without the crowd.
Breakfast spread was good and nice.

The best was the friendly hotel staff service. Staff provided good information around Venice and competent. Best Western membership status are recognised in this property. Also had some issues with a purchase at Murano and the hotel reception gladly assisted to call and talk to the shop owner in italian. Again, friendly and helpful hotel reception.

Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Sant Elena is one of the least touristy neighborhoods in Venice, but close enough that a 15 minute stroll along the lagoon or down some of the avenues quickly put you right in the middle of the tourist areas. It's nice to actually see locals hanging out in the park, having a coffee at the cafes, at a much slower pace than the crowds at st. Mark's. The hotel itself is surprisingly modern, almost spartan, but comfortable and well staffed. it was often the stopping spot for large tour groups who occasionally dominated the breakfast area to make their departures on time, but if you're patient they quickly dissipate. Also very convenient to the vaporetto stops for the times when you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TA_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews