We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a local”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of IQs Charming House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
IQs Charming House
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Live like a local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We originally booked a reservation at The Charming House through Orbitz.com. My husband emailed to check on our room location only to find that Orbitz had never sent the hotel our reservation and the hotel was booked! After a lot of frustrating back and forth with Orbitz, the hotel offered to move us to the IQs and give us an extra night if we changed our date of arrival, which we did. They were very gracious throughout the entire experience. Orbitz...not so much. Never using them again.

When we did arrive at the hotel--in the water taxi the hotel organized for us for 100 euro--we were brought directly to the door of the hotel so no frustrating treks through Venice's small streets with our luggage--we had a lot since we were there for 8 days.

The hotel itself is more like a converted series of small apartments with a main area. Anna, our charming host, was there to greet us and gave us the lay of the land. Free wi-fi and breakfast are included. They bring breakfast to your room every morning and you can pick and choose what you like. Our first day we had yogurt, croissants, rolls, juice, milk, and jams. We also used the in-room espresso machine quite a lot. We stopped getting breakfast a few days in because my husband prefers hitting the cafes and pastry shops. Still, a great service for those who want to laze around in the morning.

The rooms were very nice...spacious and modern. There were tons of windows onto the canal and campo, although you could make it very dark by drawing the brown velvet curtains. We had a sitting area, small kitchenette, tres cool dining table in leather with four seats, and a flat screen in the living room. The bed (in the other room) was a low-profile bed with plenty of room for two. Loved the "fireplace" TV, but my favorite part was the sound of the water lapping up against our walls. So relaxing and romantic--especially when the gondola with singers went by.

My only complaint was that the rooms, while very stylish, look a little worn--mainly the places where you can tell they've painted over damage. There were also a few spiderwebs around the room too, but we took care of that with a washcloth. Spiderwebs in an old city are par for the course.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the IQs and especially our time in Venice, which is a magical city. Anna was a perfect hostess who always met our questions with a smile and a can-do attitude. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlissfulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

I have stayed in Venice 3 times prior to this visit, including a stay on the Lido and a week at the Danielli. Venice is truly one of the unique places in the world to visit and most of its hotels are unique as well. The general rule for the upper end Venice hotels is pretty expensive, good service, dramatic facades and lobbies, followed by individual rooms that are small, dated and quite uninspiring. The Charming House IQ truly breaks this mold. The unmarked entrance off the canal is picture book, opening to a small lobby. There is no grand lobby or public area. Guests are given a set of keys to the iron gate fronting the piazza and the heavy wooden unmarked door which opens to a private courtyard. We had a two room suite with 2 in each room and a private entry to each room. The larger room contained a small kitchen area and a full sized living room. Sharing this space was the best of all worlds. Furnishings were urban upscale (think W hotel) as a opposed to old and stuffy. Rooms and the bathrooms are huge by Venice standards. The staff was fabulous. Extremely helpful. They set the table each morning in our living room and catered in a nice continental breakfast and brought ice for evening drinks. The lobby is not staffed all day - they are there from 8 -12 and then 5:30 -8. As there are only a small number of rooms, this is all that is needed. We were provided with directions and recommendations for cool spots based on our tastes. I feel we are now friends with the staff. Much more fun than dealing with a snooty concierge. We have a new home in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were in Italy on the final stop of our honeymoon having stayed in wonderful apartment suites in Florence and Rome on the way - IQ didn't disappoint. The location is fantastic, just off a picturesque little square the house is less than 5 minutes away from the most famous sites of Venice but still manages to feel secluded and quiet. From the dramatic arrival in a water taxi to the private jetty in the reception to the kind and enthusiastic service IQ is trul delightful. Design is cool and understated and our suite (number 4) was wonderfully spacious with a lovely view over the canal below and the square.

Would definitely consider staying here again on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

What a find! After doing alot of research on the internet I stumbled across IQ suites and they certainly lived up to the expectation. In a quiter section of Venice in the Castello district but still only 5 minutes walk from all the main sites, the IQ suites is a perfect place to retire in the evening after a long day in the Venetian sun. Entry via a private bridge and then through medieval doors into this tranquil peace of heaven. Our room was large and modern with a beautiful bathroom that had a window looking out to the internal courtyard and the bedroom had a massive window that looked out onto the canal and bridges outside....postcard pretty. Andrea was extremely helpful and efficient as were all the staff. Breakfast is served in the room each morning. These appartments would suit anyone wanting to get away from the big hotel experience and enjoy a modern, boutique and truly romantic experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

This hotel is probably on of the nicest I've stayed in for some time. The staff was extremely helpful from before we even checked in. I got a call as we were arriving in Venice to let me know they were sending us a private water taxi to pick us up. Once we arrive at the dock it was like our own little private slice of Venice. The front desk made us dinner reservations at a couple of places which were excellent. Breakfast was delivered to our room and was a much bigger spread then we expected. The room was really modern with everything you could need from an expresso maker to free wifi, and huge (separate living room, dining space, kitchen, big bedroom, nice shower). This hotel has a very bed and breakfast homey feeling. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Techie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

My husband and I has chosen to stay in the Charming House IQs as attracted by its website and its great location (near San Marco). Upon our arrival, everything lived up to our expectations or even better when we went into our room (although we got a bit lost when trying to find the hotel in the first place but normal for all tourists in Venice).
We stayed in a suite and the room is extremely big, nicely decorated and everything is perfectly placed and the staff is just super friendly. Breakfast is great (if you go, remember to ask for ham for breakfast which comes for free too)
Everyday after our long day of walking/touring in the beautiful city, it just feels like going back to a home of our own in Venice.
This hotel just makes our first Venice trip perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dopeyfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Only 4 rooms; very close to Saint Mark's. We stayed just two nights here. The rooms are very trendy, spacious and comfortable. Three cutting edge TV sets, IPOD player and other gadgets. The bathroom was not very big. The IQ is more an appart-hotel than a true standard hotel, in fact, the reception is opened between 8.00 AM and 8.00 PM, at other hours services are provided by the related hotels (which are located 30 minutes away). Anyhow, we felt as having our own trendy appartment in Venice. A special remark for Michelle (at the reception) always eager and ready to assisting us,
If we return to Venice, we would stay at the IQ again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IQs Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IQs Charming House

Property: IQs Charming House
Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IQs Charming House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IQs Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing