We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SINA Centurion Palace
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived "James bond" style from the airport, whisked across the lagoon by speed boat (aka water taxi) and delivered safety, but somewhat windswept to the hotels Grand canal mooring.
Our rooms were not ready as we had arrived mid morning and our luggage was stored until our return later in the day.

We walked from the hotel (approx 20mins) to the main square or you can get the €2 gondola shuttle next to the hotel which runs from 930-1800ish.
Upon our return to the hotel later in the afternoon we were shown to our room, which although was not necessary the receptionist insisted on, she described the room as overlooking the courtyard, however I would describe the 3rd floor view as looking at the bedrooms opposite!
The room itself was very small and looked, although it probably wasn't, cheaply furnished.
Our suitcases were not in our room on arrival but delivered 2minutes later, I guess the porter was holding out for a tip.
The shower room (no bath) was covered in goldleaf, and had a large power shower - the only problem was that the water flooded the whole floor and leaked everywhere when using it as the drain could not cope.
Sleep quality was good, with a comfy bed and pillows however it is not possible to turn the air conditioning off at night which was unfortunate, although be careful leaving windows open as we did see a few Mosquitos.
Two free bottles of water were supplied daily and we had chocolate strawberries on arrival which was a nice touch.

The bar has a couple of outside tables overlooking the grand canal, there is also a courtyard area at the back of the hotel but occasionally you do get the unpleasant smells from the sewers here.

Breakfast is adequate, with a small but ok range of products (4 hot dishes) and mini cold buffet - again with some tables overlooking the canal, be aware of the seagulls. Although not quite as daring as the seagulls we have in the UK they will still rob you of your food in not paying attention!

Location of this hotel is ok, with easy access but i would probably try and stay somewhere else next time, it didn't wow me and I find the 5 star rating a little ambitious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMC_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May and it was the experience of a life time. Everything about Venice sets it apart from other cities across Europe. The water taxi from the airport to your hotel's front door.....the gondola ride (which is expensive but as everyone who has had one will tell you is worth the money)........the wandering and discovering squares surrounded by beautiful architecture and lined with cafes and restaurtants all contribute to making Venice a magical place.

The Centurion palace was an absolute delight...it has a prime position on the Grand Canal...its rooms are boutique style and modern (which is why we booked it). The staff were very helpful and although the cost of a canal view room is outrageously expensive....for the experience and memories that will stay wit you it was worth every penny.

Save up, book a canal room and experience the very best of Venice, can;t recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Save up and splurge on a Canal Facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edinburghtwoplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guests,
what a marvellous review! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience here at Centurion Palace with others.
We all are happy to read that your stay has been a delightful one, and that you were really satisfied with location, room and service.
Feel free to contact us directly for any future assistance you might need.
With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was staying there with my boyfriend for the Venice carnival and Valentine s .. everything was perfect...from the rooms to the delicious in room breakfast. It was the best vacation ever! The room was fabulous, one of the best hotel rooms i have ever stayed in, and as i am a young hotelier i worked and been in a lot of luxury 5 stars. It was ..venetian... italian.. romantic..anthique, authentic but modern in the same time.. It even had a bathtub in the middle. What to say more, it was very comfy, excellent facilities and well decorated.
The staff was very attentive and respectful, even if we are quite young, we were treated like kings and queens. Didn t have the chance though to visit the swimming pool or fitness room.
However, not even a small critic to mention! At the end of our stay we even made each other a promise that we would come back and if we dont have the opportunty, we will return in exactly 10 years no matter if we are still together or not, our schedules or anything else. It was perfection!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review!
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Centurion Palace so much: our aim making our Guests' stay as special and memorable as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the years to come!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for three days in may and was not disappointed . We arrived by water taxi from the airport straight to the hotels dock so no walk with luggage as is the case with many Venice hotels.
The bar and restaurant look straight out onto the Grand Canal so you can either sit inside or outside on the small deck watching all the boats going past.The hotel is directly opposite the Gritti
The room was small but very nicely furnished in a very modern style with a super bathroom.
The staff were all very helpful[except one lady who worked in the bar who seemed to dismiss our question with a superior shrug of the shoulders]
The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute walk to St Marks square but it is a lovely walk through the backstreets and over the waterways. Possibly would not suit some one with mobility problems.
Hotel were very helpful when i was unwell on the day we checked out and allowed us to stay in the room until 2 o clock even though they were full that night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for this nice review and for sharing your experience here at Centurion Palace with others. We are glad to learn your stay has been a pleasant and good one, and do hope to welcome you back in the nearest future!
With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel's location, service and accommodations were excellent. Breakfast was superior. The only complaint we had was the value and quality of lunch the day we arrived. The quality was mediocre and was extremely overpriced, even with the 20% guest discount. That, unfortunately, guided our dinner selections elsewhere. Otherwise, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BMTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Reading some of the negative reviews on this site, of this hotel, makes me think they must have stayed somewhere completely different to me!

We arrived at the airport, which was further out one - the name escapes me! We had booked a private transfer through the hotel. We were met by the driver in the airport and he drove us to a private mooring, where we boarded out private water taxi, which took us to the jetty of the hotel. The complete journey took about an hour, and we were so impressed that we booked the same transport, through the hotel for the return journey. I would thoroughly recommend this, as a way to start your experience in Venice!

Check in at the hotel was faultless and I had only booked the hotel 4 days before we arrive on Good Friday - 18th April 2014. We had originally booked a standard room, and then a Junior Suite became available the day before we arrived. I always think you can tell alot from a hotel, by the communication you have with them prior to arrival.

We were shown to our fabulous suite which overlooked the Grand Canal. Our Suite had 2 balconies, large enough for two people to stand on and be drawn into the romantic magic that is Venice. Gondola' gliding past our open balcony doors, with the haunting sound or a professional singer echoing from the narrow streets.

Shortly after being shown to our room, there was a knock at the door and a complimentary bottle of champagne and fresh fruit was delivered.

Our Suite was split level. There was a sitting room area and bathroom on the lower floor, with opening doors onto our balconies. Up the glass staircase was our bedroom, which had uninterrupted views out through the balcony doors, onto the Grand Canal - even whilst lying in bed. Behind out bed, was a fabulous large sunken bath.

We experienced impeccable service from all members of the team. Breakfast was fantastic and one day we ate outside on the balcony which was positioned over the Grand Canal. Service and choice at breakfast was faultless. The miniature chocolate Easter Eggs and broken up chocolate Easter Egg's were a very nice touch for Easter!

I cannot believe that so few people have mentioned the hotel's fantastic position to just about everything in Venice! The Peggy Guggenheim Collection is a matter of metres from the hotel, as is Vaporetto's (water boats) stations.

We had pre-booked a journey on a Gondola, but this really wasn't necessary as there were plenty that we could have jumped on.

Probably the most memorable experience I had in Venice and would urge everyone that is visiting to do the same is to go on a Gondola ride at night. We caught one of them just about to pack up for the night at about 10pm and asked if he would take us, which he agreed to do. We paid for the privilege - but it was a once in a lifetime experience. It was so quite on the water - compared to during the day when the waterways become packed with other boats and Gondola's. At times, the only noise you could hear was the sound of water trickling against the oar, as we glided peacefully through the water.

I cannot explain in words what it was like to fall asleep with the sound of the Grand Canal flowing into our room through the open balcony doors.

Trust me - book a Junior Suite at the Centurion Palace - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Junior Suite overlooking the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post this fabulous review.
We are all delighted you had a memorable experience here at our Centurion Palace last April.
Our first aim is making our Guests' stay as much special as possible!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was on the fence on where to stay in Venice. After looking at the reviews here on Trip Advisor I decided on the Centurion Palace and I’m happy to say I could not have made a better choice.

From the moment at check in this place screamed of service. Even though I was early, Stefano at reception guided me to a table on the water and arranged for a cappuccino while the room was prepared. I didn’t mind one bit, the view over to the Gritti Palace was to die for (as was the lemon cake accompanying the delicious coffee).

Being a SLH member I was told I had an upgrade (something I never expect and am grateful to receive). I was simply blown away by the room I was given (room 404). It was red and luxurious and shared the same view over to Gritti Palace and the Grand Canal. I didn’t want to leave the room (but being Venice) I had to.

I found the location of the hotel perfect! A quick 2Euro gondola ride got you across the grand canal as did the conveniently placed “ferry subway’.

I also dined in the hotel and food was very good – not traditional Italian but any shortcomings were soon forgotten about because of the phenomenal service (in particular Nicolas).

I loved the sights in the area and it is basically right next door to the Peggy Guggenheim museum. A short meander through the alley ways brings you to a great café frequented by locals. A little further on brings you to a square with a morning fish market and Venice’s famous bridge.

I have nothing negative to say about my stay. This hotel exemplifies the best in customer service (without any stuffiness) and it is in a perfect location and setting. Breakfast on the dock is simply ideal.

Room Tip: the best view in Venice could be from room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weedris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thanks a lot for this really amazing review!
We all are glad you enjoyed your recent stay here at Centurion Palace so much, and that you appreciated room, service and location (overlooking the basin of San Marco, adjacent to the church of Santa Maria della Salute and the San Gregorio area, between the Punta della Dogana and the famous Peggy Guggenheim Museum).
Furthermore, it is a pleasure to learn you were satisfied with your dinner at our Antinoo's Lounge & Restaurant, where our Guests can experience the contamporary taste of Venice.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Centurion Palace soon in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Polo
Palazzo Venart - Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SINA Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SINA Centurion Palace

Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#59 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £192 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SINA Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star hotel in Venice, Sina Centurion Palace overlooks the Grand Canal at the mouth of the San Marco basin, towards Dorsoduro. With direct access to the Grand Canal, our luxury hotel enjoys a unique position in Venice between the Basilica of Santa Maria della Salute, Punta della Dogana (home of the François Pinault Foundation) and the Peggy Guggenheim Museum. Our 50 rooms and suites at Sina Centurion Palace offer incomparable views over St. Mark's and the Grand Canal. Among the most renowned restaurants in La Serenissima, The Antinoo’s Lounge & Restaurant is an elegant and comfortable ambiance where to savour the best of contemporary Mediterranean cuisine accompanied by Grand Canal views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SINA Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing