We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Ale Do Marie

Ale Do Marie
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Ale Do Marie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #745 of 1,450 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$18 - US$47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Found this restaurant on the first night and had a great pizza then following nights ate in other places nearer st marcs square but we where not impressed so for the last night decided to find this restaurant again and we where not disapointed we had the food recomended by the waiter a lovely starter and then the sea bass pasta dish which was outstanding and then a very nice desert of tiramisu all at a very reasonable price and with friendly service both proved to be a rare thing in the rest of venice. well worth the short walk away from the tourist attractions

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clivewoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    22
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be careful: a big chance to miss your flight...”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

attention – this is a place for those who are at home here!
it is not located in the briskest tourist street, and that is what makes it such a lovely venue
a cozy interior, impressive shelves with alcohol drinks, an excellent chief cook and a cordial host
unbelievable cuisine is worthy of respect

just like any other self-respecting osteria, it is closed from two to seven
according to the menu, you must taste pasta with octopi and the ink of cuttlefish
an excellent grill range of the sea gifts – three kinds of fish, royal prawns
what is important is huge portions, you may order one plate and share it with confidence for two or three, etc.
as of drinks, vino casa was terrific – a decanter of wonderful light white wine (1L)
totally EUR 10

for afters, you should try a delicious tiramisu with genuine whipped cream, the best in Venice!

and maybe, if you make friends with Mr. Carlo (a host who is virtually always there), perhaps, he will give you a ride on his boat or, for instance, and treat you with lemonchello. Be careful: it is so nice here and time flies so fast that you have a big chance to miss your flight)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iuliia_julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Out of the way osteria specializing in fish”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We went here with friends and enjoyed polenta with lagoon shrimp and grilled fresh fish and our friend had seppia along with house white wine and our meal was delicious. No frills just good food. The service was good and music a bit loud but they turned it down to allow conversation. Not much on ambience and in a quiet section of the city on the corner not far from Campo Santa Maria Formosa. Moderately priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarnivalGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and great service.”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Hard to find but worth the effort. Friendly patron will let you know what you want to eat and you will not regret following his suggestions. Excellent prosecco, great fish dishes, very good dessert. I'm definitely coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golonghornsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hideaway”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been here at a half dozen times. Last night, we ordered what we thought was meatballs (polpetta), but instead we got octopus (polpetti). The wife is not particularly fond of the octopus so I manned up and ate it all. Very filling.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ekchelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ale Do Marie also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ale Do Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing