We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Last Evening in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Algiubagio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$135
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Last Evening in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent 2 nights in Venice. The first night we had our dinner at this seafood specialist, Antiche Carampane. The second night, we had it at Algiubagio. In terms of seafood, we think Antiche actually did it better, although in terms of the overall experience, Algiubagio actually had an edge. This is because Algiubagio is located next to the lagoon, so the ambience can't be beaten. It was simply romantic.. The seafood starters we had were interesting and uncommon. The lobster pasta was excellent.. that was the highlight for us. Service was 5-star .. We were lucky that we did not experience the kind of nasty experience that we read elsewhere (maybe that was not true). Highly recommended ... always go for the outdoor seating!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeshAsianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    279
    90
    51
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made it a special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had booked but mid week in May there was no need. the food is super with a dash of style. when the waiter heard we were in Venice to celebrate my birthday he brought me a very special treat, a small blow torch spelled out Happy Birthday.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducksawaytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We went here by chance and the staff were happy to fit us in, even though they were busy and we had not made reservations. The setting, on a pontoon looking over the lagoon, was great but note that it is near the ACTV stop so there are a few boats going by. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the service was pitched just right. The food delicious and was beautifully presented. This was our most enjoyable meal in Venice and I was not surprised to find that it was so highly rated when we returned. Although some may find this restaurant expensive, I can say that I paid the same amount in other Venice restaurants and they were no where near as good as this.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J_McCNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We booked this restaurant on the strength of the trip advisor reviews. We wanted something a bit different for our special night in Venice - we were not dissappointed. The restaurant is situated right beside the lagoon and the decking seating means that you are actually out on the water! The views are wonderful and as the sun goes down they get even more romantic! Starters were interesting and beautifully served. I chose the tuna for main which was cooked to perfection. Two of our party chose the "beef for two" which is cooked at the table on a hot stone - they raved about it. The selection of wine was excellent and not too extortionate in price. The service was very attentive and friendly. We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would love to go there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinesimonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Romantic !!!.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent restaurant for a romantic dinner. The terrace is simply marvelous with awesome views. The food was excellent, follow the cheff suggestions but don't miss the splendid Tiramisú. Superior service and attention. 100% reccomended choice.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JavierPigrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing