We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own Italian apartment in the heart of Venice”
Review of Charming House IQs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charming House IQs
Ranked #5 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Loved everything about it. Great service, staff was very hospitable. Beautiful room with a great location close to Saint Mark's square. Delivered us an amazing breakfast every morning. We stayed in the IQS. Don't arrive at night, it was hard to find. I'd recommend this hotel if you're going to Venice. There was also a pull out couch. If you have kids or another couple traveling with you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Charming House IQs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Really nice city, so beautiful and romantic place.
Hotel was perfect, cozy and comfortable !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful gem of a hotel for eight nights from March 11-20, 2011. Our room was more like an small apartment and was beautifully furnished and spotless. The location is so gorgeous...on a quiet small campo with a tiny canal right out the living room window where we could see gondolas go by. Every morning, the wonderful staff delivered a lovely breakfast of our choosing and we enjoyed it at a tastefully decorated dining room table. An excellent coffee machine offered one cup choices. The two staff members were friendly, professional and so very helpful with every question we had. Our unit also had plush towels and robes for our use and the king size bed was very comfy. Unfortunately, I experienced a fairly serious health issue and the staff members were extremely helpful in translating, scanning and sending documents to various doctors and insurance providers. Their genuine concern was very much appreciated by us both. Our only 'complaint' was the size of the bathroom area. We have been fortunate enough to travel to various locations in Europe and do understand that European bathrooms are much smaller than in other locations; however, this 'area' was very tiny. There was a separate toilet 'room', a basin in the middle and a shower to the other side with its own door. Typically, we had to stand in the doorway of the bathroom area to stand in front of the basin to brush teeth, blow dry hair etc. However, we quickly adapted; such a trivial issue in comparison to such an amazing suite otherwise! We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It is truly worth every single penny. And with only four units, it's very quiet, VERY romantic and very private. And again, I cannot speak more highly of Anna and the young man who worked at the front desk. This was our second visit to Venice and if we are lucky enough to return, we would certainly stay here again. Enjoy every minute!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryanne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The perfect hotel to stay in Venice. Very well located (5 minutes from piazza San Marco), very quiet. Anna at the reception is professional and very nice. You feel like at home. The room/suite was wonderful for a romantic week-end of Carnaval. If I have to come back to Venice, this is in this hotel. Just a perfect remember.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coco_nuts0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

After an extensive research over the Internet, we came across these stylish suites in the heart of Venice, but far away anything made for tourists. Outside it holds the historical beauty of the city, but inside it is more contemporary than you can ever imagine. It felt right away that we were residents of this magnificent city.
The staff was extremely helpful and proposed all the right places in order to make our stay a loving memory.
Such a Charming hotel, with an IQ way above average...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeZikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Loved this place. Felt like a local in a fabulous well designed apartment. I hate to give it a good review but the owner promised to always have a room for me. I fell in love with Venice, before I even walked outside, because of the hotel, the servie, Anna, etc. A great find and I will make everyone I know stay here. It is not to be missed along with everything else about Venice.!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We originally booked a reservation at The Charming House through Orbitz.com. My husband emailed to check on our room location only to find that Orbitz had never sent the hotel our reservation and the hotel was booked! After a lot of frustrating back and forth with Orbitz, the hotel offered to move us to the IQs and give us an extra night if we changed our date of arrival, which we did. They were very gracious throughout the entire experience. Orbitz...not so much. Never using them again.

When we did arrive at the hotel--in the water taxi the hotel organized for us for 100 euro--we were brought directly to the door of the hotel so no frustrating treks through Venice's small streets with our luggage--we had a lot since we were there for 8 days.

The hotel itself is more like a converted series of small apartments with a main area. Anna, our charming host, was there to greet us and gave us the lay of the land. Free wi-fi and breakfast are included. They bring breakfast to your room every morning and you can pick and choose what you like. Our first day we had yogurt, croissants, rolls, juice, milk, and jams. We also used the in-room espresso machine quite a lot. We stopped getting breakfast a few days in because my husband prefers hitting the cafes and pastry shops. Still, a great service for those who want to laze around in the morning.

The rooms were very nice...spacious and modern. There were tons of windows onto the canal and campo, although you could make it very dark by drawing the brown velvet curtains. We had a sitting area, small kitchenette, tres cool dining table in leather with four seats, and a flat screen in the living room. The bed (in the other room) was a low-profile bed with plenty of room for two. Loved the "fireplace" TV, but my favorite part was the sound of the water lapping up against our walls. So relaxing and romantic--especially when the gondola with singers went by.

My only complaint was that the rooms, while very stylish, look a little worn--mainly the places where you can tell they've painted over damage. There were also a few spiderwebs around the room too, but we took care of that with a washcloth. Spiderwebs in an old city are par for the course.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the IQs and especially our time in Venice, which is a magical city. Anna was a perfect hostess who always met our questions with a smile and a can-do attitude. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlissfulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,925 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 384 in Venice
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 384 in Venice
656 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming House IQs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming House IQs

Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £207 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming House IQs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Charming House IQs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing