We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need for a few nights in beautiful Venice”
Review of Alloggi Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alloggi Serena
Ranked #202 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have never used a B&B on a city break before but the pictures of the Serena had a certain appeal. Having only visited Venice before on day trips we decided the only way to see it properly was to go and stay for a few nights, and it is the best way to "do" Venice! The Serena is in the quiet, less touristy sestiere (district) of Santa Croce which has a laid-back, local atmosphere and is considerably cheaper to eat and drink after a hard days sightseeing. It is only about 10 mins walk from the bus station at Piazzale Roma and the train station across the canal (there's a bridge so no need for the vaporetto). There is a vaporetto stop close by and the Rialto area is also 10-15 mins walk. You can stroll to San Marco in 20 minutes with plenty of distractions along the way, so location-wise I'd say its spot-on. Our room, to be honest, was not what we were expecting, being small and dark and on the ground floor but it had a comfy bed, a tv, minibar (which you can also put your own food and drink in) and our private bathroom across the hall was spacious and spotless. We found we were making the bed ourselves during our 3 night stay but had this been a big issue I would have mentioned it to the owners. Caeser, the owner, and his wife were very sweet and helpful and speak reasonable english. Breakfast was typical continental fare, bread, jams, fruit, somedays salami or yoghurt and good, strong coffee. I'd say it's all you need really for a few nights in Venice as you will be out and about most of the time. Its a good base for exploring the parts of the city you'd never normally see. Its not difficult to find once you get your bearings (familiarise yourself with the districts and landmarks before you go!!) and even late at night we felt safe in the little backstreets. The Serena is converted from an old Venetian house so its pretty quaint, it doesn't have many rooms but I'd say, if you can, try booking a superior room. Value-wise it was fine for what we wanted and yes, we would probably use it again if we re-visit Venice!

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you can, we didn't!!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nativeoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Alloggi Serena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed at the Rooms Serena B&B for 2 nights in May. The B&B is located in the Santa Croce area of Venice and is accessible via the vaporetti or by walking from the main Venice station (I would recommend walking if you don't have a lot of luggage; it took us about 10 minutes to walk from the station and there is sign posted that says "Rooms Serena" as you near the hotel). Location-wise it is good and most attractions are within walking distance (its Venice; everything is within walking distance). The disappointing part of our stay was that although are room was supposed to be with a private bathroom (en suite) and we did get one (on the ground level), it was actually located across the hallway (which is also the lobby and breakfast area). There are only 2 or 3 other rooms (on the upper floors) and the host lives upstairs. The room itself was pretty basic and did not have A/C (did have a wall-mounted TV); however, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was decent (croissant, fruits, and coffee). The host (I think her name was Miranda) spoke very little English (it was okay for us as I had learned some basic Italian before our trip). However, she is very friendly and even made me a special fruit salad (as I was unwell with a bad allergy attack) as well as afternoon coffee. Overall, considering that it was Venice, it was a fair deal for the price (90 Euros/night).

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarethcolapinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quarto Acolhedor e atendimento acolhedor
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PedroMGCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#188 of 384 in Venice
366 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#179 of 384 in Venice
300 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#178 of 471 in Venice
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' Spezier
Ca' Spezier
#297 of 471 in Venice
27 reviews
Cannaregio
Angeles Inn
Angeles Inn
#66 of 471 in Venice
197 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Ca' Corner
Residenza Ca' Corner
#63 of 225 in Venice
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Serena

Address: Santa Croce 1340 | Corte della Cazza, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alloggi Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Serena Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing