We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the seafood risotto”

Trattoria Giorgione
Ranked #487 of 1,424 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Try the seafood risotto”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of a local and enjoyed it so much we came back a second time.

A majority of restaurants in Venice are solely geared to tourists, this restaurant is a little different. Although there were tourists in the restaurant there was also a healthy number of locals.

The food was from the Venetian and everything we ordered was fresh and tasty. Recommended dishes include white polenta with, pasta with squid ink and the seafood risotto was outstanding.

Prices were very reasonable and the service is competent and unpretentious. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    142
    70
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A good, safe bet in a city with lots of restaurants”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

There might be confusion as the sign on the restaurant calls this Trattoria Giorgione but the menu reads Ristorante Giorgione. Either way we enjoyed our dinner. We started with gnocchi and followed with sea bass / sea bream. They were very obliging in taking the fish off the bone for me, though they didn’t remove all of them. Despite being busy, the two staff were cheerful and sufficiently attentive. And part way through our meal the man, who we assume is the owner, picked up a guitar and sang some songs about Venice. A bit on the expensive side (2 starters, 2 fish, a salad, a small bottle of beer and a spritz €80).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent all round experience and great food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We found the restaurant by accident but are very glad we did - delicious first course (spaghetti with clams), house wine is ok, nothing special, but mixed fried fish main course was really nice. This was the 'tourist menu' at €15.50 - would recommend this place if you're in the area

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevinc8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
294 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice, authentic and friendly trattoria”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were staying at the hotel Bucintoro around the corner and they recommended this place to us one night as it was unfortunately raining and we didn't want to walk far to eat. We had a nice night here, the atmosphere was friendly and laid back and the food was decent for the relatively cheap prices. We had basic Italian fare, salads, pizza, pasta and lasagne, all tasty, the bread was good and the baskets were kept topped up through the night. The wine list was reasonably priced, we had a couple of bottles around the 25 euro mark, some decent beers here too, suppose you can't go too wrong with a beer in Italy though. The place is nothing that is going to win any awards but I enjoyed the experience and would recommend for people if they want a relatively cheap night in a good atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful authentic food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

far from the madding crowd, in a popular Venetian sestiere, the Trattoria Giorgione is a great address if you want the food real Venetians eat. The location is out of the normal touristic routes, and the place has a basic feel, but the food is exactly the opposite: we had the most amazing pasta with granseola and fish, and a super-delicious torta alle mandorle, so fragrant and fresh and tasty! Really recommended for people who do not like touristic menus and want an authentic food in an authentic setting. We'll be back next time we visit Venice, for sure.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Giorgione also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Giorgione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing