We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, friendly, authentic”
Review of Alloggi Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alloggi Serena
Ranked #176 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Egham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly, authentic”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We spent three nights at Alloggi Serena and enjoyed our stay. If you are expecting glamour and sparkle you won't get it here (and will pay a good bit more for it somewhere else), but here you will get a simple, authentic experience - a friendly welcome from Sergio and Serena, a nice room, a comfortable bed and a simple fresh breakfast prepared by Serena in their own kitchen, all for a good price, which is all you need if you're going to be out and about all day. It is in a quiet area of Venice but well-placed, a walkable distance from the main train station and five minutes from the vaporetto. There are also some lovely restaurants on the canals nearby (eg La Zucca, Trattoria al Ponte di Megio), great for when you want to drop off your shopping and eat late after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights for just under $100/night. We almost skipped Venice altogether due to the high cost of hotels so were glad to find this one. Its perfectly adequate, we had the room with a private bath outside the room and it was fine, knowing that in advance. Breakfast was "just ok" with coffee, bread, jam, yogurt, meat, and cheese. All items were "just ok". I've stayed in other hotels in Italy with the same items on the breakfast menu and they were better quality all around.

The trickiest thing about the hotel is finding it. But I think all of Venice is like this. If possible have someone from the hotel come and meet you at the train station. You do not need to take a vaporetto to the hotel as its only one stop away, unless you have a lot to carry. Its only a 10 minute walk, but its a maze - as is all of Venice. I can't tell you how many times we saw people pull out maps, walk a certain way, and then return. Maps are only so-so in helping as many of the street names aren't on a map or even on the streets!

I would probably stay there again as it was a good price and in a good area.

Room Tip: There's no lift. Room on the main floor has a private bath outside the room. Street is quiet, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotusland_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night and were happy with our stay. The room was small but clean. The bathroom was detached but we knew that when booking, it was not shared though which is good. The complimentary breakfast was nice, bread, croissants, yogurt, coffee/tea. Good location. Also, be aware they do not take cards and dont have change so bring exact euro to pay. Very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellogs1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a nice stay at this hostel. We booked a double room with shared bathroom through hostelworld.com. When we came to the hostel we got a nice and cosy double room at the bottom floor and to our surprise we also got a private bathroom. The private bathroom lied in front of our double room so we had to cross the hall to go there but that wasn't any problem. The italian lady who served us was really kind and helpful. She helped us with all the questions we had and she also made the breakfast in the morning (and the coffee was really good). The breakfast itself was simple but good enough. Beside that the hostel also had a great location. It was near to everything in Venice but it was located in a more quite part with less tourists so it wasn't noisy. A really good hostel for the low price you pay.

The only thing that we had a problem with was finding the hostel the first time but it's because Venice is like a labyrinth without a logical system of street numbers. If you have google map or a detailed map it can help you a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitstable
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have never used a B&B on a city break before but the pictures of the Serena had a certain appeal. Having only visited Venice before on day trips we decided the only way to see it properly was to go and stay for a few nights, and it is the best way to "do" Venice! The Serena is in the quiet, less touristy sestiere (district) of Santa Croce which has a laid-back, local atmosphere and is considerably cheaper to eat and drink after a hard days sightseeing. It is only about 10 mins walk from the bus station at Piazzale Roma and the train station across the canal (there's a bridge so no need for the vaporetto). There is a vaporetto stop close by and the Rialto area is also 10-15 mins walk. You can stroll to San Marco in 20 minutes with plenty of distractions along the way, so location-wise I'd say its spot-on. Our room, to be honest, was not what we were expecting, being small and dark and on the ground floor but it had a comfy bed, a tv, minibar (which you can also put your own food and drink in) and our private bathroom across the hall was spacious and spotless. We found we were making the bed ourselves during our 3 night stay but had this been a big issue I would have mentioned it to the owners. Caeser, the owner, and his wife were very sweet and helpful and speak reasonable english. Breakfast was typical continental fare, bread, jams, fruit, somedays salami or yoghurt and good, strong coffee. I'd say it's all you need really for a few nights in Venice as you will be out and about most of the time. Its a good base for exploring the parts of the city you'd never normally see. Its not difficult to find once you get your bearings (familiarise yourself with the districts and landmarks before you go!!) and even late at night we felt safe in the little backstreets. The Serena is converted from an old Venetian house so its pretty quaint, it doesn't have many rooms but I'd say, if you can, try booking a superior room. Value-wise it was fine for what we wanted and yes, we would probably use it again if we re-visit Venice!

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you can, we didn't!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nativeoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed at the Rooms Serena B&B for 2 nights in May. The B&B is located in the Santa Croce area of Venice and is accessible via the vaporetti or by walking from the main Venice station (I would recommend walking if you don't have a lot of luggage; it took us about 10 minutes to walk from the station and there is sign posted that says "Rooms Serena" as you near the hotel). Location-wise it is good and most attractions are within walking distance (its Venice; everything is within walking distance). The disappointing part of our stay was that although are room was supposed to be with a private bathroom (en suite) and we did get one (on the ground level), it was actually located across the hallway (which is also the lobby and breakfast area). There are only 2 or 3 other rooms (on the upper floors) and the host lives upstairs. The room itself was pretty basic and did not have A/C (did have a wall-mounted TV); however, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was decent (croissant, fruits, and coffee). The host (I think her name was Miranda) spoke very little English (it was okay for us as I had learned some basic Italian before our trip). However, she is very friendly and even made me a special fruit salad (as I was unwell with a bad allergy attack) as well as afternoon coffee. Overall, considering that it was Venice, it was a fair deal for the price (90 Euros/night).

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#185 of 457 in Venice
38 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#238 of 457 in Venice
99 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#95 of 457 in Venice
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Hotel Casa Boccassini
#209 of 457 in Venice
146 reviews
Santa Croce
Casanova ai Tolentini
Casanova ai Tolentini
#189 of 457 in Venice
301 reviews
Castello
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
#121 of 457 in Venice
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Serena

Property: Alloggi Serena
Address: Santa Croce 1340 | Corte della Cazza, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Alloggi Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Serena Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing