We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of IQs Charming House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
IQs Charming House
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I rented a one bedroom suite with a kitchen for ourselves and our two daughters. The suite was large and there was a seperate eating area with a table. It was also very tastefully decorated. Perfect when traveling as a family. The service was faboulous and since it is a small hotel they are very flexible. The hotel is also centrally located. All and all very good value for your money. The owner herself helped us out with a few things.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel during a visit to my family in Italy as I am from Pordenone, a small town about one hour by train from Venice.
We went to Venice many times before and stayed in different hotels but we never really liked any of them either because too old fashion, or too expensive, or too far out from the central area of Venice.
We found this hotel on Mr&Mrs Smith website, which I would recommend to all the boutique hotel lovers.
It doesn't come cheap but it is worth the value. It is located a walking distance from all the most famous touristic amenities such as Saint March, Square, Rialto bridge and so on, but at the same time in a very quite and private square overlooking at the canal.
The ferry goes straight to the back entrance of the hotel so if you have very heavy bags so will not have to walk from one calle to another up and down stairs ( and I can guarantee you there are many stairs).
It is an old baroccan house converted and the architect was able to preserve and captured the beauty and opulence deco of the Dogi period adding a lovely and comfortable modern twist.
The rooms are specious, with flat screen TV, Wi Fi and all the comforts including a very funcional and big bathroom.
Breakfast is ordered and served in your room every morning with a nice wild variety of options, from traditional italian cornetto and cappuccino to continental healthy one.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful and speak several languages which is a plus in Italy.
We really enjoyed our stay and will more than definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishItalian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a quick Taxi boat ride from the Airport directly to Charming House iQs reception. From the boat to the reception in 20 sec. The Taxi Boat has been book by the Hotel on our request. We had the Suite Q2 next to the reception and with an amazing view on the canal and Gondolas. The room is really nice and hotel location is perfect. 5 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco and 7 min walking from Rialto bridge!

Caterina recommended us Alle Testiere, a charming restaurant which is 3min walking from the hotel and where the food is amazing. Caterina booked a table for us. Perfect service.

Charming House iQs is a perfect location for a romantic trip in beautiful Venetia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbouchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We visited IQs in mid June for two nights. Everything about our stay was perfect. We were visiting for my better half's 30th birthday/engagement surprise.

Caterina was so helpful and friendly and made our stay effortless and relaxing. Caternina booked our water taxi (to arrive in style) and made dinner reservations at local restaurants before we arrived. The hotel is a perfect antidote to the constant flow of tourists in Venice's busy cramped streets - an oasis of tranquil cool luxury.

The hotel is located in a great quiet spot with a lazy canal and the odd gondaliere flowing past the window of our suite. It feels private, secluded and romantic yet is only five mins walk from Rialto and San Marco.

Inside the suite was spacious, cool and full of top spec fixtures and fittings. Really comfortable and stylish yet homely. Breakfast magically arrives in the room in the morning and the rest of the day is yours to get lost (and drink aperol spritz). The dinner recomendations were perfect and within five mins walk of IQs.

The personal service and small number of rooms at IQs makes you feel like you are somewhere really special - this doesn't feel anything like the large '5 star' americanised chain hotels (we visited the Hilton Molino to have drinks on their roof terrace - nice view, souless hotel).

Overall, I don't think it gets much better than this. The important thing is that you trust Caterina and the team at IQs to look after you and enjoy your trip. I would have happily stayed for weeks.

And the other half said 'yes', so all in all a perfect trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 2 (I think) which was light and airy with a light/white and black colour scheme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S83Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Incredibly comfortable and convenient. Small but luxurious and tasteful, extremely kind staff. Very thoughtful. Felt like home, didn't want to leave. Well, not HOME-home because my home doesn't come with a basket of breakfast every morning (pastries, rolls, yogurt, jams, fruit -- oranges, kiwis, apples, bananas, strawberries, aieeee -- cheese, coffee, juice) or include an inner terrace with a fountain OR have a door onto a canal.

Would very happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We just returned from a two-week jaunt in Italy. I had booked IQs Charming House based on several reviews from tripadvisor and other resources and I must say that IQs Charming House was lovely and a true respite from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The modernly decorated room was very clean and had almost everything one would need. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, albeit tight, was extremely nice, clean and up-to-date.

And, the staff… what can I say? They were absolutely wonderful. We arrived much later than anticipated, but Anna waited for us. The water taxi couldn't deliver us to the hotel entrance due to high water, so Anna had him boat to another location where she met us and led us back to the hotel (while she hefted some of the luggage -- a real trooper, that girl!) Once in the hotel, Anna provided a map and talked us through everything we needed to know about how to get around Venice and, most importantly, how to get back to the hotel. Her restaurant suggestions were spot on and her activity insights perfectly matched what we wanted to do. Since we arrived so late, the restaurants were already closing, so we had no alternative than to fix a meal in the room however, all we had was pasta and there didn't appear to be a pot large enough to cook it. So, Anna went home and brought us a pot - WOW, that is customer service! This is not to leave out the other staff members who were all very delightful, efficient and helpful.

IQs Charming House is also in a great location, within 10 minutes walk to almost everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaylefromPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This really charming Charming House with only four rooms was a fantastic finding. Our room was very spacious, very well decorated and we fell at home. We really felt we were living in Venice. Breakfast in the room was a surprise to us. Anna and the team did everything they could to help us and their recommendations were all spot on. And location is really privileged. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IQs Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IQs Charming House

Property: IQs Charming House
Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IQs Charming House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IQs Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing