We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SINA Centurion Palace
Ranked #54 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed four nights at the Centurion Palace last week and although I had booked a superior room we were allocated a tiny room with a view of a wall! I take a lot of time sourcing hotels as it is an important part of my holiday, so I asked if we could possibly have a room with a view of the Grand Canal and were eventually given a room on the 6th floor with a canal view, albeit out of two small windows. The room was much larger and quite quaint with sloping roof and beams. (We live in a Cotswold cottage, so we're quite used to beams). The pillows were much too soft for my liking, no support at all. Breakfast was okay, although the scrambled eggs were very sloppy, not very hot and pretty tasteless, there was however, plenty of cold selection. We had tea on the terrace (6 euro a pot!), but unfortunately they have large plant pots obscuring the view. We didn't use their water taxi to St Mark's square as we try and avoid the touristy areas and prefer (after our 3rd visit to Venice) to go off the beaten track and mingle with the locals further afield. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant either for the same reason.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a Grand Canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for having chosen our Centurion Palace in occasion of your recent stay in Venice, and for taking the time to post your review.
We are sorry to read you have been a little bit disappointed with room and breakfast, but of course your precious comments will enable us to take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our service.
Please, feel free to contact us personally in case of a future trip to our marvellous Venice. Consider ourselves at all times at your complete disposal.
Season's Greetings, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    216
    60
    26
    13
See reviews for
126
611
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryne, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This maybe the the best hotel I have ever stayed in. However, as most 'tings' in Venice it is terribly expensive.

We stayed in room 201, a delux room with view over the Grand Canal. The room and the view was close to perfect. We almost didn't want to go out to explore Venice, the roomwas just too nice to leave.

The only little negative about the room was that when we changed the temperature the fan increased speed and generated a strange 'clikking' sound. This dissapeared after a while, and we did not report it.

The bar and restaurant are very elegant, and the food excellent.

The WiiFi had a resonable speed.

The service was very attentive and good.

We missed tea- and coffee-making facilities in the room.

This hotel is really a place I can recommend.

Room Tip: 201 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsBryne_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for having submitted your positive feedback concerning your recent stay at our Centurion Palace.
We are very pleased to learn your stay was a really enjoyable one, and that you consider our Centurion as the best hotel you have ever experienced.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly in case you will ever plan another stay in our magical city.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We arrived after a very long day of travel to be greeted by the warm staff. Moments after we were shown to our room a chilled bottle of a crisp, dry Prosecco was delivered to revitalize us as a gift. This act of thoughtfulness set the tone. The hotel is truly beautiful and sitting in the courtyard to rest our feet and read with a beverage was lovely. It is on the Grand Canal. Their breakfast buffet is beautiful and a must try is their small cream filled donuts which are light and perfect with coffee. In the evenings they provide water taxi service twice to and later from St. Mark's Sq. We hope to visit Venice again would want to stay only at this hotel, it would be like going to see our friends in an elegant setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for this marvellous comments.
We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our aim is to make our Guests' stay as special and magical as possible.
Please, feel free to contact us personally in the case you will plan another stay in our fabulous Venice!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

You arrive on a small pier at the front of the hotel. Guests will walk through the bar terrace overlooking the Grand Canal and into the central lobby which is decorate in a modern design with a large chandelier and 4 white leather curved benches against the wall. A central table always holds a very large floral arrangement. The other side of the lobby is the courtyard garden where the welcome drink will be served. To the left is the reception area and to the right is the access to bedrooms, the bar and the restaurant. The hotel has only 50 rooms so it has an exclusive feel and is never too busy or noisy. Everywhere is decorated with a modern and luxurious feel. The rooms are beautifully decorated with large beds with clean luxurious white linen, a large leather board covers the wall behind the bed and there are large feature lamps. The bathrooms all feature a bath and shower and 1 or 2 washbasins. Each room has a mini bar, safe, large wardrobe, TV and iPod docking station and telephone. The hotel offers 24 hour room service and staff were very quick to respond to requests.

The bar is open from 11am to 1am and guests can enjoy drinks in the bar, on the terrace or in the courtyard. The bar is small with a padded velvet bench running around the edge of the room and then tables and small chairs placed around this. The restaurant is open from 12:30 to 2:30 and 7:30 to 10:30. It is decorated in white throughout with a small terrace seating approximately 12 to 15 guests overlooking the Grand Canal. Breakfast is served in the restaurant from 7am to 10:30am and has a good array of hot and cold food. The breakfast was beautifully presented and of an excellent standard. Staff will serve coffee and tea to guests tables. Prosecco is available as well as fruit juices and water.

The hotel also has a gym with state of the art equipment and TV’s on the top floor. There are only two lifts each of which can hold up to 6 people.

The hotel runs a boat two times a day to get you across the Grand Canal. I have requested extra times for the group as this would not work for a whole group wanting to go across and private water taxis are extortionate. During the day you can walk across the academia bridge which is a fair distance but a very nice walk through a much quieter venice. This feels quite pleasant after the craziness of St Marks square and the surrounding areas. During the day until 6pm you can use the gondola service which costs 2 euros per person and is approx 1 minutes walk away.

The penny guggenheim museum is just round the corner.

In my opinion the location is lovely, it is a bit quiter than the main streets and you get views from the terraces, bar and dining room across the grand canal to St Marks Square.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are individual. The smallest standard room has a terrace so you can actually sit ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie_court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executove Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for this wonderful review! It is really a fantastic description of our Centurion Palace.
We are truly glad you enjoyed your recent stay, and we all thank you for your comments in regards of Service, Rooms and Service.
What makes us happy the most is Guests' satisfation with their stay!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Centurion Palace soon,
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was our first visit to Venice and most certainly won't be the last!! I cannot wait to return
Venice is absolutely Beautiful, like nowhere else in the world.
The Centurion Palace was an absolute Treat!! On arrival we took a private boat from the airport which is a 'MUST' its incredible to arrive in to Venice and see it like that, very exciting!
When we arrived in the hotel I was blown away the reception area was amazing in a perfect spot on the Canal.
When checking in we got upgraded to a beautiful suite :) and within minutes of being in the room we recieved a bottle of complimentary Prosecco !
I was totally blown away by the service and stunning hotel, I couldn't believe we had found somewhere so perfect.
The location was great, by foot you can get to a number of incredible restaurants and tourist destinations and there is also a boat bus stop a few minutes walk from the hotel which can get you to San Marco Sq in a matter of Minutes.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was really tasty !
Honestly had the most amazing time in Venice, would reccomend this Hotel to anyone it was so stunning !

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a room with a massive bathtub in the room! Try and get this room it's lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
it is a great pleasure reading your comments in regards of your recent stay at Centurion Palace.
We are glad you were satisfied with Room, Location, Service and Breakfast. Our aim is making our Guests' stay as special as possible!
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Venice soon, and remain at your full disposal for any assistance you might need.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from our honeymoon at this hotel and as the other recent reviews say, it was magical. I booked at standard room but emailed prior to arrival to say it was our honeymoon and we had a lovely room overlooking the grand canal which wasn't at all noisy and I am a light sleeper! A bottle of Prosecco also arrived with compliments of the hotel. The service was incredible! Rooms checked twice a day with toiletries and towels replenished every visit. Reception staff, bar staff and breakfast waitresses all faultless, friendly and helpful. I think it would be very hard to find fault with this hotel. If you don't know your way around Venice do go for the private boat transfer from the Airport - we helped many tourists trying to carry cases over the many, many stepped bridges over the canals trying to find their hotel - wheeled cases not much use! Arriving at the door of the Centurian Palace by motor launch is worth every penny!! Thank you everyone at the Centurian Palace for making our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by reviews that say the canal view is noisy - not in the Centurian Palace anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for these very nice comments and for having shared your experience with others.
It is a pleasure learning of your great satisfaction with Room and Service, and we all are glad you had a magical stay in occasion of your Honeymoon.
Should you plan to come back to Venice again in the future, please consider ourselves at all times at your complete disposal.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although the Centurion Palace may not have been one of the best hotels i've stayed at, it is definitely one of the best hotel experiences - what makes that experience is of course its location within the magical city of Venice.
As noted by numerous contributors already if you have the opportunity to arrive by private water taxi then do so - you will remember the joy of the experience long after the cost has been forgotten. Upon entering the reception area you immediately immersed in style and sophistication. Not to everybody's taste especially if you were having expectations of traditional Venetian grandeur but personally for me the modern contemporary styling only enhanced the jaw dropping grand canal views of the lobby. Staff were polite and professional. Can't say I detected any attitude from them despite having booked the "cheapest" rooms and looking (and possibly smelling) like a couple of homeless people after having travelled for over 36hours to get to Venice. We were most grateful we were not asked to come back at a later time as our room wasn't quite ready instead we watched the passing kaleidoscope of colour from the lobby landing as the receptionist Chiara gave us regular updates as to housekeeping getting our room ready. We were only waiting for about 15minutes or so but a combination of jetlag and being mesmerised with the view makes your mind numb to the concept of time.
Chiara personally escorted us to our room when it was ready. A very nice gesture I thought. We were given a room on the top floor facing the grand canal. The room although compact had everything we needed and the clean modernistic feel flowed through out. The highlight of the room was the two small windows which opened out onto the terracotta roofs and the grand canal below. Directly opposite was the Gritti Palace. One memory I would hold for life is waking up early the following morning and climbing out the window onto the roof (not condoned or recommended) and watching the sunrise and the city of Venice come to life. Simply a priceless experience.
Breakfast on the terrace was another experience to treasure. Not so much the food, although displayed nicely it was uninspiring at best. Rather, sitting on the terrace on a beautiful August morning and watching the activity of the grand canal unfold before you was simply amazing. St Marks Square in the distance on one side and Academia bridge on the other. The cappuccino was great and the breakfast staff amongst the friendliest I have ever encountered in Europe. I could easily of sat there for the entire morning. It was like a dream.
As far as experience goes you would be hard pressed to beat Centurion Palace. Definitely a winner in my books.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasnewboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,224 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,562 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 385 in Venice
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#45 of 385 in Venice
1,148 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SINA Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SINA Centurion Palace

Property: SINA Centurion Palace
Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#52 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — SINA Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SINA Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing