We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserved reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SINA Centurion Palace
Ranked #56 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deserved reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is an excellent place to stay for discovering Venice. It is centrally situated, but not in the hurly burly of San Marco, and right on the Grand Canal. Easy to get to and from with the Salute vaporetto stop just 2 minutes walk away. Walk out of the land entrance and you are immediately ready to discover the relatively quiet streets of Zattere and Dorsoduro with the Peggy Guggenheim Collection and the Accademia just short walks away.
The hotel itself is very well appointed as you would expect from this class of hotel but also offers something that is unfortunately not always a given, friendly, welcoming and efficient staff who want to make your stay as perfect as possible. The buffet breakfast is also first class and all the better for eating looking out onto the Grand Canal. A real treat - we would certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for this wonderful review!
It is a joy learning that your stay with us has been a really good and pleasant one.
We are glad you have been satisfied with room, service and with our incomparable position in the the marvellous Dorsoduro district, overlooking the San Marco area, adjacent to the Basilica of Santa Maria della Salute between Punta della Dogana and the famous Peggy Guggenheim Museum.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Centurion Palace soon,
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    214
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
125
599
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nicely renovated venecian "palace" for those looking for more original and modern , but well integrated, atmosphere. Location is perfect, few minutes from vaporetto, in a more secluded part of venice. staff was friendly and helpful, restaurant's advice from the concierge disappointing though (tourist's trap). Breakfast is fine but restaurant at outrageous price, if only food had been outstanding. Would recommend the water taxi from airport. Once in venice, forget your map and get lost yourself..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving your comments in regard to your recent stay at Centurion Palace.
We are very pleased to learn your stay was an enjoyable one, and that you were satisfied especially with our unique location, right between Punta della Dogana, the Basilica della Salute and the Peggy Guggenheim Foundation.
Please feel free to contact us personally should you ever plan to come back to our wonderful Venice!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hookwood
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This is a beautifully appointed hotel. The rooms, food and service are all of a high standard. The location on the quieter side of the Grand Canal is good with easy access to the main tourist areas of Venice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for sharing your experience with others.
We are all truly glad you did enjoy your stay at Centurion Palace, and you were satisfied with both room and service, food and location.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we remain
with our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was our first trip to Venice after all these years, to celebrate a Birthday and have to say it won't be our last visit!

The Centurion Palace lived up to it's reputation in terms of accommodation and service which was exemplary, without being over the top, one could not fault anything, apart from the lack of sun, well it was January!

A special thank you to Stefano and Barbara for their attention to detail and restaurant gesture, plus a BIG THANK YOU to Elvira the maître d'hôtel in the restaurant for making our dining experience so pleasurable to round off the Birthday Treat!

Will be back........

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the restaurant prices in the Centurion Palace; they are much better value, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWBReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for this very nice review, and for having chosen our Centurion Palace in occasion of your Birthday!
We all are truly glad you have been satisfied with your stay, and do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We remain at your complete disposal.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a good location. A little expensive even by Venice standards but not at all pretentious. Room was on the small side although had a fantastic view of the basilica from out of our window. Being really picky for a top 5 star hotel I was surprised to see suitcase scratch marks on the walls which I would have expected to be wiped down, a broken tile in the bathroom, and leaky shower doors but guess this is just wear and tear. Breakfast was lovely on the balcony overlooking the grand canal and had a good selection of food (including champagne). Not sure if I would stay again as the room was expensive for the size and quality compared to others I have stayed in previously but if you want modern chic in a beautiful old building in a canal side location then this is for you.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moose7613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here and my first thought about going to venice was that I wanted to stay in a place on the canal with a view of the canal, so I dished out the big bucks to do just that. I must say first, it wasn't worth having the canal view. I looked out the window maybe one time lol. However, the hotel was fantastic. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were very nice, the buffet in the morning was awesome, and the location was ideal. I would definitely stay here again if I went to venice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cksteeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for this very nice review: what make us happy the most is satisfied Guests!
We remain at your complete disposal for any future assistance you might need, and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon at Centurion Palace.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Could not have found a better spot to enjoy a long weekend in Venice.. The central location on the canal made it the perfect base to see the city by water and on foot.. Arriving by Water Taxi from the airport is a must :) Rooms were great and breakfast / evening drinks overlooking the Grand Canal made this hotel extra special. Service was excellent. The hotel lends itself to a feeling of modern luxury and yet also privacy without loosing Venetian charm; It's easy reach of water taxis, tourist attractions, restaurants, galleries and shopping ensured we made the most of our stay and fell in love with Venice !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaShrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for these very nice comments, and, of course, for having chosen our Centurion Palace in occasion of your recent stay in Venice.
We are all glad you have been satisfied with service, room, breakfast and location.
Our aim is always to make Guests' hotel stay as special and magical as possible.
Please, feel free to contact us personally should you ever plan another stay in our wonderful Venice in the future, consider ourselves at your complete disposal.
Best regards, and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SINA Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SINA Centurion Palace

Property: SINA Centurion Palace
Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#52 Family Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — SINA Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SINA Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing