We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, shame about the pizza”
Review of Ale Do Marie

Ale Do Marie
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Ale Do Marie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #702 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$17 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
Dublin
Level Contributor
594 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Nice people, shame about the pizza”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Ale Do Marie is located on a small side street and doesn't appear much from the outside. We dropped in as we were hungry and there wasn't much else in the vicinity. Pizza seemed like a good idea for lunch and so four were ordered, all of which arrived with some local wine in a reasonable time. Unfortunately the pizza was a tad disappointing as the crusts were stodgy and heavy. On the upside, the people here are friendly and welcoming, which made the poor pizza even more disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    22
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just getting lost in Venice and got hungry for lunch. Looked busy so we wandered in. Restaurant was full and could not seat us for one hour. Told us up front and we said we would be back in the hour. When we returned they took us immediately. The pizza was wonderful if you are a thin crust fan(which I am) but the piece de resistance was a sea bass ravioli which was over the top. It's on my list for the next return visit to Venice. Service was very good, no complaint

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Venicefever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had the Steak for Two. Perfectly cooked and seasoned. Wine in Caraffe (Tocai) was crisp and lightly fizzy. Dessert impressive (Tiramisu). Really enjoyed the ambience and service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never ever again”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

poor service, impertinent waiter, lack of choice of cibo indicated on the menu. Very sad experience and a great disappointment as we were expecting a lovely, friendly restaurant frequesnted mainly by locals, thouhg something must be very wrong here as it was completely empy on a busy Saturday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liagalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best place to loose clients”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Once upon a time, or just a mere two years ago there was a great restaurant in Castello, the Ale Do Marie where the owner greeted the dear guests, waiters were polite, smiling and delicious food served for an absolutely reasonabe price. Now, we returned, hoping to have the same memorable experience. Well, the experience was memorable but the other way round. Though the restaurant was empty, we were not let to sit where we would have liked, the black shirt guy behaved arrogantly as doing a favour just by talking to a guest. The once delicious pizza was mid quality and much smaller by size than it used to be. While house wine -a usual possibility served by glass or by caraffa in restaurants all around in Italy- was indicated on the menu, but was definitely refused to serve, forcing the guests to order wine by bottle (at a price three time over that of the house wine's). And neither nice, polite request nor claim had any effect, we got just a shrug off and a "get out" of look. No wonder the restaurant was empty on Saturday at the mid of lunch time!!! Sad to note how a great place can fail just by "client hating and cheating" attitude. Absolutely negative experience !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalomaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ale Do Marie also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ale Do Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing