We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm in busy Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Ranked #48 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had the privilege of staying here for our first wedding anniversary. We chose the Sant Elena because it was away from the hubbub of st mark's square. However, given the size of the Island the hotel was about a 20 minute walk away. From sant elena we were able to get a water bus (5 mins) to the Lido and also a water bus direct to Murano.

A former nunnery, the hotel is situated just outside a gorgeous local park and a 10 minute walk from the gardini biennale so this made for relaxing surroundings.

Our room was clean and very much in italian modern design so a little bit soulless but the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was ok, not as amazing as people have made out a limited selection but the pastries were amazing - the highlight was being able to eat breakfast alfresco in the courtyard where I also noted the had villa style rooms available. The staff were friendly and efficient.

For a short break we would definitely stay here again. If you like to be away from the melee of tourists and tourist traps (and in Venice it's hard to do this!) this is a great hotel to stay!

Oh and extra tip- there's a cool family run restaurant just 2 mins away from the hotel that serve great authentic pizza!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. The room was lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The food was lovely, especially the breakfast with lots of choice. The hotel staff where very friendly and gave us a map of the island. About a 25 minute stroll into St Marks Square and the views from the walk we're beautiful. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TPMH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was easy to book this hotel on the web whilst we were actually in Italy. We didnt know whether we would have time to get there (Venice) so had not pre-booked.
We had paid a deposit for the room via Visa although received a call on the way that our card didnt go through correctly. That caused us concern since we then thought we would have to start looking for accommodation however, they were nice enough to retain our room until we arrived to fix it up.
Initially I was skeptical on the location being away from the main centre but I was pleasantly surprised. The parkland was a contrast to the crowds of the city & there is a nice canal behind the hotel which was very pretty at sunset & early morning.
We ended up having dinner at a restaurant next to the Ponte Di Rialto and took the vaporetto back at night which was a nice experience. Dont let the position put you off. It was easy and a good night tour on the boat at the same time.
The room was quiet, clean, well appointed and a good size (for a hotel in Venice!) with free Wi Fi.
The staff were very helpful with directions and we had a good breakfast in the morning. Dont forget to check the toast though. If you leave it on, it will be a burning cinder when you remember!
The only downside would probably be if it was raining since it is a 5-10 minute walk with suitcases from the vaporetto stop with no cover through the park & Street. We were there on some nice days though and had no issue. It would be approx 30 Min walk to the centre.
We will definitely stay here next time.

Room Tip: Probably 3 floors or higher "should" have some sort of a view. Some face inwards though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ace1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location is really nice. A quick 5-10minute vaporetto ride to St Marks Square. It's very quiet and tranquil in St Elana, a real change from the hustle and bustle of the touristy parts of Venice. The hotel is nice, it looks great as soon as you walk in, and the room is very comfortable too. My problem with this hotel is the customer services which is pretty poor and the fact that they advertise as a 4star hotel but don't have what I would think are basic amenities.

The customer service was the biggest disappointment. There were a number of issues, which I wont bore you with, but the most frustrating was the shower. The shower head in our room was broken. Water was still coming out, but it was seeping down one side so the pressure was really bad. We told the front desk that evening and it felt like we have to beg them to look at the shower head. They finally agreed that instead of changing it immediately (like any other hotel would do) they would look at it to see if we were right. Presumably this means they thought we either didn't understand how to work their shower, or we were just lying!! When we came back to the hotel we were told they looked at it and it was fine. We had to bring someone back to the room to show them that it was broken. The next morning we had to chase again to get it fixed. 3 requests to get a cheap shower head changed - should it really take that long?!

Overall none of this ruined our stay in Venice, but after a 10day tour across North Italy it was disappointing that the hotel did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Z0E_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescoLaPietra, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

it is a pleasure for us you decided to share with us and with the TripAdvisor community your stay at our BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Sant’Elena. The feedback of our customers is always very appreciated by our management.

First of all, we are happy to know you enjoyed the area where the hotel is located, rich in green parks and at only few minutes from St Marcks Square.

We are very sorry if our staff did not meet your needs and we hope you could accept our most sincere apology. Without doubt, this was a misunderstanding because we are sure they did not want to be disrespectful towards you. It often happens indeed that due to the mechanism by which the shower works, our guests don’t know how to make it works.

Thank you for choosing our BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Sant’Elena: we will continue to do our best to be worthy of your selection.

Kind regards,

Francesco La Pietra
Qualità e Controllo di Gestione
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Sant’Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I found this modest but modern hotel quietly situated near several gardens. Local children play in parks nearby but out of hearing distance. Best breakfast buffet from Paris to Venice, with ample coffee that appeals to the international clientele of this hotel. Follow the hotel's guidelines for catching the right water taxi and you'll do fine. Very good dinner, as well as afternoon aperitifs. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. Bath and bed were much larger than in any of the other French and Italian hotels we stayed in. The entire room was very inviting and refreshing to return to, and absolutely no dust anywhere. Building was once a convent, and maintains the historical character. We were not far from good restaurants and from the city center. We walked everywhere except took water bus for arrival/departure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank WilliamMcLellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Fort Worth, Texas
92
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July, 2014. When we first arrived, we were surprised because the location seemed remote from the rest of Venice, being at the end of the island. We soon realized the wonderfully quiet and green setting was perfect to return to at the end of a busy day. By water ferry, it is but a few stops to St. Marks Square. It is also easy to visit Murano from this location. We enjoyed walking through the park between the ferry and the hotel; breakfast was very good with excellent service. The courtyard is a quiet place to enjoy a late afternoon refreshment! Finally, the room is comfortable, attractive, and roomy.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was quiet and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 388 in Venice
2,192 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#53 of 388 in Venice
2,373 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 388 in Venice
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#77 of 388 in Venice
1,958 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 388 in Venice
3,954 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 388 in Venice
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena

Address: Calle Buccari 10 | Sant'Elena, 30132 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#72 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £80 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic boutique hotel owes its secluded ambiance to the former convent in which it is housed and of which it still retains much of the original structure: the high walls and the imposing façade conceal unexpected gems such as the impressive spiral staircase and the amazing garden furnished with comfortable chaise-lounges. Venice, with its historic center and beautiful architecture, can be reached with a pleasant stroll along Riva degli Schiavoni, or in just a few minutes by waterbus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing