We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location - Perfect Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SINA Centurion Palace
Ranked #71 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

From arrival to departure, our stay at Centurion Palace was truly magical. The staff was incredibly pleasant, attentive and made sure to take of every single detail - even finding a local hairstylist last minute. Our room was a perfect blend of modern with classic overlooking the Grand Canal. The hotel's restaurant was a very special treat. We had the chef's tasting and he prepared every dish to perfection. We are both in the industry and know how difficult this can be. We highly recommend this hotel for its location, beauty, modern touches while respecting historical value, service and food. We look forward to our return. Thank you for a magical stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you for having submitted your review. We truly appreciate your comments, and your compliments will be shared will all Centurion Palace Staff. We are glad you enjoyed both accommodation and expecially our exclusive Antinoo's Lounge and Restaurant, overlooking the Grand Canal, which offers an elegant and comfortable ambience where to taste traditional and international cuisine. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a very near future, we remain at your full disposal for any assistance you may need.
Best regards.
Executive office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was incredibly expensive. The location is great - on the Grand Canal. The bathroom was so "hi tech" that is was impossible to use the shower. We too had problems with a lack of hot water. The room was unbelievably hot and when I called the front desk 3 times to complain I was told that the thermostat is controlled by computer and the heat could not be lowered. I was escorted by a woman from the front desk to the wrong side of the hotel when showing me to my room and had to go back outside to actually find the correct elevator. We paid over 1000 Euros for the 2 nights and then were charged extra for internet access.
A

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maastrichtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Direttore at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you for having the time to post your review. We are sorry to learn you had such a disappointing experience with our Centurion Palace. Of course your comments will not pass by without a notice. As far as the problem occured with the thermostat is concerned, unfortunately it was one of the teething problems we have had during the first year from opening. Be sure that, should you ever give us the pleasure to welcome you one more time to Centurion Palace, the service will satisfy you 100%! You can always contact me personally for any future assistance you may need, please consider myself and my Staff at your complete disposal.
Best regards,
Paolo Morra
General Manager, gmcenturionpalace@sinahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed at the Centurion Palace as part of a trip to Italy. After reading some previous review we had some concerns, however on arrival were pleasantly surprised finding the rooms contemporarily decorated and comfortable.

Our first room, with its own roof terrace, was small but very comfortable initially. On the first night the temperature in the room (309) exceeded 28 degrees as the air con was not operational and as a result we did not get any sleep at all - the windows did open but pigeons flocked towards the windowsills and the external noise was problematic also. On complaining about this we were moved to room 201 for the remainder of our stay - overlooking the Grand Canal. This room was spacious, comfortable, trendy and impressive both in terms of view but also comfort.

Staff were helpful and courteous.

The hotel is located a good walk from some of the attractions but ideal for exploring the city, with water bus stops very close by if you want to take a 2 minute ride across the canal to St Marks Square etc.

Breakfast was included and was simple and tasty. served in the Grand Canal side dining room.

Overall, it is an aspiring 5 star hotel - its not quite there yet - but a comfortable, contemporary 4 star accommodation in a good location with great staff. I'd stay again if I got a good deal online and could guarantee a good room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Direttore at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving your comments in regards of your recent stay at Centurion Palace. We apologize for the negative experience you had at our Hotel. It is true, some rooms can be more romantic and impressive than others (of course a Junior Suite Deluxe like 201, overlooking the Grand Canal, gives a better impression than a double room with courtyard or city view), but, unfortunately, room upgrades are not always possible. When available, we always do our upmost to render our Guests' stay the most memorable one through an upgrade. It makes us really happy that you found the quality of both Staff and location a good one. We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you one more time to our Centurion Palace. For future reservations, please feel free to contact me personally.
Best regards,
Paolo Morra
General Manager
gmcenturionpalace@sinahotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The views are really spectacular, I had a hard time leaving our balcony from which I watched the hustle and bustle of the Grand Canal from dawn to dusk. The balcony is only a "Juliet" (standing only) balcony but we brought cushions out and sat on the concrete window wells and watched the world go by as we sipped champagne... very romantic! There are other great qualities that we enjoyed in our 6 day stay here. Our room was spectacular, enormous for Venice (or for anywhere actually). The decor is very elegant with funky elements, very creative and fun. The bathroom was amazing, 100% gold leaf and just over-the-top glitzy.

The breakfasts were very good, enjoyed on a deck directly on the Grand Canal which was a treat every morning. The wait staff was very nice and very accommodating, the selection of food was good although there was little variety over the course of the week. Loved the prosecco though and had it every morning :-).

The location is fabulous; it's right between the Guggenheim and Santa Maria della Salute so it's very quiet and very serene, yet it's a one minute vaporetto ride across the Grand Canal to get to San Marco. We walked everywhere and found our location to be very convenient.

The front desk staff was pretty good, not great, but they did recommend a wonderful restaurant nearby, Linea d'Ombra (very expensive but worth it). The only downside to this hotel is its own restaurant. We ate there the first night, it was easy and we were exhausted from the transatlantic trip. Big disappointment, overpriced and really mediocre food, overly frou-frou and lacking in flavor. There are too many other great places to eat in Venice, don't bother with this one. The other small issue we had was with the lovely courtyard. It was always empty because there is a terrible smell of sewage there. What a shame, it would be a lovely place to sit. There is also a small but nice terrace over the Grand Canal but it was usually inhabited by smokers so we rarely got to sit there.

This was one of our most expensive hotels of our month and a half long trip, but worth it for the views, the location and the comfortable room. The Centurion Palace definitely added to our enjoyment of Venice and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladdiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Direttore at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Guets,
many thanks for your overall positive review.
We are sorry to learn about your disappoining experience in our Antinoo's Lounge and Restaurant. I have passed your helpful comments to the relevant department, so that we can improve the quality of our service. I assure that, luckily, the sewage problems in our exclusive courtyard were fixed shortly after your departure, so no more smell problems. We are glad that both location and decor exceeded your expectations.
We hope that we can welcome you back at the Centurion Palace in brief time.
Best regards,
Paolo Morra, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The hotel is in a quiet corner of the Dosoduro district near the Peggy Guggenheim and the new contemporary art museum in the old customs house. Our duplex canal-view suite (it was the honeymoon, we went crazy) at 760euro/$1,000+ a night looked great when we checked in, but then the unreliable hot water, mold in the “death trap” shower, broken TV set, “Holiday Inn” amenities and an upstairs bed and a long walk downstairs to the bathroom, turned a luxury suite into a disappointment. The “gym” was a few machines stuck in the attic. There was an additional charge for the internet. The staff at the ample breakfast couldn’t have been nicer, but the very poorly-informed and sometimes lackadaisical and other times inexperienced front desk staff did send us off on one great find (a terrific English speaking tour guide Mrs Bastianello who grew up in the Cannaregio district) but several misadventures (wrong address for a terrible local district restaurant in the pouring rain, strong recommendations for a tourist trap restaurant near San Marco square ($60 pasta dishes), informing us that a museum was closed that we luckily stumbled across and found open, being sent off on a “free tour” of Murano to be pressured into buying 4500 Euro vases). All and all, an average hotel promoting the word “luxury” but not delivering.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights last week before our trip down the Adriatic Coast and loved every minute of it! The location is perfect, at the end of the Grand Canal right across the canal from the Gritti Palace. We booked the superior room with free breakfast. Breakfast was a great selection of meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, and even champagne! We sat outside overlooking the canal both mornings. The bar was open late even during the week which allowed us to have a nice cocktail after spending the night walking the streets of Venice. The staff treated us like VIPs, great service as they were easily accessible and knowledgeable in offering best ways to squeeze a weeks worth of Venice into 2 days.
We had a wonderful experience and would refer them in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saladay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive Office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Dear Guest,
many thanks for the exquisite words of appreciation posted in occasion of your October-stay at Centurion Palace. We are glad you enjoyed every minute at Centurion Palace: we always do our upmost to render our Guests' stay a most memorable one! We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a very near future.
Considering ourselves at all times at your complete disposal, please accept our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

When we arrived at the Centurion, the lady at the desk said : This room and the view is the best of Venice". She was right. After a 4 night stay at the Centurion I'm sure we had the best hotel in Venice. If by any chance you can have room 401, you"ll see that it's really amazing. Perfect location in Dorsoduro right between François Pinault and Peggy Guggenheim art museums and very easy to cross to San Marco with a 1 euro gondola ride that crosses the Grand Canal.
Absolutely everyone at the Centurion is nice and helpful. All restaurants recommandations were great. The ladies at the breakfast room were all smiles and tending to all our needs. Be sure to find the time to go to Murano et Burano which are 2 incredible islands. The hotel offers a free ride in a beautiful private boat.
We will be back in Venice and certainly at the Centurion Palace

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveCP, Executive office at SINA Centurion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Dear Guest,
everyone at Centurion Palace join me in thanking you so much for having posted such a nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Centurion Palace, and found our location a great one. Should you ever plan to come back to the most romantic city in the world, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,281 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
1,201 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#61 of 385 in Venice
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SINA Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SINA Centurion Palace

Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#52 Family Hotel in Venice
#59 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £195 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SINA Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star hotel in Venice, Sina Centurion Palace overlooks the Grand Canal at the mouth of the San Marco basin, towards Dorsoduro. With direct access to the Grand Canal, our luxury hotel enjoys a unique position in Venice between the Basilica of Santa Maria della Salute, Punta della Dogana (home of the François Pinault Foundation) and the Peggy Guggenheim Museum. Our 50 rooms and suites at Sina Centurion Palace offer incomparable views over St. Mark's and the Grand Canal. Among the most renowned restaurants in La Serenissima, The Antinoo’s Lounge & Restaurant is an elegant and comfortable ambiance where to savour the best of contemporary Mediterranean cuisine accompanied by Grand Canal views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SINA Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing