We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Barba Apartment

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ca' Barba Apartment
Ranked #268 of 385 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the end of May 2013. Excellent location, very nice apt. with a lot of character.. Great pastry shop below apt. Alessandro met us near the train station as promised. Gave us Venice info and an introduction into Venetian culture. He recommended 4 restaurants 5 min from Apt. we ate at 3 of them and they were excellent. He lent us a book, Venice is a Fish, which was a perfect introduction to Venice. This was first time we used airbnb and it was excellent experience thanks to Alessandro. We highly recommend this apt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donatello b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, we were 2 couples but room for more. Very spacious and well equipped including wi-fi and a nini pool table! In an excellent location, it is near some great restaurants and bars not too near the really busy parts but not too far away either. It snowed whilst we were there and the appartment was well heated and welcoming after a day of exploring. As previously mentioned the owner Alessandro, is very helpful and full of great ideas and advice. You couldn't ask for more!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sooziedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I booked this apartment for 3 nights for a mixed group of 6 dragonboater paddlers participating in the 2012 Vogalonga event. It is conveniently located in walking distance to the train station, coach station, and the Rialto Bridge.

The apartment had a spacious living room for our group to socialise - it felt really large as you entered, and had lots of seating with a corner sofa. The rooms had magnificent views of the interesting Venetian rooftops and skyline.

Most impressive of all was the high quality of service and communication from the apartment owner. I was given information on where to meet, how to get to the meeting place, and a mobile number to call on arrival at the airport. The owner was then able to meet my group at the coach station in Venice.

He was also kind enough to help locate another apartment I had booked for the rest of my dragonboat team. I would definitely recommend this aprtment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family and I stayed for 4 days at this appartment in Dorsoduro a very quiet, secure and nice area in the heart of Venice. We enjoyed it very much, it was a big surprise to us when we entered the appartment, very spacious and clean and above all .....every room was air conditioned....very appreciated when there were temperatures around 40 (over100F), we fell right away at home...also due to Alessandro the owner....what a nice person...he gave us great insider tips about where to eat and places to visit, he was never present at the appartment (that makes us feel like it was our place!!) but he was always available if we needed him and that gave us a safe feeling!! Thank you Alessandro!!!

This appartment is furnished with lovely pieces of antique, six people can easily stay at this place without getting on each other nerves. I will recommend this place to any one visiting Venice for a couple of days or for a longer stay!!!
The owner also has a Bed and Breakfast near the Rialto Bridge.....also very nice and romantic rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Alessandro was absolutely all we could have hoped for as he provided exactly what we needed and was available to be called upon s hould the need arise, w hich it didn't. All a good sign since that meant there were no problems at all. We appreciated the cleanliness, spaciousness, and character of the apartment and especially the aroma of freshly baked pastries each morning from the bakery below. The apartment is located in a quiet but central location which we enjoyed enormously! I would recommend this apartment to both family and friends alike.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shauna105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Ca' Barba B&B for seven nights in December 2011. My husband became ill and we were not able to travel on to Rome, as we planned, so Alessandro, the B&B owner, rented us this three-bedroom apartment in Dorsoduro. The apartment was huge, beautiful, and extremely clean, large enough for five people (six if one person sleeps on a foldout foam chair), and we felt like royalty as we had all that space to ourselves. The views from the upstairs bedroom were lovely.

The kitchen and bathrooms have not been updated recently but they were well equipped with everything we needed. Unlike the previous reviewer, we did not have any problems with the water pressure or the hot water supply. The upstairs shower was a bit variable in temperature, but not uncomfortably so. There are a lot of stairs both up to the apartment and within the apartment itself, so this would not be a good rental for anyone who has trouble with stairs. The previous reviewer mentioned the dark stairwells in the building. We noticed those too, but once we located the somewhat obscure light switches we had no trouble. The television works well -- not that you go to Venice to watch television, but I like to watch the news to practice my Italian.

The apartment location is perfect, very close to a sizable (for Venice) Co-op supermarket as well as restaurants, an internet bar, and, right next door to the apartment, what Alessandro assured us was the best pastry shop in Venice. (He was right.) There was no internet access in the apartment when we stayed there, but we found that the bar's internet access extended to the apartment, so no problem! The Frari church and the nearby Scuola Grande di San Rocco contain unbelievable masterpieces of art and are worth multiple visits. We loved the not-as-touristy neighborhood and especially enjoyed strolling and stopping for a pre-dinner drink as the Venetians do. It was an easy walk to to the vaporetto stop and to a number of other lovely campi and churches.

Alessandro is a gracious host and did everything possible to make us comfortable. He checked on us by email to make sure everything was OK, and we also had his mobile phone number and the B&B phone number in case we had any problems. We loved this apartment and would not hesitate to rent it again the next time we are in Venice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in apartment Ca' Barba. Alessandro was attentive upon our arrival, but we did not see him again after that first day. But, we had his phone number if we needed him. The apartment is about a 20 minute walk from the train/bus station and is in the Dorsoduro District, central to everything. It is a very safe and quiet area with shops of all sorts just outside the apartment downstairs door. There are three bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a large living room on the upper floors of a building. The apartment could comfortably accommodate 5 or more persons. It is very secure, behind 3 locked doors, though the neighborhood is very quiet and safe. The kitchen is small, but has sufficient pots, pans, dishes, and glasses, a medium refrigerator, stove and range. The air conditioning had been off for 8 days prior to our arrival, so it was uncomfortably warm and took about 8 hrs for the apt to cool. After that, the ac worked fine to make it comfortable. Good views from the upper bedroom. Everything was clean and no odors. Hot water was an issue, as the water heater only supplied a short supply of hot water at a time; insufficient for even one shower. So, mostly cold showers were taken. The upstairs shower head needed replacement and the flow was only a dribble at best, so we used the downstairs bathroom for bathing. The lighting was sufficient, though not bright in any areas of the apartment. There are two flights of steep steps to reach the apt, and it is dark in the stairwells even during the day. And, in the apt itself, there are steps up to the lower and upper bedrooms and to the lower bathroom. This was tricky for us at night visiting the bathroom, being unfamiliar with the layout. But, it is a nice property and would serve a larger group very well. For our group of 3, it was a luxurious space. A larger group would also divide the expense better than a smaller group, as it is mid-priced. We had a good experience and were comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milonguero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#130 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#328 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#194 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#163 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#98 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#117 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Barba Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Barba Apartment

Property: Ca' Barba Apartment
Address: Dorsoduro 3763, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ca' Barba Apartment is arranged on two floors: on the first floor, there is a large comfortable and elegant lounge and Murano glass light-fittings, a traditional kitchen with 19th century furniture and beamed ceiling, a bathroom, a double bedroom and a study, which can also sleep two people.On the floor above, the second double bedroom boasts splendid views of the Frari Church and San Rocco; there is a second bathroom here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing